1982 Mercedes-Benz W123 Reviews - Page 5 of 7

1982 Mercedes-Benz W123 240D 2.4L diesel from North America

Year of manufacture1982
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 2.4L diesel Manual
Performance marks 5 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10
Distance when acquired310000 kilometres
Most recent distance360000 kilometres
Previous carVolvo Volvo

Faults:

The body is in excellent condition for the year. This car cleans up very nicely, and the vinyl seats are great. Muddy dog prints come out with a quick wipe-down.

My Brother had this car before me. He replaced the rotors (twice, the first set were faulty), did the timing chain and adjusted the valves.

Vacuum activated door lock rubber have a tendency to crack and fail, replaced both rears.

Drivers' side window goes off track if shut firmly with window roll.

Valves adjusted at 290,000.

Drivers' seat torn down center.

Replaced Starter and alternator within the last year.

The control arms and ball joints need replacing on both sides.

The air conditioning needs repair and has not worked since I have owned the car.

Sunroof stopped working 1 year ago.

The suspension is now starting to show a little extra body roll.

Driveaxles or differential starting to 'knock' on corners - not sure which.

Need to replace the fuel filters as fuel delivery is clearly impaired.

Overall, a really lovely car, extremely functional, spacious and good reliability for the mileage, as I have taken it on several long road trips with fairly little grief.

General Comments:

This car is great, but I have hit the juncture where I either need to start paying it some serious attention or let her go to a person who has more time to care for it.

4 Wheel independant suspension on a car this big makes for a very surefooted ride.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 21st July, 2004

10th Jun 2007, 21:43

Hi, do you still have the 240D?

1982 Mercedes-Benz W123 300D from North America

Year of manufacture1982
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.3 / 10
Distance when acquired200000 miles
Most recent distance200000 miles
Previous carEagle Talon

Summary:

Built like a tank

Faults:

The ball joints needed to be replaced when I first bought this car, needed an alignment, and now the steering belt needs tightening.

General Comments:

This car is a very classy, impressive car. Although my 300D is as slow as a lawnmower, it gets unbelievable gas mileage and is more reliable than any of my previous cars.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 2nd June, 2004

1982 Mercedes-Benz W123 from Taiwan

Year of manufacture1982
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10
Distance when acquired165000 kilometres
Most recent distance210000 kilometres
Previous carFord Scorpio

Summary:

A good car to run for 30 years

Faults:

Vacuum central lock system were fixed at 1999.

2000 C.C. gas engine was rebuilt at 210000KM.

My car got a new paint at 165000KM at its age of 17 yeas old.

My front brake disk were replaced at 175000KM.

My blower is not running well at the beginning with my A/C climate system.

My steering system is not running accurately.

General Comments:

My W123 2.0 gas engine is a good car I guess. I have already done most of the works. Due to it is a gas engine model, this engine can only run most up to 200000 km averagely as I know. By the way, the brake system is very good.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 30th August, 2003

12th Dec 2003, 06:00

I can't understand what you mean by "can only run most up to 200,000km". My 230E has 365,000km on the clock and still drives like a new car. I have known the car since new, and assure you that it has NEVER broken down.

23rd Feb 2004, 02:38

Hello.

I Can't understand what you mean when you say that the engine usually runs for 200000 km, then it has to be replaced!!?? You must have been unlucky or been fooled by the previus owner... I have a 200 -85 that has run over 400000 km with only minor problems, and I have also heard that just the 200 engine is one of the best built engines that have been built...

29th Feb 2004, 19:15

Don't know just what you could mean by the statement about maximum mileage to be expected from your Benz, but I have two 280 engined cars, one a 280ce and the other a 280te, both have well over 200,000 miles, neither has yet required any engine work, and both run well. I recently drove the 280CE for 1000 miles on interstate highways at an average of 92 MPH (including fuel stops!) and consumed no oil. What more can I say about a superb piece of machinery!

3rd Jan 2005, 07:12

Hello,

I am the reader in Taiwan with previous review on the list.

My 1982 200 w123 consume a lot of gas in downtown. It takes 6km/ liter in downtown, and only 10km/liter on freeway at the speed of 110km/hr. How is yours?

By the way, my 2000c.c w123 with 3-speed ATF only.

Best Regards

Homer.

4th Jul 2011, 00:43

Automatics are generally quite thirsty on fuel. I get about 9km/l with a mix of urban and highway driving, from a manual 4 speeder.

Average review marks: 8.2 / 10, based on 26 reviews