1999 Mercedes-Benz M-Class Reviews - Page 7 of 7

1999 Mercedes-Benz M-Class ML320 3.2 gas from North America

Year of manufacture1999
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 3.2 gas Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 3 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Dealer Service marks 4 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.6 / 10
Distance when acquired25 miles
Most recent distance24000 miles
Previous carMercedes-Benz S-Class

Summary:

A poor example of a car built in the US, for a company with good credentials up to now

Faults:

Locks would go up and down when locking, known Mercedes problem, (6) tries with door locks, (2) tailgate locks, (1) fuel door lock. One alarm board. The fix was to re-drill a hole in the tailgate (tries are dealer visits, leaving the car, from one day to multiple days waiting for parts).

Fuel pump quit, another common problem, required a tow.

Ignition switch failed taking out "all activity board", security item, one week wait, had to threaten the dealer, board lost, found one, fixed late Friday evening.

General Comments:

Good handling and driveline.

Quality very poor.

Mechanics don't diagnose, only replace.

Rough riding back seat.

No value for the $$$$.

Dealer trade in low.

Did not learn my lesson, purchased an E320 wagon, so far very happy.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 31st July, 2001

1999 Mercedes-Benz M-Class ML430 from South Africa

Year of manufacture1999
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.4 / 10
Distance when acquired0 kilometres
Most recent distance60000 kilometres
Previous carMercedes-Benz M-Class ML320

Summary:

Best of the bunch

Faults:

Nothing serious!

General Comments:

This is truly a magnificent car (just like every one of the 8 Mercs that I have previously owned).

I am now awaiting the delivery of my ML270 CDI. I will not consider any other 4wd vehicle mainly because of the great fuel consumption (13l/100km), comfort, reliabillity and traditional Merc quality. I must say that I am looking forward to the 270 mainly because it has the new spec, which I feel is more up to standard with the previous cars I owned.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 20th September, 2000

29th Jun 2001, 23:08

I have one. I totally believe you and stand by you.

Hey man... the chicks love it!

25th Aug 2001, 01:58

Have a May 2000 270 CDI Diesel. The fuel consumption is much better than the petrol.

As at Aug '01, 22k miles.

Watch for air mass filter retro fix which can affect engine power - maybe standard fit by now.

Marvelous car, have the 7 seat version. Great for kids & friends.

1999 Mercedes-Benz M-Class ML320 3.2 petrol from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1999
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 3.2 petrol Automatic
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.3 / 10
Distance when acquired8000 miles
Most recent distance11000 miles
Previous carLexus LS400

Summary:

Should have bought the 4.3 litre

Faults:

Nothing so far.

General Comments:

After the Lexus, the noise is quite considerable.

Seats not comfortable.

With the spare wheel assembly the rear view mirror is almost useless.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 19th March, 2000

1999 Mercedes-Benz M-Class ML320 L 3.2 petrol from Australia and New Zealand

Year of manufacture1999
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 3.2 petrol Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.8 / 10
Distance when acquired0 kilometres
Most recent distance24000 kilometres
Previous carLand Rover Discovery

Summary:

The most versatile car money can buy

Faults:

Two rattles quickly cured by the dealer.

Aircon developed a leak, waited 3 weeks for parts but dealer service excellent.

Oh yes, badges got stolen off the car!

General Comments:

Excellent value for money and an allround pleasure to drive. Offroad ground clearance a problem but drive system excellent. ESP system quite remarkable.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 16th March, 2000

13th Jul 2012, 16:39

So, this review is now 12 years old, the vehicle concerned was only one year old at time of review with 24000 on the clock only. I will bet there's a whole sad story to follow, if truth be told - the ML series are just total rubbish, as anyone who has owned one for more than a few months will confirm. Do your research thoroughly before you buy or you will regret it; the costs are just horrendous.

1999 Mercedes-Benz M-Class ML320 V6 3.2L from North America

Year of manufacture1999
Engine and transmission V6 3.2L
Performance marks 3 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.6 / 10

Faults:

Nothing has gone wrong - had only for 10,000 miles. Car is very slow, waiting for ML55 from AMG, should be available in Fall '99.

General Comments:

Nice car inside and outside.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 14th February, 1999

Average review marks: 6.2 / 10, based on 28 reviews