1997 Mercury Sable Reviews - Page 5 of 8

1997 Mercury Sable GS 3.0 from North America

Year of manufacture1997
First year of ownership1997
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission 3.0 Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.4 / 10
Distance when acquired30 miles
Most recent distance181275 miles
Previous carMercury Mystique

Faults:

It has been a very good car. I have only had trouble with the rear brakes wearing and warping of front rotors.

Engine, transmission are original, only serviced as needed.

I did have to have the oil pan gasket changed early on, bit other than that and O2 sensors, no problems.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 25th August, 2006

1997 Mercury Sable from North America

Model year1997
Year of manufacture1997
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 2 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 2 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.8 / 10
Distance when acquired15000 miles
Most recent distance165000 miles

Faults:

Good car except for an overheating problem. The car has had no heat for the past 2 years. Took it to Ford dealer and spent close to $4000 and that was a total waste of money. I just pulled the water pump myself and found the impellers had disintegrated.

So, no coolant was moving through the engine whatsoever. The engine overheated last week when the temperature hit 96 degrees. Ford dealer replaced the heater core, thermostat, heater hoses, flushed the system etc. and still no heat. I installed a new water pump and the engine runs as good as new. I took pictures of the worn impellers vs the new water pump I installed. If you find yourself reading this review and want a picture of what I found, email me at

rebos15@yahoo.com BEFORE you replace the heater core, the thermostat, the heater hoses etc. It was a $75 fix and about 5 hours time to R&R the water pump.

General Comments:

This has been an issue free car since my wife has owned it. High miles now and it still is a good running car. It should make 300,000 with ease!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 4th June, 2006

28th Oct 2007, 13:03

I just fixed an overheating problem on my 1996 Mercury Sable wagon. The mechanic that I took the car to first thought it was a stuck thermostat. When the car still overheated after the thermostat and the coolant had been replaced, he said it was either the radiator or the water pump. Since it is much easier on that car to replace the water pump rather than the radiator (you have to remove the front bumper, headlights etc.) he worked on the pump, and he found that the plastic(!!) blades were shattered. The replacement pump has metal blades, and so far works fine; the overheating problem is gone. Repair cost: $450 + tax.

28th Nov 2007, 17:58

My automatic parking light won't turn off, anyone else have this problem? I had the dome light problem too, but just took out the bulb. Very frustrating; I have to disconnect the battery when I get out of the car...

Tonya

shutterboo@hotmail.com

1997 Mercury Sable LS Premier Edition from North America

Model year1997
Year of manufacture1997
First year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission Premier Edition Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.4 / 10
Distance when acquired103000 miles
Most recent distance106000 miles
Previous carJeep Grand Cherokee

Summary:

A best buy!

Faults:

Nothing has gone wrong with my baby.

General Comments:

I love this Car!!! it was built way ahead of its time. The features on the premier edition are very luxurious. Chrome rims, automatic lighting, etc. I find new features on the thing every day! It is a very nice car for a cheap price and it stands just as tall as the Lincoln LS or any other luxury sedan. It fits right in with the cars of 2000 and later models. I bought it at 103,000 miles and it runs as if its at 20,000 miles. Under the hood looks like a brand new car. It even still has the factory scent!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 16th April, 2006

1997 Mercury Sable GS 3.0 Liter V6 from North America

Model year1997
Year of manufacture1997
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission 3.0 Liter V6 Automatic
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 4 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.3 / 10
Distance when acquired93000 miles
Most recent distance97500 miles
Previous carOldsmobile Cutlass

Summary:

The Mercury Sable is a MONEY PIT, buy a Toyota or Honda to get reliability

Faults:

Failure of ECG Valve @ 95000 causing random acceleration.

Hard Shifting @ 95000.

Two faulty transmission gaskets causing leakage @ 95000

Door panel clips constantly break, a constant annoyance.

Rough starts with what sounds like metal clinking together.

Cold weather wining emited from the engine, pinched vacuum line? Problem still unknown.

New tires at 97000.

Power steering pump is wearing out at 97500.

Horrible gas mileage, I can barely manage getting 16 in the city, and about 21 highway. (my mother's 1995 Crown Vic does better 19/32)

General Comments:

The car was bought January 28 2005 with 93000 on the odometer. It was meant to be my first car. It had all the options including the ever popular items such as power sunroof, leather seats, cd changer, pwr windows, pwr locks, key-less entry, pwr seats, etc. It's a decent looking car, kinda Granny style, but it's okay.

The car sucks when it comes to winter driving. The car is the wrong size to not have standard Traction Conrol and ABS.

The 3.0 liter V6 is a joke, 0-60 in 10 seconds, and sub-par gas mileage. The only perk other than the options is the insurance. Men age 16 have the highest insurance, with a 4.0 GPA my insurance is still 1000 a year.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 12th February, 2006

14th Feb 2006, 16:32

I wrote the review and I forgot to mention that it also burns radiator fluid. After it is changed it is a matter of days before the fluid smells burnt and turns a brownish color. I guessing it will start over heating soon. It also will drip radiator fluid when I park, one leak comes from the fill canister and the other leak is from the overflow hose.

Average review marks: 6.9 / 10, based on 28 reviews