2000 Mercury Cougar Reviews - Page 19 of 21

2000 Mercury Cougar from North America

Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 2 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10
Distance when acquired36000 miles
Most recent distance42000 miles
Previous carMitsubishi Eclipse

Summary:

You get what you pay for

Faults:

After a few days of dying on me in traffic, the fuel pump went out at 36,000 miles. My latest problem is a short in my locking system. Which means my trunk won't unlatch with the switch and I can't use my automatic door locks.

General Comments:

I'm 5'4" and still find it hard to see over the steering wheel unless the seat is set at it's highest setting.

Very comfortable for road trips, The backseat is geat to have small kids jump in the back, Although I wouldn't recommend it for car seats, the few I have tried don't seam to fit correctly in the backseat. Terrific gas mileage I still get about 480 miles per tank! That makes me happy.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 30th October, 2003

19th Jun 2005, 11:56

I am 5'4" too and have the same difficulty. I think the accelerator is too deep and too far away from the brake. I had the problem with the auto locks as well and it costs quite a bit to have it fixed. Continue to have the difficulty with the trunk- usually have to open it with the key.

I have loved the car though overall. It looks great, handles well and everyone comments on it.

2000 Mercury Cougar 2.5 liter, V6 from North America

Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 2.5 liter, V6 Automatic
Performance marks 4 / 10
Reliability marks 0 / 10
Comfort marks 1 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
3.0 / 10
Distance when acquired138 miles
Most recent distance42000 miles
Previous carDodge Stratus

Summary:

Complete waste of time and money

Faults:

My engine is blown with 42,000 miles on it. Diagnosed by my father whom is a certified mechanic.

The rods are knocking and the car is overheating.

The trunk latch is broken.

The windows stick and hardly work.

The air conditioning blows out warm air for the first half hour at least even after they fixed the problem supposedly.

The car shakes BAD when your going 65-70 miles on the freeway.

Speakers had to be replaced.

I could keep going on and on!!

General Comments:

This was a car that was well taken care of. I made sure it was in for an oil change every 3,000 miles, faithfully and have documented proof of that.

Ford would not stand behind me to offer any help such as the diagnostic fee to make sure it is the rods knocking. My father is a certified mechanic and ensured me that it doesn't take a genius to figure out what the knocking is. Why should I have to pay for a fee when this engine should have lasted me for 15 years not 2 years??!!

Please do not buy any Ford product as they do not stand behind their products nor will they budge when it comes to helping people after the warranty has expired.

Beware!! I will only deal with car manufacturers that work with their customers even after the warranty has expired from now on!! Ford is NOT one of those people!!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 31st January, 2003

23rd Mar 2003, 05:24

Yes, I also have a 2000 mercury cougar with 35,000 miles and I have none of the problems that you have with your car. Therefore I'd have to agree with everything the person said before me. It is a great car.

6th Apr 2004, 14:43

It sounds like the original poster beat on his car like crazy to cause the engine to go bad that fast. Either that or he ran the oil out of it.

The vibration is probably caused by an out of balance wheel or a bad tire. Your father should have been able to figure that out if he really was a mechanic.

I've got 37,000 trouble free miles on mine. Everything works wonderfully. GREAT car! I highly recommend it.

2000 Mercury Cougar SE V6 2.5L from North America

Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission V6 2.5L Automatic
Performance marks 5 / 10
Reliability marks 0 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Dealer Service marks 1 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
3.4 / 10
Distance when acquired5 miles
Most recent distance37000 miles
Previous carAcura Integra

Summary:

Something to die for... In

Faults:

After I had the car for one month, the car was taken into the dealership where they had to replace the alternator due to the lights flickering (headlights, dash etc.) At this time there was about 2,500 miles on the car.

The second time the car was taken in was for the fuel pump, which had to replaced, at this time there was 5,500 miles on the car.

I had to return the car a month later for a recurring problem, the lights were once again flickering and dimming. The dealership (which made me pay for my own rental car) had to replace and reroute the wiring from the alternator, at this time there were 7,500 miles on the car. This appeared to be a major electrical problem which the dealership could not ever completely fix even if they would have had the car 365 days out of the year. I still had some dimming of the lights when I would accelerate the car, which was embarrassing having a new car that didn't work correctly.

Recently the car stalled going down the road and caught fire underneath the engine (which appears to have been a short). The car is currently sitting at the dealership as of today. The dealership will not fix the car and insurance will not fix the car due to this being a mechanical problem. This occurred at about 37,000 miles.

General Comments:

My first comment would be don't buy a Cougar, unless you would like to pay for something you are not going to get. I plan on letting the car be repossessed, unless I could find some more information on these matters to get a lawyer.

There have been several recalls on these cars for wiring problems which cause them to catch on fire, or if your lucky will not start.

The car seemed nice when I was not paying for the car to be fixed when it was under warranty, it felt like I was getting my money worth out of the car, but is defiantly not worth it.

My two cents would be if you have a "NEW" Cougar don't let what happened to me, happen to yourself, sell it.

If you have any information that could help me in my case, or would like to be involved in the case, email me at cpqa_1@hotmail.com.

Thanks for reading.

Chris Patton.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 1st December, 2002

19th Feb 2004, 22:20

Several recalls?

There have been 3 recalls on this car. 1 is a misrouted battery wire that was getting too hot and the insulation was melting. Not a big deal in all actuality. Especially since they announced the recall over 2 years ago. If you recently had this problem, that is your fault for not paying attention to your recall notices.

The other two recalls are only for cars without ABS, so I don't really know about them.

Average review marks: 6.4 / 10, based on 73 reviews