1995 Mitsubishi Eclipse Reviews - Page 4 of 6

1995 Mitsubishi Eclipse GSX 4G63 2.0 I-4 from North America

Year of manufacture1995
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 4G63 2.0 I-4 Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 2 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 3 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.5 / 10
Distance when acquired117000 miles
Most recent distance120000 miles
Previous carHonda Prelude

Summary:

A screaming little sleeper, better get AAA just in case

Faults:

My power steering belt snapped at 117,500 miles.

My ignition module melted at 118,000 miles.

Steering knuckle broke at 119,000 miles.

Balancing shaft belt broke at 119,800 miles, taking the crank shaft position sensor with it.

As of yesterday (6-26-04) it is in-op again from unknown engine problem.

General Comments:

This car is extremely fast and handles like a dream, but so far I have spent more on fixing it than the price of the car ($3,000).

My friend that I bought it from had just put $5,000 into the engine rebuild and new turbo.

Why keep this money pit around? I just love humiliating rich yuppie in the Z06 Corvette, Porsche 911, and the "almighty" Saleen Mustang.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 27th June, 2004

27th Jun 2004, 14:05

I doubt you 'humiliate' anyone by racing them in your beater. Even if you do manage to edge by a Z06 or 911, in the end, they're driving Z06's and 911's, and you're still driving a p.o.s. DSM.

27th Jun 2004, 15:45

Darling,

I have more problems with my eclipse than anybody on this site. So I know everything you are talking about. But no eclipse can beat a porsche or a mustang. Your racing buddies probably couldn't drive their vechile's like they should have.

1995 Mitsubishi Eclipse GS-T 2.0 turbo from North America

Year of manufacture1995
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 2.0 turbo Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.0 / 10
Distance when acquired80000 miles
Most recent distance150000 miles
Previous carHonda Prelude

Summary:

The only way to describe this car is imagine what it would be like with Sonic the Hedgehog as a car

Faults:

I have had to replace the water pump after 150k miles.

Had to replace the timing belt due to garage incompetance.

Had to replace the head due to garage incompetance.

General Comments:

This car has unbelievable power.

I have only had one car that could compete with the way this car handles and that was a Prelude Si. However, the prelude didn't have the same kind of power.

I recommend the 2nd generation to anyone I meet who is looking for a car that has raw power and a stock suspension that can handle it. The 3rd generation is no competition.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 13th April, 2004

9th Nov 2005, 11:53

I have had my GST for 6 years and I can't beleive the horse power!

1995 Mitsubishi Eclipse GS from North America

Year of manufacture1995
First year of ownership1996
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 4 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.2 / 10
Distance when acquired14000 miles
Most recent distance101500 miles
Previous carMazda MX6

Summary:

This car is nothing but cheap parts assembled in a shoddy manner.

Faults:

My driver's side door handle has broken off twice now in cold weather.

I've had two wheel bearings replaced (under warranty).

The paint on my outside mirrors literally blew off while washing my car.

General Comments:

The car has a decent engine which is fairly reliable.

There are some major design problems with the interior and exterior.

There is no interior room, no matter how tall or short you are.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 29th January, 2004

11th May 2005, 20:25

There is no way that is a bad car it works like a charm and I would have nothing else. I am 6 2 and easily have room to drive.

1995 Mitsubishi Eclipse GSX 2.0 liter 4 cylinder turbo from North America

Year of manufacture1995
First year of ownership1998
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 2.0 liter 4 cylinder turbo Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 2 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.4 / 10
Distance when acquired30000 miles
Most recent distance79500 miles
Previous carToyota Supra

Summary:

An understatement

Faults:

We bought an extended warranty because we had heard there were problems with the 95' model. It was a total waste of money! Aside from tune-ups, oil changes, and gas the car didn't cost us a cent!! And believe me, I may not be an 18 year old "boy racer", but the car was definitely put through its' paces. Even my Fiance hot rodded it quite a bit! She loved it almost as much as I did.

The only problem I can think of is that when we bought it, the drivers headlight was a little fogged up (condensation inside). But it wasn't worth the money to fix it and it didn't effect the headlight. I did see quite a few other eclipse and talons with the same problem.

General Comments:

The only competition for this car was BMW, Porsche, and Audi until Subaru came out with the WRX. The European cars cost, at the least 2.5 times as much, and only Porsche was better performance wise. And none can compare in reliability. The WRX is a great car, but lets face it, it's really ugly. I can't even get my Fiance to look at one. The Eclipse GSX is one of the best sports cars ever made period. It is so expandable all you have to do is add a good performance chip and with no other modifications to suspension or steering or anything else, you a 300+ HP high performance race car. Literally. I've seen it done, that is why I bought mine. What other car can you do that to and still afford to eat and not have to live with your parents?

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 19th February, 2003

28th May 2003, 03:02

I am looking at a 1995 GS-T and on a review above (I'm not sure which one) it says you can get them up to 250 hp or so for only a couple hundred bucks. Is this true and if so how? Please e-mail me with any info. Thanks. mhscms600@hotmail.com.

Average review marks: 6.7 / 10, based on 26 reviews