1995 Mitsubishi Eclipse 2.0L DOHC from North America

Summary:

Change that timing belt on time or else

Faults:

The car has not really had a lot of issues, except I never changed the timing belt and the engine is an interference one; I learned my lesson the first time, and have always changed it on time after this incident took place at 143,000 miles. Had to buy a whole new motor. Cost like $5,000.

General Comments:

This is not a bad car, it is really fast and handles really well.

The only problem is you have to keep up on that timing belt or else you will just destroy the motor.

I have spent a lot of money on this car, so it is now worth way more than what it is worth to me, so I am going to keep it until it completely falls apart. I have already put a brand new engine in, so it is stuck with me.

The car is also economical, and there is never a dull moment when driving it.

I will never buy another car from Mitsubishi though. This is my only one.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 11th February, 2014

1995 Mitsubishi Eclipse from North America

Summary:

A great, quick car, but crappy reliability

Faults:

Hmmm. Let's see. Well I bought the car about a month or two ago. It ran great until about 3 weeks ago. It started to stall out when I had been running for about 20 minutes. At first I thought I was the fuel pump. Turned out to be cam and crank shaft sensors.

Then a bushing in the tie rod was going out.

Tires wore super fast, dash lights were out.

Leaky sunroof.

Oh, and it would sometimes drop out of gear for no reason. Like I would stop at a stoplight, and when it turned green, took off, was in the middle of the intersection, and it acted like it was in neutral out of nowhere.

The 1995 Mitsubishi Eclipse is a great car indeed, but it just has too many problems for me. I'm sixteen years old without a job, and with all these overwhelming problems, I can't take it. I have enough stress already. I thank it's time to let her go.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 20th October, 2010

20th Oct 2010, 13:16

173,000 miles, you just bought it and you are ripping it for quality? Do you have a comprehensive service history on this car? A lot can happen in this many miles. Bashing the car based on this example is not an accurate measure of Mitsubishi overall.

Also, how do you know how the tires wore?

1995 Mitsubishi Eclipse GS 2.0 DOHC from North America

Summary:

The best car in the world

Faults:

I have had almost no problem with my car. All I had to do is put in new spark plug wires and a new ball joint.

General Comments:

This car is sooo fast for what it is, I just love to go by Corvettes and Mustangs just for fun.

The back seat is a little small, but it's worth it.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 6th March, 2009

6th Dec 2012, 13:38

Great that you are having good luck with the Eclipse, but come on... the only reason you are passing Corvettes is that they don't know / or care that YOU are racing them!

1995 Mitsubishi Eclipse rs 2.0 n/a from North America

Summary:

Perfect for the money

Faults:

Nothing no problems ran perfect no break downs.

General Comments:

And I would recommend this car to any one that wants a sporty yet efficient sports car (we averaged 32mpg)

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 27th July, 2008

1995 Mitsubishi Eclipse GST 2.0 turbo from North America

Summary:

Great little pocket rocket, and still great mpg

Faults:

Harmonic balancer within 1 year of purchase

A/C leak after about 5 years

Windshield fluid nozzle broke off

Sun roof leaks if car is parked outside in heavy rain

Snapped passenger side CV shaft at 112k

General Comments:

I have had this almost since new. The previous owner traded it in for a A8. All in all this car has been great.

The mileage is very good. Stock the hp was 210 with 183 at the wheels. Since I bought it I've modified the car to run 320hp with 250 at the wheels (20psi boost). Mileage was not affected.

The car goes great in rain and wind, did OK in light snow til I lowered it. Keep up on the regular maintenance and it seems to last forever. Only rust on whole car is under rear bumper.

I do agree with another posting that a limited slip differential would be an excellent idea.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 30th May, 2008