1986 Mercury Grand Marquis Reviews

1986 Mercury Grand Marquis LS 5.0L from Mexico

Model year1986
Year of manufacture1986
First year of ownership2007
Most recent year of ownership2010
Engine and transmission 5.0L Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.4 / 10
Distance when acquired80000 miles
Most recent distance123354 miles

Summary:

Perfect

Faults:

The car had a coolant leak in the radiator.

General Comments:

I am the proud owner of a 1986 Mercury Grand Marquis LS (Color: White). I bought this car when it had 80,000 miles, now it has 123,354 miles and is still running as new.

I have to change the oil every 5,000 miles. And the spark plugs every 6 months.

The car is in excellent shape, I replaced the cassette radio (Ford) for a CD and MP3 radio (Sony X-plod).

Also did with the tires; I installed 5 (spare tire too) Mastercraft P255/60/R15 (big tires because the place where I live, the streets are a mess).

And is very hard to find a car like this one with Lincoln rims and emblems (I love it when people ask me if this car is a Lincoln or Mercury).

I hope that U.S. Customs let me import (Return, the car has a 1995 Texas certificate and a 1994 insurance card from Arkansas) the car to the USA, I am living in Mexico (but I am Chilean).

I hope that all the people who own a 80's Grand Marquis take care of your car as I do...

Greetings.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 26th February, 2010

28th Feb 2010, 17:20

I have had the pleasure of owning 2 of these wonderful cars myself, as well as an LTD Crown Vic, Ford's carbon copy of the Grand Marquis. I enjoyed all three vehicles as much as you enjoy yours. They are rock-solid reliable and very safe in a wreck (unfortunately I know this from experience). I'm currently looking for another one but they are becoming more and more difficult to find. "They sure don't make em like they used to"!

That model's basic design went unchanged from 1979 all the way thru till the early 90's, a testament to the fact that they truly "got it right" with this classic design.

28th Feb 2010, 22:35

Sounds like you own a real cream puff!

15th Apr 2013, 22:30

I have a 1986 Grand Marquis (and a friend has a 1986 Crown Victoria). To me, this is the queen of cars. Mine needs some repairs to the dash ("drives" in "reverse"), but the car is a dream. I feel safe and VERY fortunate to have inherited it. I think it may be the best car ever made. I hope it lasts until I die.

1986 Mercury Grand Marquis LX 5.0 from North America

Model year1986
Year of manufacture1986
First year of ownership2007
Most recent year of ownership2009
Engine and transmission 5.0 Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.8 / 10
Distance when acquired98000 miles
Most recent distance111685 miles
Previous carNissan Titan

Summary:

Freakin' AWESOME

Faults:

Replaced all cooling hoses and the heater core just for safety August 2009.

Replaced the ORIGINAL alternator in June 2009.

Replaced the ORIGINAL battery in June of 2009.

Rebuilt the cruise control/horn power contact behind the steering wheel September 2009.

Rear window electric motors need to be replaced.

General Comments:

Phenomenal power out of such a small v-8.

Comfortable ride, it feels like it's floating down the road.

The takeoff power is great for this size of car.

I am getting approximately 32 miles per gallon fuel mileage.

I would not hesitate to get in this car and make a cross country trip at any point in time.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 24th September, 2009

25th Feb 2011, 07:40

Come on! 32 MPG out of that old hog! Maybe 24 or 25 MPG highway downhill with the wind... be real! I have had Crown Vics, Lincolns, etc... none has ever exceeded 23 MPG on the highway.

1st Mar 2011, 13:11

Incorrect tire size and mismatched gears in the differential and speedometer cable gear can make the odometer read wrong, making people believe they are getting more miles on a tank of gas.

1986 Mercury Grand Marquis LS 5.0L 302 from North America

Model year1986
Year of manufacture1986
First year of ownership2009
Most recent year of ownership2009
Engine and transmission 5.0L 302 Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.3 / 10
Distance when acquired111000 kilometres
Most recent distance111900 kilometres

Summary:

A great ride

Faults:

My alternator went on me at 111000kms.

Busted 3 lug nuts off my tires, so I'm in the process of changing out all my studs.

General Comments:

I love my Mercury! It's a great ride, a true feeling of riding in a boat.

The steering is fantastic, you can steer with one finger, I love it.

Not the best car in the winter as the ass end will get away on ya, although doing donuts is quite easy with it, fun fun!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 16th September, 2009

18th Sep 2009, 22:19

Its going to be my tribute car to my dad cause he loved cars, especially this one and I can see why, this was his last gem that he adored so I will cherish it and make it a true beauty!

Average review marks: 8.1 / 10, based on 9 reviews