1978 Mercury Cougar xr7 351w V8 from North America

Summary:

This car is one of the best ever made

Faults:

The car seems to have a loss of power, but I think it's age is catching up with it.

General Comments:

Very nice comfortable car, vary reliable, looks are amazing.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 22nd October, 2003

1978 Mercury Cougar V8 302 from North America

Summary:

Not too bad of a deal !!

Faults:

Nothing but gas mileage. The car weighs 5795 and has a 302.

General Comments:

I bought this car from a man in his 60's he said his mom bought it brand new and only pretty much drove it to church and back. Engine is still somewhat clean even though it has been parked for about 3 years in a garage. Smooth ride.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 11th September, 2003

1978 Mercury Cougar XR7 400 CID from North America

Summary:

A cruising machine

Faults:

The vinyl on the exterior has started to crack.

Some surface rust.

General Comments:

I love this car!

Excellent for highways, very comfortable.

I bought it off a little old man who had babied it since he bought it brand new.

Factory installed CB radio!

It even has full time posi-trac.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 11th June, 2003

1978 Mercury Cougar XR7 351ci V8 from North America

Summary:

A luxurious tank

Faults:

The master cylinder had to be replaced the year I bought it. The previous owner had to replace tires because of dry rot while setting in garage. Leaking transmission fluid (which still has not been fixed).

General Comments:

You have heard of the little old lady who only drives to church on Sundays. Well, she really does exist and I bought her car. Actually she gave it to me because I am her grand daughter.

The "tank" was custom ordered with a factory installed CB radio and 8 track tape player. (both still work)

The only down side of the car is it won't fit in parallel parking spaces so if you have to go downtown you get you exercise.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 16th January, 2003

1978 Mercury Cougar 351 Windsor 5.8L from North America

Summary:

It's a great all around vehicle, power, handling, and comfort

Faults:

I got the car with only 72,000 miles on it, The only thing that has let go with it is the thermostat and the radiator, which was bad when I bought it.

The seats are in excellent shape no rips or tears at all.

General Comments:

All in all I think it's a great car, it moves pretty quickly and rides beautifully.

It's a little hard on gas, but you have to take the good with the bad, I guess for having a 351 Windsor and weighing 5,700 pounds it isn't too bad.

It has all white leather seats, with red carpet and dash panels.

The door panels are also white, Also in great shape.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 24th October, 2002

1978 Mercury Cougar XR7 302 5.0 liter from North America

Summary:

This car is the greatest car I know ever built - very reliable and I love it

Faults:

This car was given to me by my grandfather when he passed away. Now I am 17 and I drive it almost every day. We had the engine rebuilt at 100,000 miles.

My dad just recently put a new carburetor in it, about 2 years ago, and whenever I first start my car, whether it is summer or winter, when I hit the gas down to the floor quickly it goes high then goes low like it will stall, but comes back up again. After warming the car up for about 10 minutes, I go to drive it. When I floor it while it's standing still in Drive and hold the accelerator down all the way, it stalls out completely. When I do the same thing, but let go it comes back up to a normal idle. This does not happen if I let it warm up for at least 15-20 minutes. My dad told me they call this a "cold spot". Can you tell me how or why this is happening and how to fix it please?

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 13th October, 2002

2nd Nov 2002, 07:49

I have a 78 Cougar XR7 with a 351W (Autolite 2150 carb.)

Check the following for stalling.

First, make sure choke thermostat is adjusted properly.

Temporarily disconnect the vacuum line to the EGR valve and plug it. If the EGR valve opens to much, the car will hesitate. Check your accelerator pump in the carburetor.

Make sure it is pumping. There is an orange plug in the carburetor that could be your problem. If so you need to buy a rebuilding kit using the carburetor identification tag located on top of the carburetor.

Make sure you do not have any vacuum leaks.

23rd Nov 2002, 22:21

Also, check the plunger adjustment on the accelerator pump. You may need to tighten it up by bending the pump rod at the Z-bend just a little to take up the slack.