2000 Mercedes-Benz M-Class ML 320 from North America


German Lemon


Heated Seat was warming up too much, had to be replaced twice.

Driver's window wouldn't roll up, new motor.

Fuel Pump failed, was replaced.

Sunroof insulation got loose and sunroof wouldn't work right.

Power Steering hose fell off so there was no power steering.

Engine Coolant hose fell off.

CD Changer stopped working, new CD Changer.

Catalytic Converter had a hole in it, needed to be replaced.

Front Brakes already needed to be replaced after 30K, and Rear Brakes need replacing soon.

Tires are very worn, need replacing.

Fluid leaking during cold weather, dealer can't figure out what's leaking.

Can't think of any others, but I think there were some more.

General Comments:

The vehicle has a very nice ride and is very comfortable, but definitely not worth the money that was paid for it.

My last vehicle had no problems for the 5 years that I owned it for.

I will never consider to buy another Mercedes in my life. I always thought that a Mercedes would be reliable and last me a very long time, but after almost 3 years I want to get rid of it very bad.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 29th January, 2003

20th Mar 2003, 21:29

Ditto, ditto, ditto ditto, could not of had said it better, pretty much the same problems. Factory people Arrogant, could not care less. Would like to form a group for a Class action suit. Just for the attitude they take, let alone the quality. They know they built a BUM (Big Ugly Monster), but won't admit it JG77777@msn.com.

2000 Mercedes-Benz M-Class 320 6 cylinder from North America


Beautiful ride, but has problems


The brakes required replacement at 22k. Still continues to have a squeaking noise. More evident with brake dust buildup.

The power steering malfunctioned due to a defective hose clamp. Required replacement. Dealership reports this is a common manufacturing defect and may be replaced again.

Power window motor required replacement on the driver's side.

Engine light on: Transmission module control malfunctioned. Replaced and covered under warranty twice.

SRS (airbag deployment system) malfunctioning. In the process of making an appointment.

General Comments:

The comfort and drive (when there are no intermittent problems) is impeccable. You must purchase an extended warranty in order to prevent trading in your Mercedes when problems occur. Don't be surprised if you are on a first name basis with the rental/loaner company when visiting the Mercedes Service Department.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 3rd December, 2002

2000 Mercedes-Benz M-Class ML320 3.2 petrol from UK and Ireland


As good as it gets for a 4x4


No problems at this time.

General Comments:

The ride is comfortable, making a long drive seem like a short one.

In car entertainment is all you will need, with six compact discs to choose from for a start.

The engine does have a habit of 'screaming' when asked to accelerate quickly from a standing start.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 8th August, 2002

9th Apr 2004, 07:32

I think 1000 miles is a little short for a review of the car. Lets see how it goes after say 10,000 and then come back to us.

15th Feb 2005, 20:25

I own a 2000 ML320 with 40,000 miles on it. It is an absolutely great car, powerful and safe in practically all terrain. Only problems have been changed brake pads twice and uses gas like no other. However, it is a great car that has never failed me once and I would definitely recommend buying from MB again.

2000 Mercedes-Benz M-Class ML320 from North America


An expensive car to have in the shop


We had problems with the security system right from the start. It would lock, we'd come back to the car and the remote would no longer work. This resulted in replacing the keys themselves several times and ultimately the whole system.

The car went in for noise in the sunroof when opening and closing it. It took us several weeks to get that resolved and ended up with a new sun-roof.

Replaced the brakes at 20,000 miles.

Early on the braking system warning light kept coming on. This was a bad switch and was replaced.

The airbag and restraint system light came on due to a bad seat belt. The seat belt was replaced at least twice before the light stopped coming on.

Replaced two window motors at 32,000 miles.

Constant problems with the oil. The light would always go on. The oil would be low, but no leaks could be found. They tried switching to synthetic, but ended up replacing the entire engine.

Once the engine was replaced, we had it in the shop for three weeks straight because of rattling. When it came back, it leaked oil all over the driveway. It went back to the dealer today for that problem.

There have been so many problems, I am probably forgetting some.

I expected to see more people with problems with the ML320. Maybe we just got the lemon.

General Comments:

We bought the car because of its safety features.

Despite all of its mechanical problems, I like the car itself. It is comfortable and handles really well.

For the price, it would be nice if they added a few amenities like a compass and dual climate control.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 31st July, 2001

31st Jul 2001, 13:06

The US-built ML Mercedes was deemed by Consumer Reports to be, during the first year of sales, the least reliable vehicle in the US, beating even Chrysler and GM products.

8th May 2002, 13:29

I have had the oil problem that you have had and it was fixed quite easily.

The dealer connected the car to the Mercedes Star system and reconfigured the sensor and no more problems.

I have had many more problems that have not been fixed though.