2001 Mitsubishi Galant V6 from North America


A bargain car that has caused too many headaches


Two months after having the car I began to have air conditioning problems. After riding in the car for several hours it stops blowing cold air (in Louisiana at summer time this can be hot!). A year and a half later and seven times in the shop it continues. The manufacturer tells me that they cannot replace the car because the air conditioner is not a safety feature. They have only attempted to "repair" it and have never even offered to replace the air conditioner.

General Comments:

It rides smoother than my previous Honda and handles well on the road. I like the features that come with it without the raised price. l.

The lumbar support in the driver's seat is great for people with back problems.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 19th September, 2002

25th Feb 2003, 20:40

I wouldn't be complaining if the ac was the only thing wrong with my car. At least it goes into drive!!! Roll down the windows.

14th Jan 2007, 14:34

A/c is a must for many medically challenged drivers in louisiana. it gets very hot down here!!

29th Jan 2008, 08:14

I have to agree with the owner. A/C is a requirement in Louisiana I've had the same problem with my galant... But that's not the only problems I've had with mine .. So trust there's more problems to come

14th Nov 2008, 21:26

I have had my 01 ES Galant for about 130.000 miles now, with no problems what so ever just normal maintenance. Probably the best car I have ever owned.

30th Mar 2009, 21:21

I owned a 1998 MF and it was the best car I've owned so far, I'm actually looking forward to buying a Galant; great cars, great engines, excellent comfort, and the model sold in my country, Venezuela, has a better look than the U.S. models.

2001 Mitsubishi Galant ES from North America


Saftey and performance for a great price

General Comments:

The Galant handles well on the highway and in the city.

Unfortunately it was not designed with enough room for a family.

The back seat has very little leg room.

Great gas mileage.

My Galant was recently in a accident, the vehicle is now totaled. It took a head on impact to a parked car at over 70mph and both driver and passanger walked away with out injury. The inside of the galant was not damaged at all. This car saved the life of two foolish people.

Saftey and fuel economy are important in a car, this car passes both tests with flying colors.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 25th August, 2002

2001 Mitsubishi Galant ES 4-cylinder from North America


Excellent ride!


Nothing is wrong with the car so far. It's been pretty reliable to me. No breakdown, no leaks, no unusual noise.

General Comments:

It's a fun, great car to drive with. I do want to make a few after-market mods to it like intake, exhaust, rims and wheels.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 2nd November, 2001