2000 Mitsubishi Eclipse GS 2.4 liter gasoline from North America


Chick Magnet!


The sunroof lags occasionally when opening.

Steering wheels shake at high speeds (like most front wheel drives).

There is a little understeer due to the front wheel drive along with a large amount of body roll.

Bolts on wheels are hard to take off (need an impact drill).

There is an insufficient amount of stock power (I was beat by a stock 1994 Accord that had recently been in a wreck).

Spring on clutch pedal is noisy.

Fumes come into the car through the vents that smell like fish.

Trunk release lever does not always work.

Lines on doors are annoying and ugly.

Because of single overhead cam at high rpm's engine begins to smell.

General Comments:

Car has a good balance of power and performance for the price.

There are many aftermarket parts to remedy the power problem (for $3000 a turbo kit can make it faster than a Camaro SS).

More space than most sport coupes.

User friendly controls and easy maintenance. The engine's components are easy to get to.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 2nd November, 2002

2nd Oct 2004, 18:42

Hmm... http://consumerguideauto.howstuffworks.com/ LOL, look at Honda Accord, they didn't make a V6 in 1994, introduced in 1995 for the first time, oh well that's surprising... good luck in the future though.

26th Apr 2005, 17:00

Your "bad fish smell" is due to leaking capacitors in the ECU. GET IT REPLACED or have your ECU fixed. doesn't cost much.

19th Sep 2005, 17:16

Hey where can you find that turbo kit for a 2.4 liter eclipse?

7th Oct 2005, 09:56

That'll be the day when a 2.4 eclipse is faster than a Camaro SS even with a turbo. Even if you could match the power of the SS, which you couldn't with just a turbo, you'd never get the wheels to stop spinning and the torque steer would have you upside down in the ditch before you knew what hit you. I had a 2000 GT and the torque steer was pretty bad on it with just 200 HP. There are a lot of reviews on here making some pretty steep claims with no knowledge to back them up. "I've beat corvettes with my Cavalier with a cold air intake and 50's on the front" and that sort of thing. I wish people would use this site for what it is intended for... to review cars that they are actually driving and in REAL WORLD scenarios... not pipe dreams.

2000 Mitsubishi Eclipse GT from North America


Sporty, fun, and reliable


Windows don't seal properly.

Seal around windshield coming off.

Difficult to get gear shift back into first.

Excessive amount of door dings and paint chips.

CD player not working after only 10 months of use.

Not a quiet ride.

General Comments:

This car is fun to drive and I get many compliments about it.

Very comfortable interior. Everything within reach.

Very reliable.

Good gas mileage.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 6th October, 2002

2000 Mitsubishi Eclipse GT 3.0 V6 from North America


Good performance, poor engineering


A loose hose clamp caused a coolant leak, but it did not leave me stranded.

General Comments:

The engine is strong and provides good acceleration and shifting is nearly effortless (except in cold weather).

The interior feels cheaply made, the dash rattles, the glove-box squeaks, the rear deck-lid vibrates... Nothing really broken, but all of the little noises do get annoying on long drives.

Visibility is simply horrible. The pillars are large and in just the wrong places.. The spoiler blocks half of your already tiny rear-viewing area, backing up is not fun in crowded parking lots.

The steering felt loose at high speeds, road feedback was minimal. The car doesn't have the precision steering I have become used to from my Hondas.

Also, the turning radius is huge, it feels like you're trying to park a Buick.

Despite the loose handling on the highway, the car corners on a dime. The wheels simply won't let go of the road.

If you are shopping for a sports coupe, test drive a Celica or RSX before deciding on an Eclipse. They perform well, but they feel like they were slapped together from random parts.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 3rd June, 2002

19th Feb 2004, 22:23

I am overall pleased with my 01 GT. To make the backing up and reversing easier to see I took my spoiler off. It looks much better and it isn't a race car so it won't really work. I have not had any problems with the interior though. The 4 wheel disc will not stop me at high speed or when they are simply hot. Bad breaks. The turning radius is more like parking a Frieghtligner. The car handles way to good on those dodging animal heart pounders. It scares me. Tires will not spin any except first gear, which is good. I am very pleased with it I would recommend a Celica GTS also. I work at Cherokee County Toyota.