1991 Mercury Capri Reviews - Page 4 of 8

1991 Mercury Capri XR2 1.6 Ltr. L4 Intercooled turbo from North America

Year of manufacture1991
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 1.6 Ltr. L4 Intercooled turbo Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.3 / 10
Distance when acquired139005 miles
Most recent distance139900 miles
Previous carChevrolet Camaro

Summary:

A very good purchase for the convertible turbo features!

Faults:

The glove box handle is broken off.

The front CV joints are going out (vibrations, slight clicking on turns)

The top is torn in joint contacting locations, along with a few pinholes in the top.

The gearshift drops down into the well slightly in 5th gear.

General Comments:

This car's acceleration off the line is not the greatest, but above 15 mph it definately is a performer!

The cornering ability of the XR2 is terrific, merely chirping the tires when I take a nearly 90 degree turn at 25 mph.

The stick shift is a bit low for my tastes, leaving me to lean down a bit to reach it during shifts.

With the top up, this car is is quiet and doesn't feel like it's only material covering the cockpit.

The backseat of this car has very little legroom, however my 8 year old daughter can sit relatively comfortably giving you some idea of the size.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 27th March, 2003

1991 Mercury Capri XR2 from North America

Year of manufacture1991
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 5 / 10
Dealer Service marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.2 / 10
Distance when acquired10900 miles
Most recent distance11300 miles
Previous carPontiac Bonneville

Summary:

A sporty, affordable car

Faults:

Replaced front axle two weeks after purchasing.

Replaced cooling fan switch at 10960 miles.

Vehicle has no driver's side airbag.

Oil pressure gauge reads erratic.

Top will not fit into deck lid compartment.

General Comments:

This car is not real comfortable in long distance trips.

It makes a lot of rattling noise in various areas of the under carriage.

Overall, it is a good running car and gets great gas mileage.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 12th March, 2003

1st Dec 2003, 15:58

To get the top completely tucked away you must push up on the bar or rod running across when putting the top down.

I had the same problem and encountered a lady driving one.

She put the top down in about one minute.

Just remember push up on the top bar or rod.

1991 Mercury Capri XR2 1.6 DOHC turbo from North America

Year of manufacture1991
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 1.6 DOHC turbo Manual
Distance when acquired73000 miles
Most recent distance73000 miles
Previous carFord Mustang

Summary:

Good project car, well worth the blood, sweat, and tears!

Faults:

Turbo needed rebuilt.

Convertible top needed replaced.

Gear shifter moves up and down.

General Comments:

We are definitely a Capri family, bought 3 1991 Capri's.

I have a 5-speed Turbo. I sent away to get the turbo rebuilt.

Bought a new convertible roof to put on.

Putting a sound system in it, even though there's not a lot of room to through a 12" and 2 6x9"'s. Please give me suggestions.

Should I bother to looking into getting a Tonneau Cover?

Bought a repair manual for it.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 31st January, 2003

12th Oct 2003, 08:42

For the speakers, I've found a few sites that sell a 'bubble top' that goes over the back seat. If you don't mind losing the back seat entirely and having a 2-seater, the speakers and amp fit very well underneath in the middle (this is what I'm planning for my car eventually).

1991 Mercury Capri STD stock from North America

Year of manufacture1991
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission stock Manual
Performance marks 0 / 10
Reliability marks 0 / 10
Comfort marks 0 / 10
Dealer Service marks 0 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 0 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
0.0 / 10
Distance when acquired79000 miles
Most recent distance79000 miles
Previous carFord Escort

Summary:

Junk car!

Faults:

My seat belt lock are broken! if I take it down to ford will they replace my seat belt lock for free?

General Comments:

Does anyone knoe any forms where people talk about this car?

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 27th November, 2002

3rd Dec 2004, 19:09

Saw you need some kind of group of Capris. Yahoo has a great one, been a member for a few years, as I also own a 91 Automatic Capri.

Love it to death, costs a fortune to keep running, only run it about 5 months out of the year, was my first car. Breaks down constantly, but when it runs, I have yet to drive a car that compares with the fun.

My Galant always starts, but is nowhere near the fun.

http://autos.groups.yahoo.com/group/capri/

12th Aug 2009, 19:37

Had to get used to the high temp and low oil pressure gauges.

Real fun car to drive.

I need a throttle positioning sensor. Any body know where I can get one? I know that Mazda made the engine, I wonder if they carry this part?

1991 Mercury Capri XR2 1.6 turbo from North America

Year of manufacture1991
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 1.6 turbo Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.5 / 10
Distance when acquired80000 miles
Most recent distance100000 miles
Previous carPontiac Grand Am

Summary:

You know that feeling you get when you hit the highest point of a Roller Coaster? Try downshifting

Faults:

Alternator went bad - Replaced with a Mitsubishi Alternator for about $300.

Failed Emissions with previous owner (faulty Vacuum hose - replaced for $2.95 plus tax)

Electrical work needed for Lamp Motor/Power Windows/Locks (Ease of repair - fairly simple - concidering I can take apart{COMPLETELY} and rebuild this car in under 4 hours and I live for cars.

Tricky to learn to lower top (as my room mate says, but he isn't all 'there' - I had no problems after It stopped 3/4 of the way down due to the support bar)

Radiator went bad - replaced (including Water pump, thermostat, hoses)

General Comments:

I LOVE this car. When I first looked at it to buy it, I thought - hmm... small car, automatically thought of my 1.5 liter Sentra (first car) and the Get up and go it can only dream of getting at a 45 degree down-hill...I heard the engine start and heard the slight rumble given off by the turbo charger - I IMMEDIATELY HAD to drive her. It wasn't as impressive as I thought - until I hit about 4,000 RPM - I noticed a little more spunk to it - then, 500 RPM later, I fell in love. Even more so with the top down. The vehicle handles GREAT. Even in the rain. The only two complaints I have are (1) the seams leak - a little - but All I needed was to put a liquid rubber/sealant on the seams, and let it sit in the sun for a day to dry - now it is tougher to close completely - but the leak is gone. (2) I don't have enough cash on me to supe it up some. I have read many reviews in MANY sites saying the car is GREAT stock - but Freakin' AWESOME modified.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 26th September, 2002

23rd May 2003, 00:43

I have recently purchased a 1991 XR2. I would like to know where to get the aftermarket parts to improve the performance of this XR2 Turbo. Any info would be greatly appreciated. My email is: j_joey_j@hotmail.com.

Average review marks: 7.0 / 10, based on 31 reviews