2002 Mercedes-Benz M-Class Reviews - Page 4 of 4

2002 Mercedes-Benz M-Class ML320 3.2L Gas from North America

Year of manufacture2002
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 3.2L Gas Automatic
Performance marks 3 / 10
Reliability marks 4 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 4 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
4.8 / 10
Distance when acquired31 miles
Most recent distance31000 miles
Previous carMercedes-Benz E-Class

Summary:

An unreliable unsafe vehicle

Faults:

Battery failed at 16 months leaving myself and family stranded at the gas station for over 2 hours.

Drivers side window stuck down and yes it was raining :- (

Fuel pump gave out on the freeway, luckily was able to get over to the side.

O2 sensor failed causing check engine light.

Remote entry keys have failed several times.

Various bits of trim keep falling off despite us being careful.

Rotors need replacing at just over 30,000 miles of mostly freeway driving.

Various rattles - especially from the rear seat which seems very poorly fitted.

General Comments:

This is our 3rd new Mercedes in recent years and is likely our last until such a time as MB gets its act together.

For a quality SUV we have had far too many niggling problems - not to mention the two roadside break downs.

My wife no longer feels safe in this SUV - ironic as safety is the main reason we bought it! She expects it to break down at any time.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 25th August, 2003

26th Aug 2003, 18:13

The same old story, German cars built outside their home country that are just not up to scratch. Look at all the reviews for the Mexican Beetle, Jetta etc. There are some unhappy owners out there!

12th Feb 2006, 09:43

You probably failed to maintain the car properly. Don't blame Mercedes; they make the best cars in the world.

2002 Mercedes-Benz M-Class 320 320 from North America

Year of manufacture2002
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 320 Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.4 / 10
Distance when acquired22 miles
Most recent distance19600 miles
Previous carMercedes-Benz SLK

Summary:

A quality SUV

Faults:

The radio/CD stopped working.

A glove box hinge broke.

General Comments:

The ML is very comfortable to drive. It is a wonderful touring vehicle.

The car is very tight and quiet.

It handles very well for such a large vehicle. There is never a sense of being out of control.

The six cylinder engine meets my needs and gets decent gas mileage.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 3rd August, 2003

2002 Mercedes-Benz M-Class ML320 from North America

Year of manufacture2002
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 5 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.4 / 10
Distance when acquired7 miles
Most recent distance19750 miles
Previous carLexus LS400

Summary:

A multi functional vehicle with more repairs in the first 12 months then expected

Faults:

Window Washer Reservoir leaked.

Fuel Gauge had to be replaced.

General Comments:

The car has good luxury options available such as hands free and voice recognition phone, navigation system, heated seats and many other options expected in a luxury vehicle.

Front brakes needed replacing after only 19,700 miles. This could be an indicator of my driving style however, this could be costly over the years.

The dealer has responded well to repairs however, I am disappointed that the vehicle has had repairs required in the first 12 months of ownership.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 2nd August, 2003

15th Jul 2004, 03:04

I own a 2002 ML 320 and I currently have 74000 miles on it. It has not broken down, but it has had window switches replaced, CD player replaced, gone through front brakes and rotors twice, now the front drivers side window has jumped of the track. The dealer tells me that my rear differential seals are leaking. We do have expectations of luxury brands and some of it has not been met. The dealer InterCar has been awesome. They bend over backward to make the experience good.

2002 Mercedes-Benz M-Class ML 3.2L from North America

Year of manufacture2002
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 3.2L Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.2 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance19000 miles
Previous carBuick Regal

Summary:

A tight and well engineered vehicle.

Faults:

Cracked turn signal lenses on the outside mirrors (it came like that). The window washer fluid reservoir cracked and leaked.

It took almost a year to get mud flaps that were made for this year model.

Power seat, driver's side, stopped working.

Everything quickly repaired.

General Comments:

After reading about all the repairs in previous model years I was sort of expecting more problems.

The car is now "broken in" and is very smooth as you might expect of a Mercedes.

After being driven for 2 years the seats still feel as firm as brand new. The car is still crisp to drive and has good power.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 17th July, 2003

2002 Mercedes-Benz M-Class ML500 V8 from North America

Year of manufacture2002
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission V8 Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 1 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Dealer Service marks 1 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 3 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
3.8 / 10
Distance when acquired32 miles
Most recent distance23000 miles
Previous carBMW 5 Series

Summary:

An expensive mistake

Faults:

Where do I start?

Maybe by stating what hasn't gone wrong, it still has 4 wheels, but the brake pads needed changing at 18,000 miles and it's not as though we drive it hard.

The stereo still works, but the reception is poor on AM.

What has gone wrong?

You name it, it's happened to this 'quality' vehicle. Numerous electrical problems all well documented by previous model year owners.

On average a visit to the shop every couple of months to have something fixed which can't wait - windows stuck down, machine gun door locks, check engine light etc etc

I would have thought that MB would have gotten it's component suppliers in line by now and producing quality parts.

They must be cutting costs on QA I guess.

As for MB USA comments on this lemon - they really don't care about their 'customers'.

General Comments:

MB does not standby their problem ML's.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 11th March, 2003

5th Jun 2003, 15:38

I have driven 50000 miles on a 1998 ML320 with only one problem: A key code failure on my ignition key. For that, the dealer picked up my car on a truck and paid for our motel and rental car. Fixed the problem the next day and we are happy. Since then I have driven 18000 miles on a 2002 ML500. The only problem with was the battery went dead after I left my lights on all night in my garage. The dealer came out and replaced the battery free of charge. Going 10000 miles before free service is also a bonus.

Average review marks: 6.4 / 10, based on 18 reviews