1997 Mercury Mystique Reviews - Page 7 of 7

1997 Mercury Mystique GS from North America

Year of manufacture1997
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 5 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.8 / 10
Distance when acquired90000 miles
Most recent distance160000 miles
Previous carOldsmobile Cutlass

Summary:

I will not buy a ford ever again

Faults:

The 2nd and 4th gears are gone.

The A/C is gone.

The check engine light is always on.

The overdrive light flashes.

General Comments:

This car drives smoothly.

Unfortunately, with no warning at all my car don't shift to 2nd and 4th gear and the overdrive light flashes.

The A/C was working one day and the next it just went.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 2nd February, 2003

1997 Mercury Mystique GS 6 from North America

Year of manufacture1997
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 6 Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10
Distance when acquired30000 kilometres
Most recent distance80000 kilometres
Previous carMercury Sable

Summary:

An excellent compromise between affordability, practicality, and performance

Faults:

The only thing that has gone wrong with this car is it required an oxygen sensor, and it was replaced under warranty at no charge.

General Comments:

I have had no problems with this car, and it continues to run well.

It is an excellent highway and city vehicle, and the handling is excellent. I particularly enjoy that the engine is designed to deliver maximum horsepower and torque in the higher RPM ranges, which is where you need it when attempting to merge on to the highway. Make sure if you get one of these to get the V6 model.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 23rd December, 2000

1997 Mercury Mystique GS 6 cylinder from North America

Year of manufacture1997
First year of ownership1998
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 6 cylinder Automatic
Performance marks 4 / 10
Reliability marks 2 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 4 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 4 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
4.2 / 10
Distance when acquired27000 miles
Most recent distance75000 miles
Previous carToyota Corrolla

Summary:

Garbage

Faults:

Doors leak, leaving the floor wet and growing mold, and ruining the carpet.

Rear light assembly leaks, causing the same problem in the trunk.

Stalls just after start up when it's cold.

General Comments:

Handling is frighteningly bad around corners, feels as if it's drifting off the road.

Transmission is constantly shifting up and down for no reason.

This car is a cheap piece of crap, but what did I expect from Ford????

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 16th November, 2000

29th Dec 2000, 18:53

However in April of this year while driving - the engine seemed to disconnect from drive, resulting in high engine RPM for a few seconds, then re-engaging the drive - resulting in a forward lurch. This process repeats at intervals of 10 seconds to one minute. This problem occurs at different intervals and lasts from 1-10 minutes. Sometimes we drive 200 miles without a problem, at other times only a few miles.

Now recurring more frequently, anywhere between 5-50 miles.

Checked transmission fluid - was OK.

Had transmission checked by two different specialists. Found nothing wrong.

Lincoln-Mercury dealer in Menlo Park (Stanford) was unable to fix this problem, since it did not occur while dealer was performing a diagnostic test drive.

Has anyone out there had a similar experience? Any idea what part needs replacement? Did it work?? Please advise.

Ernie

fego@pacbell.net

16th Jan 2001, 16:11

I purchased a 2000 Mystique and it was a mistake. The front brakes completely wore out right at 12,500 miles and I was told that it was my fault. One month later a received a defect letter with the braking system.

I later experienced severe problems accelerating in very cold temperatures and it would even cut off.

To put the icing on the cake, my alternator went out in the middle of the freeway a few days ago on its 1st birthday and I still have yet to solve the fan belt moaning problem.

Though I have a beautiful, decked out, leather and wood grain model, I feel like I a purchased a used vehicle!

24th Apr 2006, 14:00

I am also having a problem with the transmission. When it is cold (and it only does this a couple of times before is runs OK), the transmission down shifts from second to first in such a way that the rpms kick up and it feels like the car is going to take off from under you. I also have taken it two shops without success. I am looking at getting rid of it ASAP.

14th Mar 2013, 18:53

Even though you don't have the car any more, other people that read these could use the help. I twice had replace the neutral safety switch in my Mystique. It had the same symptoms as yours, and that fixed it. The part is under $80, and simple to install if you are mechanically inclined.

1997 Mercury Mystique GS from North America

Year of manufacture1997
First year of ownership1998
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.4 / 10
Distance when acquired28000 miles
Most recent distance100016 miles
Previous carGeneral Motors Tracker

Summary:

A fuel-efficient and reliable car

Faults:

1) When it rains, the A/C refuses to work properly unless it's on MAX.

2) It doesn't accelerate fast enough for me, and driving can get a little scary when merging on the freeway.

General Comments:

Overall, this car has been very reliable considering it already has over 100,000 miles on it. My friend has a 1996 Chevy Lumina and he has gone through 3 alternators, several sets of tires, and 1 transmission. I count myself lucky.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 26th August, 2000

1997 Mercury Mystique GS Unsure from North America

Year of manufacture1997
Engine and transmission Unsure
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.6 / 10

Faults:

No problems. I've had the car 13 months.

However, I tend to have to adjust the front seat more often than normal. The adjustment is in the tilt of the bucket seat -- (forward/backward). After about a week of driving I find the need to re-adjust my upright position.

General Comments:

I am happier then I thought I would be.

I had a 90' Honda Civic which I enjoyed purchased new and had worn out. When I went shopping, I wanted to purchase a larger car, preferably domestic at a comparable price. The car has met my expectations.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 16th June, 1998

Average review marks: 5.7 / 10, based on 22 reviews