1990 Mercedes-Benz W124 Reviews - Page 5 of 5

1990 Mercedes-Benz W124 CE 300 from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1990
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 300 Automatic
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10
Distance when acquired128000 miles
Most recent distance131000 miles
Previous carBMW 3 Series

Summary:

Has no equal!

Faults:

It gets a bit dirty every now and then.

General Comments:

Wat a car!

I've owned lots and lots of car's!

But this has to be one of the best.

It's not the most expensive or fastest!

But overall it provides a service second to none!

It has the looks! the presence! the reliability! the performance! the overall feel good factor to make this one of the best cars I've ever owned!.

My particular car is a 300 CE AMG the mechanical specification of the car is as standard, but the body and wheels have been treated to the fine improvements of AMG thus making this car truly remarkable.

Both to look at and own.

It runs and drives with the unbelievable reliability and feeling of a Mercedes. (FROM THAT ERA! BEEN TOLD THE NEW ONES ARE NOT THE SAME! AND HAVING PREVIOUSLY OWNED A C CLASS FROM 1997 I MIGHT HAVE TO AGREE) Yet has a subtle hint of something a bit different that comes with the enviable AMG upgrade.

As I've said earlier I've owned many cars in my time including BMW M series and Porsche as well as the best performance models main stream manufacturers such as Ford,Vauxhall and Volkswagen can offer many of with have cost me more money to purchase than this one, but none come even nearly close to matching the overall owning experience of this car!

So in short what I'm saying is

I couldn't be happier it's cost me less it gives me more and ten years down the line (not that I'll get that far without falling victim to another crush!) it will be still a better car than any previously mentioned!

But you can rest assured watever my next serious crush is it will to make it as good as the one I currently have it will have to be from the shining silver star!

Of course the letters (AMG) after the name will obviously help no end!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 20th June, 2002

13th Oct 2002, 17:25

I agree completely, having recently bought a 300 CE myself,

She simply is the sexiest car design ever, what curves and lines she has.

The only thing which I would change is the autobox 4 speed into a 5 speed.

30th Aug 2003, 03:27

Yes, I have owned several Mercs and the W124 1993 300 D Sportline is probably the best. Nothing wrong so far. On previous versions I have had to change the shock absorbers after about 300,000 km.

1990 Mercedes-Benz W124 230e 2.3 petrol from Australia and New Zealand

Year of manufacture1990
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 2.3 petrol Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.8 / 10
Distance when acquired145000 kilometres
Most recent distance170000 kilometres
Previous carFord Fairmont

Summary:

Simply the best

Faults:

Automatic transmission brake band broke.

Ignition lock broke.

General Comments:

The best car I've ever driven.

Very comfortable, especially the seats.

Very little noise.

However I find the motor a bit gutless, but very impressive for a 2.3 liter still.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 9th June, 2001

16th Feb 2005, 16:45

Hi I'm from poland and I have also 230E and it's really best mercedes from 1990!!!

It's really silent and comfortable.

Greet.

17th May 2005, 08:19

Just bought a Japanese model year 1991, Mercedes 230E (A). Impressive and powerful, gentle yet firm.

Had a problem of slight swaying after changing 4 new absorbers and fitted 16 inch rim, 55x60x205 tyres. Is this a problem? Changed the steering damper and still swaying slightly, why?

Performance is great.

10th Aug 2005, 04:01

Can anybody help with a surging problem when driving with the cruise control on? At any speed, with cruise on, it surges. Yet with cruise off there is no surge whatsoever.

Any ideas on how to fix greatly appreciated. Please email below:

Yasbenjamin@hotmail.com.

10th Jul 2007, 22:52

Simply the Best. The best car Benz ever made.

21st May 2010, 10:47

HI, I'm Vincent from Malaysia, I just recently bought a Mercedes W124. Need to know if the interior came with wooden strip/ lining & panel, what is the year of manufacture? When did Mercedes start to use wooden strip/ lining & panel for it interior design.

Can somebody tell me??

1990 Mercedes-Benz W124 300E 4Matic (4 wheel drive) 3.0 litre gas from North America

Year of manufacture1990
First year of ownership1998
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 3.0 litre gas Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.4 / 10
Distance when acquired115000 kilometres
Most recent distance140000 kilometres
Previous carBMW M5

Summary:

Solid

Faults:

The thermostat housing cracked and the upper radiator hose blew off in Ottawa (think snow and cold) in February. Good thing I noticed. The part was $24 CND but the dealer wouldn't fix it for days. I took the part and fixed it myself (it's been replaced with an all metal part that won't crack again). I have water pump and coolant tank leaks but they are not critical yet. The engine burns a lot of oil but works well. The rear window has stopped working. Generally this is a robust car. Solid. A little rust. Relatively good and has needed little in terms of repairs in the year and a half I've owned it.

General Comments:

Good car. Solid and reliable.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 28th June, 2000

1990 Mercedes-Benz W124 300 TE W 4Matic from Switzerland

Year of manufacture1990
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.4 / 10
Distance when acquired268000 kilometres
Most recent distance273000 kilometres
Previous carMercedes-Benz 300 SE (1988)

Summary:

A great car, perfect in every detail

Faults:

The 4Matic (4-wheel-drive) is beginning to cause some troubles (leaking).

General Comments:

By far the best and most reliable car I have ever owned. Even smoother and more comfortable than my former Jaguar XJ6 4.2 Series III. Looks almost new after 270'000 km.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 26th March, 2000

1990 Mercedes-Benz W124 300D Turbo Diesel from North America

Year of manufacture1990
Engine and transmission Turbo Diesel
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10

Faults:

Replaced radiator, Air conditioning compressor.

General Comments:

Has 217,000 miles on it and still running very well. I want to trade it but the wife says No Way!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 29th June, 1998

1990 Mercedes-Benz W124 230TE Estate 2.3 petrol from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1990
Engine and transmission 2.3 petrol
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 4 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.6 / 10

Faults:

Low mileage car (75,000 from new). No faults except leaking vacuum pipe this year. Otherwise regular servicing only plus tyres, battery and brake pads.

General Comments:

Excellent estate with reasonable running costs and still appears as new.

Dealers at Shrewsbury (I have no connection other than as customer) are incredibly efficent.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 18th May, 1998

Average review marks: 8.1 / 10, based on 22 reviews