2000 Mercedes-Benz M-Class Reviews - Page 5 of 8

2000 Mercedes-Benz M-Class 430ML 4.3L from North America

Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 4.3L Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.8 / 10
Distance when acquired17 miles
Most recent distance25890 miles
Previous carLincoln Navigator

Summary:

A four wheel drive sports car!

Faults:

Blew power steering hose off of pump. Dealer's Emergency Road Assistance came to where the car was and fixed it on the spot.

Low engine coolant light came on during the first winter. Dealer fixed problem.

Low oil light would come on intermittently, dealer replaced oil level sensor.

Replaced brakes at 20000 miles, I expected to get at least 25000.

Front of radio/GPS unit opened by itself and would not close. Repaired by dealer.

Vehicle came with Dunlop tires which lasted only 22000 miles. Replaced with Michelin's.

General Comments:

I bought this vehicle to pull trailers. It is the most fantastic trailering vehicle I have ever owned! With a 1100 Kg trailer, the ML starts as though there is nothing attached to it. I have used the ML to pull a 1100 Kg cargo trailer through a peat bog - it goes anywhere!

My only "complaint" is that the seats are not as comfortable as those it the Lincoln it replaced.

In 2.5 years use, the car has only needed emergency service once, much better than any other car I have ever owned.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 4th June, 2003

9th Jul 2003, 19:29

The problem with the power steering hose in cold weather is now a recall for the vehicle.

18th Sep 2003, 13:09

I am the owner of the vehicle in the original entry and this is an update. I have owned this MB for 3 years now, and it has been the most reliable vehicle I have ever owned. It currently has 32000 miles. While I have had to take the vehicle back to the dealer for warranty service, it has always been for minor problems, nothing that affected the driveability of the car. Compared to our 1986 Volvo 245 DL, the Mercedes is nothing, but a near perfect car. (By the time the Volvo was 3 years old, we had replaced the AC components 3 times and it had been towed to the dealer at least once). The interior and exterior of the car are still in excellent condition and the gas consumption is better than expected (15 -> 16 mpg urban, 18-20 mpg extra-urban). Would I get another? The answer is a resounding Yes!

2000 Mercedes-Benz M-Class ML430 4.3 liter V8 from North America

Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 4.3 liter V8 Semi-Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.4 / 10
Distance when acquired53000 miles
Most recent distance54900 miles
Previous carMercury Cougar

Summary:

The best sport utility vehicle out in the market

Faults:

Nothing, the car is in excellent condition.

General Comments:

I have only had the car for a couple of months, but I have concluded it is one of the best build vehicles offered in the market today.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 7th May, 2003

8th May 2003, 13:19

Sell it soon or you will be in for a real surprise. Take a look at all of the other comments for this make and model to see what is in your future. By this time next year, your opinion will change.

8th May 2003, 21:17

One of the best built vehicles on the market? Good grief what are you comparing it against? :-) Granted later year models have improved their overall quality, but the ML still lags way behind other premium vehicles in this price range. Give yours a few more months and you'll soon discover what I mean...

2000 Mercedes-Benz M-Class M320 V6 gas from North America

Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission V6 gas Automatic
Performance marks 3 / 10
Reliability marks 0 / 10
Comfort marks 4 / 10
Dealer Service marks 1 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 4 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
2.4 / 10
Distance when acquired13 miles
Most recent distance52000 miles
Previous carChevrolet Blazer

Summary:

What a piece of JUNK!

Faults:

4 sets of keys first months.

Computer replaced.

Clock lost 10 seconds a day.

Engine light on.

Paint chips on top of hood, warranty said pass.

Front & rear brakes 25 to 35000 miles.

Power steer hose blew. was stranded, called road service A Big Joke, had to have wife pick me up. after 6pm could not get me a rental.

Cd player needed replacing.

52k loud sound near manifold sounds like a jalopy. out of warranty by 2k.

General Comments:

Biggest mistake of my life.

What a piece of junk. No one to talked.

MB people keeping themselves aloof.

Did manage to talk to a regional mgr. Very rude, arrogant, talked in legalise. Knows this ML-320 is a Bum, but won't admit it.

I have no recourse. No one to talked to. Feel frustrated, angry, bitter.

No one will even TRY, TRY to help resolve this. Get mad every time I start the engine. Want to sue, but too expensive, Stuck with this Bum.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 20th March, 2003

21st Mar 2003, 10:20

You have my sympathy - I have experienced all your problems and more with my ML. Like you I have had no success with the Dealer, regional rep, MB USA or even Head Office in Germany. This despite being very polite and patient.

Eventually this sort of poor quality and customer service will (has?) come home to roost with MB and in no time at all MB will be 'just another' average manufacturer like Ford or GM.

Owning a MB is not what it used to be.

Average review marks: 6.1 / 10, based on 26 reviews