1992 Mercury Sable GS 3.0 from North America


A cheap good transporter


Transmission Kicks at 2nd gear and Ignition went bad and jammed key.

General Comments:

This car is a really good car, even though its just my first car. It is very comfortable.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 24th April, 2004

1992 Mercury Sable LS 3.0L V6 from North America


Make Sure You Know What Your Doing


When I first purchased this vehicle, the transmission wouldn't shift up after 1st gear. I have discovered a solution to this problem (thanks to the Internet) and will only cost me about $1 in parts, and an hour of my time. The front end has some damage, the owner before me hit a deer, and the owner before ran into a pole, but should be very easy to fix.

General Comments:

I like this car, and for the low price I bought it for, it was a good fixer upper.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 16th April, 2004

1992 Mercury Sable 3.8 from North America


Piece of junk


My head gasket blew at 90000.

The air was totaly replaced to the tune of $2,500 and it did not work by the end of summer.

The back window leaked and had to be reset.

The you joints needed to be changed at 80000.

My ignition went at 95000 miles.

It's my thought that this car was a money pit. I am surprised that Ford hasn't had or given a recall on this car!

General Comments:

Although the car was great on gas and was very comfortable, the running gear and the electrical have many serious flaws.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 28th February, 2004

30th Dec 2004, 21:20

For one thing, they are called "u-joints". Two, this car does not have any u-joints. CV joints, yes, but no u-joints.

1992 Mercury Sable LX 3.8 V6 from Netherlands


So far really nice


Nothing unusual.

The alarm seems to have his own life from time to time.

General Comments:

I bought the Sable for quite a nice price. Except for normal maintenance it's always running smooth and every time it's really nice driving it. The only bad thing I have so far is the alarm which seems to have his own life. After disconnecting the horn it doesn't bother me or my neighbors.

I think the engine is quite slow. I'm driving on LPG because the price of fuel is quite high here. Maybe that's the reason it's a little slow.

Another bad thing are the standard speakers. The sound is terrible flat. Problem solved with putting a sub woofer in it.

What's really perfect is the suspension. Very comfortable, but very good in sharp turns.

I think the dash looks pretty cheap. A lots of plastic, but that's quite normal for an American car I guess.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 26th December, 2003

1992 Mercury Sable SEDAN Fuel Injected 3.8 from North America


After owning several vehicles, the Mercury Sable 3.8 is the best


Nothing, outside of normal wear.

General Comments:

I always trusted and bought GMC or Chevy vehicles until after I had purchased my Mercury Sable, that I have put several hundred miles on, and didn't have a single problem.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 16th November, 2003

1992 Mercury Sable GS 3.0L from North America


Highly recomended family car


I move up from a 1987 Ford Taurus, to the more luxurious Mercury Sable "GS". I'm am very glad to have my Sable, It has been an excellent car. Acceleration is excellent, and four wheel disk breaks are superior.

I have had very few problems with the car. The cruise control does not work, or the instrument panel lights. I have also had trouble with the airbag light. After reading reviews, I have found this is a very common problem. Something in the wiring.

General Comments:

This car is seriously quick and handles like it's on rails. It is a a high performance bargain. I would recommend a 1992 Mercury Sable GS to a family buyer or a great second car. You will love it!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 27th June, 2002

1992 Mercury Sable LS 3.8L from North America


I have bought another one


Normal repairs since I purchased car.

1. Struts replaced at 120,000

2. Radiator replaced at 132,000

3. Replaced the original serpentine belt

4. Brakes at 138,000

Recall items.

1. Sub-frame bolts

2. Fan switch

3. Engine mounts

General Comments:

For $5000 this was an excellent buy.

Gas mileage for a 3.8L was excellent.

The seats are very comfortable for long road trips.

All items worked in the car except for the power antenna.

The car had excellent ride quality for the size and weight distribution 63/37. Very little body roll while cornering.

I was involved in a collision with another driver and the car protected me and my Mother-in-law from serious injury and that made the decision to buy another one that much easier.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 22nd June, 2001

14th Oct 2003, 12:41

I have another one you can have if you can get it to move...