1991 Mercedes-Benz W124 200D 2.0 diesel from Netherlands


Great. Love it. Build quality to last


Automatic antenna broke down.

Front springs broken.

Tires, brakes, exhaust, interior lights, usual wear and tear.

General Comments:

Great cruiser, but crap performance in mountains with 1,3 tons and 75 diesel horsepower coming from only 4 cylinders.

Has small turning circle for such a big car.

Extremely reliable, very comfortable, does 1 liter diesel in 14 kms in winter, 1 in 16 to 17kms in summer.

Very acceptable running costs, as long as you stay away from the official dealerships.

Karo interior is cool in summer, hot in winter.

No aircon, but the sunroof makes up for this in summer.

No electric windows, turning them keeps you fit instead.

Big lump of car, and will take you anywhere, also you can have kids in the meantime and pass the Merc on to them, it will keep running for a very long time.

Beats almost anything when it comes to value for money second hand. Great time machine that just keeps going forever.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 7th January, 2010

1991 Mercedes-Benz W124 300D from UK and Ireland


Why would you want any other car?



General Comments:

This car is a legend!

Still looking good at nearly half a million miles, totally reliable. Engine still uses no oil, returns 35-40mpg. Auto box was re-built at 380000 miles.

This is the only second hand car where mileage really isn't a problem providing it has been serviced properly.

A/C still works fine, interior still looking good with the occasional valet.

This car really feels like it will do a million miles... hope so, because I have no intention of getting rid of it!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 13th May, 2009

1991 Mercedes-Benz W124 e300 24v 3.0 from UK and Ireland


Extremely well built classic!


Nothing. If serviced correctly, these cars are bulletproof.

General Comments:

I love these cars. I currently have 2 of them. I have had 4 w124 in total, including e200, e220, e220 coupe and e300 24v.

The leather on these cars is very hard wearing.

The e200 with cloth I had, did wear on the drivers bolster.

They rust in the front wheel arches in particular, but on all of mine I had this dealt with swiftly, and removed professionally and repainted, and it never came back.

They handle extremely well, and are so smooth and comfortable, unlike the replacement w210 which suffer from cracked springs and suspension, and rust problems, including electrical problems, even on low mileage examples! Give me a w124 anytime.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 3rd May, 2009

19th May 2010, 07:44

Have owned my 300 CE 24 for nearly three years now. It has covered 88,000 miles. Initially had a problem with the car conking out, which was frustrating to resolve and get the reliability where it should be, but eventually nailed the problem down to the fuel pump relay, which is housed within the M.A.S. computer tucked behind the battery on the 1991 model. Managed to obtain a 2nd hand one for £125. Since then the car looks, drives and handles better than 99% of biscuit tins on the road, and it's good to see they are holding if not increasing their values. There have been no other problems, and it sails through the M.O.T. I wouldn't swap it for anything.

1991 Mercedes-Benz W124 200E 2.0L petrol from Singapore


Feels like it could go forever


Transmission had to be overhauled after 6 months because the gear kept slipping while moving off. Was better after the overhaul.

The modified electric fan broke and smashed into the radiator and both had to be replaced. The electric fan was replaced with a used Volvo 960 fan. Solved the overheating problem.

The trans valve body gave way 9 months after the overhaul. Can't be faulted since I did not replace that part. replaced with a 16 valve trans valve body. Car now starts off in first gear.

Fan belt and belt damper had to be replaced due to a squealing noise.

Most recently, changed the noisy rear axle to the 16valve type, changed the fuel pump, fuel accumulator and distributor. Changed some bushings, engine mountings and hoses.

General Comments:

As this was my first car, I did not know much of the faults to look out for. after having made all the changes, the car is now quite good.

Many people call the w124 bullet proof and I would like to qualify that this is not entirely true. While it is a very good car, care and effort has to be put in to maintain it, especially if the previous owners have not done so.

The interior is still in good condition. However, the exterior is due for a paint job soon. Thinking of changing the current two-tone white and grey paint to a single colour, gunmetal silver.

The engine is still strong and I have managed to go up to about 200 km/h. However, normal highway and city driving gives me only about 450 kms per 60 litres of petrol. A check revealed that the engine has lost its compression and I may need to do a top overhaul.

Has anyone here done a top overhaul before? If so, would it be advisable to change the timing chain at the same time?

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 10th January, 2009

18th Apr 2009, 12:58


I am looking at a used 200e, but I am concerned about the high cost of repairs. May I know where you usually service your benz?

Or if you can email me at zeeeze@yahoo.com, that will be great bro!

22nd Mar 2010, 13:05


I know it's over a year ago since you posted this, but I just want to tell you that if you have to do a head overhaul, ALWAYS replace the old timing chain with a new one...