1990 Mercedes-Benz W124 Reviews - Page 4 of 5

1990 Mercedes-Benz W124 300E-24 3.0 petrol from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1990
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 3.0 petrol Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.6 / 10
Distance when acquired70000 miles
Most recent distance75000 miles
Previous carMercedes-Benz 190

Summary:

A classic Mercedes, they don't build them like that any more

Faults:

Engine mounts replaced at 70,000 miles.

Electric window switches regularly die, apparently the secret is to use them often! Same solution for keeping the air conditioning and electric sunroof working well!

General Comments:

Double overhead cam, fuel injected, 24 valve six cylinder, non catalytic converter makes this example the best three litre Mercedes ever made!

Built for high speed cruising comfort it still handles well around town.

Very roomy and comfortable inside, much better than coupe version.

Lazy power, there when you need it, but never intrudes or surprises.

Easy to work on, reliable, spare parts easy to come by.

Fully loaded, nothing I would want to add, all electric, air-con, all leather.

Solid feel to everything, just as you would expect from a genuinely coach-built car.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 18th March, 2004

3rd May 2009, 13:16

I agree. I also own an e300 24v saloon, they really are that well built. I also own a face lift e220 coupe. I will keep these cars forever.

1990 Mercedes-Benz W124 260E 2.6,six cylinder. from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1990
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 2.6,six cylinder. Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10
Distance when acquired103000 miles
Most recent distance110000 miles
Previous carVauxhall Omega

Summary:

All other cars are inferior

Faults:

Exhaust, front and middle sections. Luckily no catalysts.

Water pump.

Alternator bearing went noisy.

Front brake discs and pads.

Only consumables have needed replacing, every car needs brakes and exhausts.

General Comments:

I only paid £1400 for this car, but the effect it has on other people is really funny. People think I am some sort of big boss when I turn up to do work on site. It is only when I open the boot and take out all my tools do they realise I am just a working chap. Everybody comments on it, looking inside and asking how it is going.

I could drive a Ford, Vauxhall costing ten times as much and nobody would give it a second glance.

I LOVE IT.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 9th January, 2004

8th May 2004, 14:11

I am so gutted. Some clown pulled out on us and wrote off my lovely car. Not injured just aches and pains. Ambulance man said if we had been in a metro/seicento etc we would have been in hospital.

Ah well, got a good offer from insurance company.

1990 Mercedes-Benz W124 300TE 3 litre petrol from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1990
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 3 litre petrol Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.8 / 10
Distance when acquired118000 miles
Most recent distance148000 miles
Previous carMercedes-Benz 230E

Summary:

Still perfection on wheels - after 13 years

Faults:

Rear silencer replaced at 141,000.

Slight oil leaks from cylinder head and rear differential - dealer advises just to keep an eye on these.

Rear window regulator replaced at 148,000.

General Comments:

This car replaced my first Mercedes, a 230TE which, unbeknown to me, had been rebuilt after a major smash. It consequently needed much work, including a re-manufactured engine that finally blew up with a total vehicle mileage of 142,000. Oh dear!

My current 300TE is so different. It had been carefully maintained by its previous owner, and I've continued to use the local main Mercedes dealer who provides excellent service with a 'mature Mercedes' discount that keeps the costs in hand.

It is a joy to drive, with that silky-smooth straight six engine and barely perceptible gear changes.

Handling is predictable and safe, the ride is gloriously comfortable, but neither too harsh nor soft.

The interior shows very little wear, although I'd have preferred darker coloured seats to the somewhat naff light beige jobs that I'm saddled with.

Performance is smooth, effortless, and sometimes astounding when the kick-down comes into play.

Fuel consumption is fairly high, but as my annual mileage is also fairly low I am happy to live with it.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 27th June, 2003

7th Nov 2005, 08:46

If you drive on the fuel computor and keep it mostly at one quarter, and to half only when accelerating, the fuel consumption becomes very reasonable. Mine is 16 years old and fault free.

16th Dec 2007, 17:28

The only time a Mercedes differential will not leak oil is when there is no oil in the diff. However they are a strong unit and shouldn't give much trouble unless they have done a lot of work.

1990 Mercedes-Benz W124 300E 24V 3.0 24v from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1990
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 3.0 24v Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 4 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.4 / 10
Distance when acquired100000 miles
Most recent distance125000 miles
Previous carMercedes-Benz 190

Summary:

Stunning blend of power and comfort

Faults:

The car has a slight coolant leak from the top of the radiator (where the plastic pipe connects). I was quoted £300 for a new rad so it's still leaking!

General Comments:

It has the full Sportline option package so th handling is terrific, if a little bumpy at low speeds.

It's a non catalyst model so the power output is 231bhp. I love the wolf-in-sheeps-clothing aspect.

The 'leather' Sportline seats are wonderful and despite the 125000 miles they still look like new and feel solid.

Nothing else lasts like a Merc.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 24th June, 2002

24th Jun 2002, 20:50

Hey do not listen to the dealers. Just epoxy resin the crack. It is very simple my friend.

7th Oct 2002, 05:13

Have you ever tried a breakers yard for the radiator. I have read the comment about using resin to seal the crack, but it simply wouldn't last. In my opinion the breakers yard would be the best option, as you could get a decent radiator for around £30! And before you install it check that your Cooling system is working, because I have a (w124) 200 and I fitted a radiator after blowing the previous one and ended up blowing it too, because the coolant system was defective.

Average review marks: 8.1 / 10, based on 22 reviews