2000 Mitsubishi Eclipse Reviews - Page 14 of 14

2000 Mitsubishi Eclipse RS 2.4 from North America

Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 2.4 Manual
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.2 / 10
Distance when acquired321 miles
Most recent distance16400 miles
Previous carEagle Talon

Summary:

OK to drive. Cheap to live with

Faults:

Air leaks in the windowa.

General Comments:

Good car. Loved the 93 Eagle Talon I had previously.

Decided to buy 2000 Eclipse.

It's a little loose on the handling, but very cheap to operate daily.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 11th May, 2001

2000 Mitsubishi Eclipse GT 3.0 from North America

Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 3.0 Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.3 / 10
Distance when acquired70 miles
Most recent distance13800 miles
Previous carMazda MX3

Summary:

This car packs a punch for its low price

Faults:

I haven't had any problems yet. After adding a cold air intake, the idle sometimes seems to be erratic at times.

I could have possibly squished the throttle cable, but I'm gonna have it looked at soon.

General Comments:

I'm currently living in Kaiserslautern, Germany at Ramstein AFB and have had a blast with this car on the autobahn.

At 150mph I still have 750rpm to go. Who would of thought?

I have added a Injen cold air intake and Greddy exhaust.

Sometimes road noise can get loud, but the factory stereo is just loud enough to overpower.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 16th April, 2001

9th Mar 2004, 13:39

I just bought a 2000 eclipse GT and I have already fallen in love. The car performs great, but the resale value is not so good. My only complaint so far is the visibiliy. The back window is almost imposible to see out of. Other than that the car is fast and looks great.

2000 Mitsubishi Eclipse GT 2.0 V6 from North America

Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 2.0 V6 Semi-Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.6 / 10
Distance when acquired6 miles
Most recent distance8000 miles
Previous carVolvo 240

Summary:

Great car. No problems yet

Faults:

Nothing yet.

General Comments:

Great car. No problems yet. 4 CD changer and audio system kick ass. 200 HP is all I need.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 31st January, 2001

2000 Mitsubishi Eclipse GS 2.4 L SOHC from North America

Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 2.4 L SOHC Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 4 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.2 / 10
Distance when acquired5 miles
Most recent distance6300 miles
Previous carMitsubishi Eclipse

Summary:

A big handling disappointment compared to the previous generation models

Faults:

Climate control unit damaged - replaced twice by dealer.

Passenger window not properly installed at the factory - dealer adjusted twice.

Front and rear covers are poorly color-matched to the body.

Side windows remain wet for 3 days after washing/rain.

General Comments:

Handling suffers from terrible oversteer.

Suspension is tuned too soft on all models. Too much body-roll. Centre of gravity is too high.

Seating position should be lower and the seat cushion more inclined.

Instrument cluster is cheap and difficult to read.

Interior styling is modern and convenient.

A lot of amenities come standard on the GS model.

One-touch power sunroof is very nice.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 31st January, 2001

2nd May 2001, 18:20

Just a few things I learned when I was shopping for my Eclipse. I drove a GS model, and then a GT, and the performance went up considerably with the GT package. The suspension is also totally different in the GT. I'm also not sure about whether or not your driver's seat is power, but mine is, and it adjusts in the ways you are talking about.

15th May 2001, 12:56

I agree, and wish I had included it on my survey. The body roll is horrible! I'm thinking about going with some aftermarket sway bars, I'll reply if it goes well. The suspension on my GT is MUCH to plush for a sports car. You can learn to drive around it, but that's not really exceptable for a high performance car. I've almost lost the rear end sliding through turns it rolls so much, you're forced to set up for turns by compressing the suspension. Don't know if the other reply is right, but if the GT is better than the others as far as body roll, I feel for you man!

Rob.

28th Feb 2006, 23:56

Lol high performance sports car... we are talking about an eclipse, not a viper

1st Mar 2006, 17:04

If you have such body roll, it probably means your suspension or struts are shot and can't keep the body roll in check. I honestly can't see how body roll on such a small low car could be so bad.

My 03 f150 supercab...

That's a different story...

2000 Mitsubishi Eclipse GT V-6 from North America

Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission V-6 Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.6 / 10
Distance when acquired11 miles
Most recent distance12600 miles
Previous carNissan Pathfinder SE

Faults:

The car has window noises, just before the window seals it makes a noise. This occurs only at freezing point air temperature.

General Comments:

The car has good performance, sleek looks, general comfort and decent mpg.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 10th December, 2000

2000 Mitsubishi Eclipse GT 3.0 V6 from North America

Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 3.0 V6 Manual
Performance marks 0 / 10
Reliability marks 0 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 0 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
2.6 / 10
Distance when acquired29 miles
Most recent distance147 miles
Previous carFord Escort ZX2

Summary:

Mitsucrappy!

Faults:

After owning the car for less than 48 hours and driving it 147 miles, SMOKE WAS COMING FROM MY ENGINE. I immediately took the car in for repairs, but after five days I still have not got it back! It appears that the engine had defective front and rear main seals that allowed gear oil to enter the main engine housing. The engine has been taken apart and rebuilt before its first fill up.

When I requested a new fully operational car, I was informed that it is not Mitsubishi's policy to give customers what they purchase (i.e. a WORKING CAR!)

General Comments:

I have owned three cars in my life:

1. 1984 Mazda 626 (bought used in 1993)

2. 1986 VW Rabbit (bought used in 1996)

3. 1998 Ford Escort ZX2 (bought in 1998)

I drove each car for more than 30,000 miles, without one instance of a smoking engine or TWO REPAIRS! Mitsubishi make defective cars!!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 29th September, 2000

31st Jan 2001, 00:25

Every car company produces a few lemons. Do not think that this is common thing for Mitsubishi cars because it isn't.

31st Jan 2001, 04:34

Sounds like you got a crappy dealer. You should have got a different car. I hope that this has been resolved. I didn't even get mine from a dealership, and they have been more than gracious.

2000 Mitsubishi Eclipse GT 3.0 V6 24 valve from Japan

Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 3.0 V6 24 valve Semi-Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.8 / 10
Distance when acquired45 miles
Most recent distance4450 miles
Previous carFord Bronco

Summary:

Performance and awesome looks at a reaonable price

Faults:

Small tapping sound from the headliner, from a loose clip from wires for the power sunroof. Easily taken care of right away at the dealer.

General Comments:

A real blast to drive. A real head turner. Awesome exhaust note when getting on it. Fairly impressive off the line. Handling at high speed(100) plus is very impressive. I've done 125+ and it was as stable as going 65. You really have to watch the speedo, you do not realize how fast you are going as it is that stable at high speeds. A 7 speaker Infinity stereo only adds to the appeal of this car.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 16th July, 2000

9th Jan 2001, 17:22

Totally agree with you. I just did a Austin-Dallas-Austin trip in my 2001 Eclipse GT manual. The mileage was an amazing 30+ and the car handled very well. Very stable and a comfortable drive.

17th Jan 2001, 21:48

I recently drove to Tucson Arizona in my 2000 GT. I found it to be comfortable and very quick. I was doing a speed of 140+, it will do it.

2000 Mitsubishi Eclipse GT 3.0 V6 from North America

Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 3.0 V6 Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.6 / 10
Distance when acquired132 miles
Most recent distance600 miles
Previous carNissan 280ZX

Summary:

Strikingly good looks and great performance at a reasonable price

Faults:

Have only had the car 3 weeks. But, it's been a real kick. The sporttronic is a lot of fun. It rides beautifully. Having had a powerful turbo, I prefer the normally aspirated engine. It's more responsive although a little slower to 60 and the 1/4 mile.

Nothing has gone wrong!!!!!

General Comments:

I get stares wherever I go.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 19th April, 2000

17th Jun 2001, 20:39

I have had my 2000 GT for a month now and have been really impressed. Engine power is well suited for the weight of the car and the exhaust note is a sweet purr. Great fun to value ratio.

Average review marks: 7.2 / 10, based on 54 reviews