2000 Mercedes-Benz M-Class Reviews - Page 2 of 8

2000 Mercedes-Benz M-Class W163 430 from North America

Model year2000
Year of manufacture1999
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2009
Engine and transmission 430 Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 1 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.0 / 10
Distance when acquired26000 miles
Most recent distance154000 miles
Previous carMercedes-Benz E-Class

Summary:

Great vehicles!

Faults:

Had 3 MB's... each owned about 220,000 miles... each ran outstandingly well until I traded... maybe you all need to understand... SERVICE YOUR VEHICLES... I do mine and they have been outstanding! Go to a similar BMW complaint website and you will find the same as here.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 18th August, 2009

2000 Mercedes-Benz M-Class from North America

Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2008
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 2 / 10
Reliability marks 1 / 10
Comfort marks 3 / 10
Dealer Service marks 0 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
1.5 / 10
Previous carToyota Corolla

Summary:

Poor

Faults:

Too much to list.

Over $11,500 in repairs.

General Comments:

I'm familiar with almost every problem listed. I have receipts totaling over $11,500 from Mercedes service department in Redwood City, California and my 2000 ML 320 has to go back AGAIN because the driver's window won't go up. Mind you I just had the motor fix in that window about 6 mos ago. the only thing that hasn't stopped working is the engine and the transmission and I'm hoping to get rid of the car before that happens. I'm afraid to drive my car long distance, I keep it in the city limits.

I thought I was driving the best. I am 48 years old and all I can say is that this is the most unreliable car I've every owned in my life, and I will never buy any kind of MB again - PERIOD! I feel used and abused. One lesson I did learn is that MB doesn't always mean the best.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 13th January, 2008

2000 Mercedes-Benz M-Class ML430 V8 from North America

Model year2000
Year of manufacture1999
First year of ownership2006
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission V8 Automatic
Distance when acquired70000 miles
Most recent distance73000 miles
Previous carDodge Stratus

Summary:

A Fantastic Buy..

Faults:

My ML430 is six years old. The day after I bought it the power steering messed up. It was a small annoying problem that was easily solved. I haven't had any other problems.

General Comments:

This is an overall great vehicle. The ride is very smooth, but fast.

I was impressed with the gadgets especially the stereo and speakers.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 23rd July, 2006

18th Jan 2007, 08:44

I bought it with 39000 miles. I drove it for a year now and I have no problems except brake pads which is 200 dollars.

2000 Mercedes-Benz M-Class 320 from North America

Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.4 / 10
Distance when acquired12000 miles
Most recent distance104000 miles
Previous carJeep Grand Wagoneer

Summary:

It is the safest car on the road

Faults:

The previous owner had the windshield replaced. In the process a clip to secure the plastic piece between the hood and windshield was lost. The plastic piece vibrated when driving, so on our first maintenance we reported it. This clip took 6 weeks to arrive at the dealership. They could not find one in the states, therefore it came from Germany. In the mean time my car was apart at the dealership for that length of time.

The fuel pump quit at 20,000 miles.

The power stearing pump hose clamps broke.

The gas cap is temperamental, if not tighten properly the check engine light comes on.

General Comments:

In all the car is wonderful, I would purchase another.

It rides so smooth and handles wonderful.

The visors are too low, they block ones vision when down.

The seats are comfortable on long trips.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 17th June, 2004

2000 Mercedes-Benz M-Class ML430 V8 from North America

Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission V8 Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 6 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.6 / 10
Distance when acquired16 miles
Most recent distance65000 miles
Previous carFord Excursion

Summary:

High price mechanical boondoggle!

Faults:

Complete set of brakes 3 times.

Power steering pump hose.

Two Battery replacements.

Catalytic converter replacement.

Starter failure.

Fuel pump failure.

Blown exhaust gasket.

Plastic wrap-around at both rear posts cracked.

Leather top on center console loose and ill fitting.

General Comments:

Off the line performance is exceptional for an SUV, I have never had to worry about being able to pass or accelerate.

General handling and ride stability are considerably better than many other vehicles that I have owned, including sport cars.

Fit and finish of the interior components has been ALMOST exceptional, with the exception of the aforementioned deficiency.

Service on the vehicle has generally been very good, our local dealership genuinely seems to care about customer service (imagine that!), I have gotten to know them quite well as much as this vehicle has been in for service.

And that in a nutshell is my biggest problem; after spending almost 50K for a vehicle, I do not expect to have as many service problems as we have had with this vehicle, and the main reason why I doubt very much if I will consider another M.B. I just put a deposit on a Lexus RX430 Hybrid (ten month wait as of now!) next year I'll let you know what I think.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 1st June, 2004

1st Nov 2005, 18:28

One other thing I forgot to mention in my last posting. The car consumes a quart of oil ever 1000 to 1800 miles. Mercedes dealer said this is normal. Huh? had to add 4 quarts between services. Interesting concept, never heard of that before. Do your homework on the ML. My first Benz and I can say without hesitation that it will be my last. Ran great when it wasn't in the shop. Except for the times that it was waiting to get into the shop. Sometimes 3 weeks before you could get an appointment. Again.. do your homework.

27th Mar 2008, 22:10

You mean to tell me you purchased your 2000 ML and your previous vehicle was a Ford Excursion. That's funny because the Excursion came out in 2000, that was the first year produced. So either you only had the Excursion a very short time or this whole review is just a phony.

1st Aug 2009, 12:14

I have 9 years experience with a 2000 ML430 leased new and then bought off the lease at a $6000 discount from Mercedes.

In my opinion there are few SUVs that combine power, handing, and safety like this one.

Here's the rub: KEEP IT UNDER Warranty!!!. Find a reliable independent company and a good local shop. The dealers are to be avoided except as a last resort.

Many of the recurrent problems on this vehicle are due to dealer incompetence (the power steering hose comes to mind).

And don't ever let the dealer touch the brakes. Many superior aftermarket items are readily available and your local guy will happily do it for half price.

Best to think of these vehicles as a small plane. Trust me they are a lot cheaper to maintain. So stop your whining and enjoy what is an exceptional high performance vehicle.

Average review marks: 6.1 / 10, based on 26 reviews