1982 Mercedes-Benz W123 Reviews - Page 7 of 7

1982 Mercedes-Benz W123 300D 2.4 liter turbo diesel from North America

Year of manufacture1982
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 2.4 liter turbo diesel Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.5 / 10
Distance when acquired275000 miles
Most recent distance288000 miles

Summary:

Going into a turn? Oh yeah, just step on it

Faults:

The turbocharger went out 6 months ago.

Air conditioning system is out.

The radio has bad random reception.

General Comments:

Even with the turbocharger out this car is the torquo-matic.

What the hell else has a better torque to weight ratio than this tank, a Porsche?

Just give this thing some diesel around turns and man it grips. It's great for safely driving like a maniac on back roads. The beauty is that stepping on the pedal asks for torque not horse, I can take a perfect 90 degree right at 40 mph and hardly even skid! Insane driving without all the pig attracting squealing.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 11th August, 2002

22nd Aug 2002, 09:45

I have the exact same car, and I agree with everything you say. I got mine from a cousin who migrated to Canada last year. For the same amount of money that would get me a ten-year old Japanese economy car that spells "loser", I got me a German-made classic whose styling will never grow old. Aside from being torquey, it is very economical, but puts you in the lap of luxury. Plus the three-pointed star up front, coupled with a very solid feel, gives you the pleasure of driving a "real" car. And it's safe as a vault with four wheels. Remember that old bumper sticker that says "drive defensively, buy a tank?" Well, my friend had a W123 300 TD that ran head-on into a commuter bus in Baguio (that's a mountain resort here in the Philippines). He and his entire family walked out of it alive and with no major injuries, just some small bruises. A medical check-up validates the safety of the W123. Now try that with any other car!

1982 Mercedes-Benz W123 240 D 2.4 liter diesel from North America

Year of manufacture1982
First year of ownership1996
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 2.4 liter diesel Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.0 / 10
Distance when acquired135000 miles
Most recent distance185350 miles

Summary:

If you can find one, it's a stylish, cheap-to-own workhorse

Faults:

Bad paint (now restored via good quality wax)

Stereo - now replaced with new Sony.

Brakes (various work done) - master cylinder, pads, calipers.

Tie rods for steering.

Fuel system clogged with algae at 175,000 miles (rebuilt since)

Original starter died at 161,247, replaced.

Total exhaust system replacement with OEM parts between December 1999 and September 2000 (done in stages)

Valve adjustment done @ apx. 80,000 miles.

General Comments:

Very reliable car!

Not built for speed, but is very safe, dependable, and stylish.

Interior is tough and hard to damage. Looks near new for a 19 year old car.

Very easy on the fuel. Still gets apx. 30 mpg.

I recommend these cars to anyone.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 26th June, 2001

11th Oct 2003, 11:31

I totally agree with your comments on the 240d. I've just brought a beautiful 1 owner 1983 240 diesel. The engine is out of this world and the body is nearly perfect.

21st Jan 2004, 21:08

I've had mine for five years now. 200k+ miles, still runs like a sewing machine, and ALWAYS starts. Just gave it to my son to take off to college. A good, dependable, safe car.

1982 Mercedes-Benz W123 240D 2.4L diesel from North America

Year of manufacture1982
First year of ownership1985
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 2.4L diesel Manual
Performance marks 5 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.2 / 10
Distance when acquired45000 miles
Most recent distance332000 miles
Previous carToyota Corolla

Summary:

A long-lasting incredibly engineered machine

Faults:

Upper control arms.

Faulty door locks (3 times).

Air conditioning leak.

Brake-strut support.

General Comments:

This car is not for people who must have lots of acceleration, but is a commuter's dream. It still gets over 30 miles per gallon after almost 1/3 a million miles.

The ride is excellent, and it doesn't require very much maintenance. Parts are relatively cheap, and repair materials are easy to find.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 28th May, 2001

Average review marks: 8.2 / 10, based on 26 reviews