1990 Mercedes-Benz W124 Reviews - Page 3 of 5

1990 Mercedes-Benz W124 300E 3.0L SOHC 12V from North America

Model year1990
Year of manufacture1990
First year of ownership2006
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission 3.0L SOHC 12V Manual
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.5 / 10
Distance when acquired170000 kilometres
Most recent distance185000 kilometres
Previous carMercedes-Benz W124

Summary:

Timeless

Faults:

Water Pump was dead when I bought it.

Glove box bulb burned out.

General Comments:

What can one say after owning this car?

Timeless styling, decent handling, superior craftsmanship.

Parts are also easy to get and inexpensive. It is essential to have a specialist repair the car if needed. Otherwise, most of the work is simple enough to be handled by DIY mechanics with simple tools and a Haynes manual.

I wish they had made more of these cars manual. I am currently attempting a conversion.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 1st August, 2006

1990 Mercedes-Benz W124 300ce-24 3.0 from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1990
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission 3.0 Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.0 / 10
Distance when acquired57000 miles
Most recent distance61000 miles
Previous carSAAB 9-3

Summary:

A fabulous iron-jawed cruiser which doesn't give a damn

Faults:

Starter motor cut out soon after purchase, but replaced relativlely cheaply with a refurbished model. Couldn't source a new one.

Heater fan is problematic and will require the dash to come out. Keeps blowing its fuse! Very annoying in cold weather.

Seats aren't bad, but driver's seat does creak a fair bit.

Minor rust spots on body need attention sooner rather than later.

General Comments:

The engine rumble when you step on it warms the belly with a lovely fuzzy feeling.

It hustles surprising well for such a lumbering tank of a car.

It looks rather special and certainly a manly automobile.

The engine has (touch wood) been really quite reliable and having been serviced, hope it continues for many years to come.

All in all this has been a fantastic car to own, especially on fast motorway journeys(140 mph is not a problem), giving over 13000 fuss free miles and oodles of cheshire cat grinning.

If you really want something which is very different to the run of the mill, but insistent on first class reliability, then this version of the W124 is paradoxically the car for you.

And let me just reiterate, it's a jaw droppingly handsome car....

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 6th March, 2006

29th Mar 2008, 07:54

Heater fan repair (known as the blower motor) does NOT require dash removal. Access to this assembly is from the engine compartment (requires wiper motor & linkage removal). This is a job for a Mercedes Benz mechanic. I charge 2.5 hours labor ($90.00 US per hour) plus parts for this repair. Will most likely need new blower motor assembly. Hope this helps.

1990 Mercedes-Benz W124 300e 2.6 2.6L inline 6 from North America

Model year1990
Year of manufacture1990
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 2.6L inline 6 Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10
Distance when acquired119500 miles
Most recent distance124500 miles
Previous carHonda Civic

Summary:

No wonder they cost so much, they're worth it!

Faults:

Nothing yet.

General Comments:

This car is more solid at 15 years old than my dinky little brand new 2003 honda civic ex was when I acquired it.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 24th August, 2005

8th Oct 2005, 21:08

I couldn't agree more. I just purchased a 1987 300E and it truly is a superior automobile. Even at 130k miles it rides and runs better than most new cars I have driven (including the two 2000 model year cars I own).

22nd May 2006, 04:11

Just got myself a 1990 300E, manual gearbox.. Excellent car.. definitely will be improving to newer models in the future.

1990 Mercedes-Benz W124 300TE 3 litre petrol from UK and Ireland

Model year1990
Year of manufacture1990
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 3 litre petrol Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.8 / 10
Distance when acquired185000 miles
Most recent distance211000 miles
Previous carAlfa Romeo 164

Summary:

Every family should have one

Faults:

Drivers side window lift, yet to be repaired.

Alternator failed after driving through a flood-well it was old!Repair cost £200 pounds.

Stone chipped headlamp lens cost only £35 to replace.

General Comments:

Astonishing build quality, I thought there were many new parts under the bonnet, they still looked new.

Despite the age and mileage it is in great condition inside and out which is a tribute both to the manufacturer and the two previous owners.

It is comfortable and quiet. Despite the enormous size it handles and stops well with a great turn of speed for a family bus.

It has been cheap to run with few repairs and a very reasonable 30mpg in the cruise, it is a bit more thirsty around town.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 11th April, 2005

1990 Mercedes-Benz W124 300CE 3.0 petrol 6 Cylinder from UK and Ireland

Model year1990
Year of manufacture1990
First year of ownership1997
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 3.0 petrol 6 Cylinder Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.0 / 10
Distance when acquired60000 miles
Most recent distance172000 miles
Previous carVolkswagen GTI

Summary:

A reliable car with class if well handled and looked after, a pleasure

Faults:

Distributor went on me once.

And through my own fault of not servicing the car the cylinder block leaked on me - needed skimming in 2004.

General Comments:

This car has given me nearly 8 years of valuable/tremendous/energetic/non complaining service. 170,000 plus miles and still smooth/still drawing looks/still silent /still passengers commenting how smooth it is.

Been with me all over Europe - not one murmur - superb car - Italy to Germany to Holland many times - excellent car.

Smooth Ride - Smooth looks - Going to rest it up for a newer Mercedes - but won't sell this old beast. Don't make em' like they used to!!!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 7th December, 2004

Average review marks: 8.1 / 10, based on 22 reviews