2000 Mercury Cougar Reviews - Page 21 of 21

2000 Mercury Cougar Fully equipped 2.5 liter, 24 valve DOHC from North America

Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 2.5 liter, 24 valve DOHC Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.2 / 10
Distance when acquired383 miles
Most recent distance15000 miles
Previous carFord Thunderbird

Summary:

Lamborghini adrenaline at a fraction of the cost!

Faults:

As of today's date: 8/28/01, I have had nothing wrong with my car! And I drive it very hard.

General Comments:

My previous car was a limited edition Ford Thunderbird LX. Red and sporty, it was a great first car. So I had some reservation as to whether or not to purchase the Cougar. However, the first test drive sealed the T-Birds fate. I BOUGHT IT THAT DAY!

Performance red with all the trimmings, I drove it home from Indiana to Michigan as fast as I could and that was reasonably fast.

I would have given a "10" for performance if I would have gotten the manual transmission. I instead opted for the automatic because of Michigan's winters.

My only real complaint is the lack of rear room.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 29th August, 2001

4th Jan 2005, 12:14

The Cougar is as good as a Lamborghini? Wow!!! And to think of all of those suckers that wasted an extra hundred thousand or two! Is the Grand Marquis the same as a Bentley too?

25th Apr 2005, 14:40

I drove my Cougar hard too. However I found out that you can't drive that car hard. If you drive the way you describe it won't last two years. Under normal conditions it's junk. You'll spend all your money on alternators, batteries, fuses, and starters. I suggest if you want to keep it in good condition, don't drive it at all. Give it to the dealer for them to take care of it.

2000 Mercury Cougar I4 4-cylinder from North America

Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 4-cylinder Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.0 / 10
Distance when acquired400 miles
Most recent distance15000 miles
Previous carHonda del Sol

Summary:

A lot for the money

Faults:

My Cougar has caused me no problems so far.

General Comments:

I love my car. It is fun to drive, especially since I went with the 5 speed. My only regret was not having the finances to buy the V6 model and not waiting to get one with a sunroof.

My friends complain that it is hard to get out of the rear, scooped out seats.

Great gas mileage!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 25th July, 2001

24th Apr 2003, 10:52

My 2000 Mercury Cougar is so much fun to drive. I have had Camaros, this car by far handles better. I have the V6-5 speed. AWESOME CAR!!!

28th Apr 2003, 17:57

I love my 1999 Cougar!!! I would love to know how all of you people get such good gas mileage. Maybe I just drive mine too hard. I make it go and it goes!! I don't know what kind of car I'm going to get when my Cougar is old and goes to car heaven. Nothing else will compare.

19th Feb 2004, 22:15

This car is insane in its variations in gas mileage. I've heard of people only getting 13 and such, whereas I get up to 24. It is all based on when you shift, you have a huge margin in which to do it. The people getting in the 13-15 range tend to be shifting around 6k RPM. I prefer around 3k unless I'm racing or something, and it vastly improved my mileage and it shifts a big smoother.

12th Apr 2009, 19:55

I average about 26 MPG in my 5 speed I-4, but I've gotten as high as 34. I shift right about 4000-4500 RPM.

2000 Mercury Cougar 6 cylinder from North America

Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 6 cylinder Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.0 / 10
Distance when acquired3 miles
Most recent distance11962 miles
Previous carMercury Probe

Summary:

A smashing good time

Faults:

My air conditioning system has malfunctioned during the hottest summer ever.

I lost a rear factory installed mud guard with the mercury cougar emblem on it and haven't been able to locate another one.

General Comments:

Overall my Cougar by far out performs other vehicles in it's path. I have noticed that on certain occasions other motorists wonder what color is my car? I often tell them that the color is unique and that they don't make it any more.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 19th June, 2001

Average review marks: 6.4 / 10, based on 73 reviews