2000 Mercury Cougar Reviews - Page 10 of 21

2000 Mercury Cougar 2.5 from North America

Model year2000
Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission 2.5 Automatic
Distance when acquired17 miles
Most recent distance95 miles
Previous carMercury Newport

Summary:

STINKS

Faults:

All of the previous individual problems that was mentioned.

General Comments:

Is there a fix for the car not starting after being used in 80 degree temperature.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 14th August, 2006

15th Aug 2006, 12:24

Don't put too much effort into your review, now.

2000 Mercury Cougar 2.5 V6 from North America

Model year2000
Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 2.5 V6 Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.3 / 10
Distance when acquired20000 miles
Most recent distance62000 miles
Previous carFord Taurus

Summary:

Nice looks, cheap to operate, fun and reliable!

Faults:

The only problem that I have had with the car is the light for the coolant goes on, but there is nothing wrong with the coolant. Other than that, the car has been trouble free, and I get 30 MPG driving to and from work, and over 32 MPG at 70MPH cruising.

General Comments:

The car has unique looks, has great handling, even in the snow (the 5 speed helps), the transmission and gears are perfect, and a decent sound system. Good overall car, cheap to own and operate. Back seats are for kids/teens only though.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 3rd May, 2006

2000 Mercury Cougar V6 from North America

Model year2000
Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission Manual
Performance marks 5 / 10
Reliability marks 5 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.5 / 10
Distance when acquired2 miles
Most recent distance100000 miles

Summary:

Good car

Faults:

Defective Fuel Pump.

General Comments:

The car is wonderful.

It is the manufacturer I am not happy with. I had my fuel pump become defective and my car will not run below a 1/4 of a tank of gas. Ford will not help me fix it. They say since I did not get a recall, my car is not approved for assisance. This has really gave me a bad feeling for Ford. I will not buy another Ford product because if they leave it out of a recall you will have to pay for a Ford defect, which is not my fault.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 21st March, 2006

2000 Mercury Cougar c2 2.5L V6 from North America

Model year2000
Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission 2.5L V6 Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.3 / 10
Distance when acquired25000 miles
Most recent distance85000 miles

Summary:

If your willing to put up with a few problems, it's a quick, cute, fun car

Faults:

The gas pump went out on the second day I owned it, which was fixed under dealer warranty, Then went out again which was fixed by my extended warranty, and then a third time.

The power steering pump has went out twice. The first time at 35,000m.

I have had two hose problems, Radiator hose, power steering hose.

The sunroof broke, at about 50,000m.

The hatch will never pop, if I try to open it from the inside of the car the latch sticks, I have to use the button on my remote and push down on it.

And now the most current problem, the exhaust came disconnected, so it sounds like a boat and I can't even drive it until it gets fixed.

General Comments:

I like the overall look of the car. It's a cute, rounded car.

The seats are VERY comfortable,...well the front ones.

Its pretty quick and handles well, except on ice.

LOTS of space in the trunk, and the seats fold down.

I've had this car awhile and even through all of its problems Its been a fun and an overall okay vehicle.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 24th February, 2006

2000 Mercury Cougar V6 Duratech from North America

Model year2000
Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission V6 Duratech Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 5 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 4 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.2 / 10
Distance when acquired89000 miles
Most recent distance98000 miles
Previous carMitsubishi Eclipse

Summary:

Average everyday driving made a little more exciting with the cougar

Faults:

Beside the Common Mossing problem (the loud noise from intake valve motor) that I fixed for $300 - Witch came back 2 months later, its been pretty trouble free till the Manual Transmission started giving me trouble, it makes a ticking noise on Idle, (the noise goes away as I push the clutch in) the dealer says I need a transmission over haul ($1400).

General Comments:

My Boyfriend likes it a lot, and so do I, I had an Eclipse before buying my cougar, and I did not like Mitsubishi at all, the Cougar is more roomier, and does not feel cheap made and by no means light like the Eclipse did. I think it's a good car, I just have bad luck with cars as my boyfriend says.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 12th February, 2006

2000 Mercury Cougar V6 2.5 from North America

Model year2000
Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission 2.5 Automatic
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 5 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.0 / 10
Distance when acquired0 kilometres
Most recent distance143000 kilometres
Previous carPlymouth Laser

Summary:

The advantages of fuel economy and power and comfort do not outweigh the disadvantages

Faults:

As everyone knows the trunk latch doesn't work.

It is dangerous on slippery roads.

The fuel pump quit (replaced and then costs refunded after recall)

The heat is very poor, have to wear winter boots and parka in it while driving.

Sometimes will not start on a hot day and you will be left stranded somewhere.

Tires only last 50,000 km (30,000 miles)

Drafty interior and hatch. Dust collects in hatch and interior and drafty in winter.

You can't adjust the radio/cd volume to a suitable level. The range between selections is too great and even level 1 is too loud if you just want it to be in the background as you are sitting waiting for something.

General Comments:

Okay car when it is not a really cold day, or a moderately hot day.

If you think you should slow down to 80 km/r on a somewhat slippery road in winter, slow down to about 60 km/r. I have put on expensive winter tires and that does improve it quite a bit. I have about one million kms under my belt and this car is not for winter!

Lots of power and fun to drive (on dry roads), and the fuel economy is really good.

Comfortable to drive.

Frustrating at times because once in a while it just won't start - and you have to wait 10 or 20 or 30 minutes and suddenly it will start. When this problem shows up and you turn the key, nothing happens. No ignition, no nothing! Wait until the car cools off and somehow it will engage the ignition again.

I would like to know if anyone else has experienced this problem and what it may be. This has happenned to me about a dozen times when it is above 20C or 70F.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 3rd February, 2006

4th Mar 2006, 13:32

Personal Exprience.

The heat is a little unexpectedly weak, but if you turn the fan on all the way to levels 3 or 4, it will heat up. same thing with the AC. its just a big cabin for such a small air fan, so you have to make the fan blow top speed so you can feel a change in temperature.

Average review marks: 6.4 / 10, based on 73 reviews