1992 Mercury Sable Reviews

1992 Mercury Sable GS 3.0L from North America

Model year1992
Year of manufacture1992
First year of ownership1993
Most recent year of ownership2012
Engine and transmission 3.0L Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.6 / 10
Distance when acquired18000 miles
Most recent distance196677 miles

Summary:

Outstanding automobile

Faults:

Had to replace the water pump.

Had to replace the alternator.

Had to replace the center caps 3 times because they got stolen.

Had to replace door handle on the driver's side, because it broke off during the winter.

Had to replace the battery.

General Comments:

This car is fun to drive, I like the way it handles.

The seats are comfortable. I wish it did more than 85 mph, because I like to drive fast.

I bought this car used in 93, and it still runs great. It now has 196,677 kilometers.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 6th April, 2012

8th Apr 2012, 06:17

If your car cannot go faster than 85 mph, there is something wrong with it.

8th Apr 2012, 11:15

No, the top speed is 85 mph on the speedometer. Don't forget, this car is from 1992.

26th Apr 2012, 10:28

I don't quite get why the speedometer is in MPH, but you say it has 196,677 kilometers.

All Canadian cars had a speedo in KM that went up to 200KPH, which is 124MPH.

19th May 2012, 18:24

I guess mine is different.

1992 Mercury Sable 3.0 V6 from North America

Model year1992
Year of manufacture1992
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission 3.0 V6 Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.6 / 10
Distance when acquired180000 miles
Most recent distance220000 miles

Summary:

Full tune ups every year pay off for this car

Faults:

Well not much at all.

Water pump.

Brakes.

Tie rods.

That's it for 180,000 miles.

General Comments:

Well considering it had A LOT of miles, 182,473 to be exact, I guess it had a lot of history.

The guy I bought it from, had it since it was BRAND NEW. He had original title. He told me that he traveled a lot from Kansas to Oklahoma near Texas for 13 years to family reunions, holidays etc. He showed me papers, receipts etc of all the tune ups, oil changes and such he had done.

When I got it for $200, it ran GREAT! Only problems it had that I could not afford to fix are it had a lot of front and rear suspension problems; both front and rear shocks, struts, springs, bearings, etc, but other than it was a good car.

I got to 220,000 miles before the shocks and struts gave out, and the tires would rub on the cover between the engine and tires. I did manage to talk $700 out of the salvage yard for the engine, transmission and other running parts.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 18th September, 2008

19th Sep 2008, 08:35

The Taurus is a good car. My family bought those for years. Never-the-less, I feel sorry for anybody who bought your 220,000 mile engine/transmission from the salvage yard. Although the Taurus engine's are quite durable, that is too many miles for any engine to be worthwhile doing an engine swap with. I would say you were quite lucky getting the amount of money you did for your car.

1992 Mercury Sable 4DR Wagon 3.0 SOHC from North America

Model year1992
Year of manufacture1992
First year of ownership2007
Most recent year of ownership2007
Engine and transmission 3.0 SOHC Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.5 / 10
Distance when acquired138000 miles
Most recent distance143000 miles
Previous carKia Rio

Summary:

Low Care Costs, Reliable and HUGE!

Faults:

Well, few minor Do It Yourself parts have been replaced:

Oil filter.

Air Filter.

Ignition Coil.

Spark Plugs.

Distributor Cap.

Vaccume. Lines.

Valve Cover Gaskets.

Radiator Hoses.

General Comments:

Bought this car from Family for $1,000 Dollars. The member of the family I bought it from bought it for Almost $2,000 dollars and put NO Money into it. This car doesn't Accelerate fast, but has no problems passing cars once around 65 MPH. The car has no limiter on it speed wise and I have wound it up to about 3,700RPM at about 115MPH. Gets decent gas mileage, 15-25. Car needs new CV-Joints because when you turn the wheel and take a corner, they begin to start clicking.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 14th September, 2007

1992 Mercury Sable 3.8L V6 from North America

Model year1992
Year of manufacture1992
First year of ownership1996
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 3.8L V6 Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.8 / 10
Distance when acquired75000 miles
Most recent distance167000 miles

Summary:

Very reliable basic transportation

Faults:

Blown head gasket at 100,000.

AC quit at 120,000.

2 water pumps, last one at 160,000.

CV axle and tie rod ends at 150,000.

Transmission starting to go.

General Comments:

This was the first and only car I've ever owned. I got it when I got my license at 16. The car put up with pretty hard driving and has been extremely reliable. It really only required routine repairs.

I've been expecting the transmission to give it up any day now for about a year. It just keeps running. The only major problem was when the air conditioning died.

The car was bought for $6,000. That got almost 9 years and 100,000 miles of good service. I've definitely been lucky with this car.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 30th December, 2004

Average review marks: 7.0 / 10, based on 24 reviews