2002 Mercedes-Benz M-Class Reviews - Page 3 of 4

2002 Mercedes-Benz M-Class ML500 5 liter from North America

Model year2002
Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2008
Engine and transmission 5 liter Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.0 / 10
Distance when acquired15 miles
Most recent distance65000 miles
Previous carMercedes-Benz M-Class

Summary:

It performs as advertised, and I like it

Faults:

The brakes needed replacement at 20000 miles.

A factory wheel alignment problem wore out tires at 20000 miles, but it is now fixed. I use the factory installed Dunlop brand tires for replacement, with no problem.

I replaced two light bulbs: 1 Headlight & 1 brake light.

The plastic windshield water washer tank was replaced under warrantee after 1 year of service.

The battery failed after 1 year of service.

General Comments:

Still using a free replacement battery.

The dealer changes the Mobil 1 oil at every 10000 miles and there is no need for adding more oil en between changes. All warranty repairs were made during the regular 10000 mile service appointments.

The dealer provides me with a free loaner Benz at every 10000 mile inspection. Inspections and service is completed on the same day.

This is my 2nd ML. The first one was a 1998 ML320 which performed as well as this ML500, but I like the smoothness of an 8 cylinder engine.

I have owned five used Mercedes vehicles since 1969, including a 280SE which is waiting to be restored. It has over 260000 miles on the original untouched fuel injected 6 cyl. engine.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 20th February, 2008

21st Feb 2008, 11:09

I was told by a Mercedes mechanic that the cars these days are built to be traded in and not repaired. Buying new is OK, given that you'll sell the vehicle before the problems emerge. It is not a good vehicle for 2nd ownership due to high upkeep costs.

2002 Mercedes-Benz M-Class from North America

Year of manufacture2002
First year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 0 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.0 / 10
Previous carMercedes-Benz M-Class

Summary:

Pretty, powerful, squeaky

Faults:

Brakes, ashtray, stuck, tranny popping out of gear, it thinks the brakes are off?

General Comments:

Would like to know a fix around the squeaky brakes.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 11th July, 2007

2002 Mercedes-Benz M-Class ML320 3.2 petrol from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture2002
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 3.2 petrol Automatic
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 6 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Dealer Service marks 2 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 2 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
4.4 / 10
Distance when acquired5 miles
Most recent distance34680 miles
Previous carMercedes-Benz M-Class

Summary:

Mechanically good, body cheap rubbish,

Faults:

My ML320 started to show rust marks on the bonnet after 2 years. By early 2005 these had spread to each wing front, and back, and to the roof.

The rust marks have spread like measles.

The top of the back lift door has now rusted badly.

There are also substantial rust signs on the front wing panels under the bonnet, around the heads of the bolts holding them to the body shell.

General Comments:

In spite of the £40,000 + car being regularly serviced the Mercedes dealership has refused to accept any responsibility and blames "stone chips", interestingly I have no rusted stone chips on my wife's Toyota!

The cheap arrogance of this car maker is unbelievable. Mercedes should either improve their quality and service or accept the the falling sales that will inevitable follow selling junk cars like this.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 28th July, 2005

5th Jul 2009, 21:10

I too own an '02 ML320 and live in Canada. My dealer claimed the same excuse about stone chips. When I confronted him about stone chips on the back part of the roof, he hesitated and didn't know what to say. There is definitely a problem here and M-B is not prepared to handle it responsibly.

BTW, there is a service bulletin no.T-B-98.10/186 on the tailgate rusting prematurely. Mine was rusted beyond recognition. It was promptly repaired by M-B at no charge even though I was well past my warranty. Unless you mention it, they will not budge. This is my last M-B product.

2002 Mercedes-Benz M-Class from North America

Year of manufacture2002
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission Don't Know
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.2 / 10
Distance when acquired10 miles
Most recent distance28000 miles
Previous carChevrolet Blazer

Summary:

Great, economical SUV

Faults:

Horn relay switch. 20000 miles. Covered by warranty.

General Comments:

My wife and I really love this SUV.

It has lots of power. It's roomy, comfortable, and the grandchildren thinks it's the coolest car in the world.

So far it's been Very Reliable and we could not be more pleased.

Thanks MB for making a great little family SUV.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 1st May, 2004

2002 Mercedes-Benz M-Class ML-500 5.0L from North America

Year of manufacture2002
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 5.0L Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 2 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 3 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.6 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance28000 miles
Previous carJeep Grand Cherokee

Summary:

The most hideously expensive piece of garbage ever produced

Faults:

Defective CD Changers (replaced)

Squealing Brakes (pads replaced)

Rattles in Dash (removed and fixed)

S/C Switch caused the seat heater to overload burning a hole through the leather seat material ; Ouch! (Replaced)

Nav system gives error messages "Please Visit Workshop" hourly (fixed on 4th dealer visit: a whole new wiring harness was needed.

Usual recalls after the power steering hose separated and squirted fluid everywhere.

Debris left over from the factory build "stored" in the heater fan.

Factory fitted tires managed 22,000 miles of light use only.

Gas gage always reading wrong (replaced)

Trip computer defect (replaced)

Alarm constantly engaging (replaced sensor)

Door trim peeled away (replaced)

Parts fell off roof rack. (replaced)

The Fenders weren't assembled correctly in the factory and were loose (dealer couldn't believe that one!)

Myriad of other defects including the Ash-tray that won't open, loose parts behind the door panel and electric seat adjuster that continually blew fuses etc etc.

General Comments:

Service at dealership (Park Place in DFW) was good, they fix everything free & mostly first time.

6 weeks in service/repair : its too long in the shop for a $50k 2002 model vehicle.

M-B USA are hopeless; they sent me a form letter stating "While every effort is made by M-B to prevent malfunctions, there is always the potential for failures to occur. It is for this reason we provide our 4 year/50000 mile warranty etc". There is no escalation possible the claim we are 'just the distributors' and neither the dealership nor MB Customer service will talk about whether my vehicle is 'normal' or a 'lemon' : That info is (quote) "Proprietary"

When it goes its great : powerful (but thirsty) and truly comfy.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 22nd October, 2003

21st Mar 2004, 09:22

Maybe the ML is crap because it's built in America and not Germany... Just a thought ;-)

17th Aug 2004, 16:05

Well I went to this site after bringing my 2002 ml 500 in for service AGAIN. I have experienced all the problems listed in the above comment. My brakes squeaked and were replaced several times, gpss system malfunctioned, radio faded, win shield washer fluid sensor went, fuel sensor went, heat in seat burned, tires went at 30,000 miles etc, etc. Now I have 52,000 miles on it and I am afraid to drive it. Something will go wrong with it. It is in the shop for an automatic transmission sensor, and a new power shifter, and I must pay for these repairs. This car is a LEMON!!!

Average review marks: 6.4 / 10, based on 18 reviews