1994 Mitsubishi Magna Reviews - Page 4 of 4

1994 Mitsubishi Magna SE 2.6 Litre from Australia and New Zealand

Year of manufacture1994
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 2.6 Litre Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10
Distance when acquired143000 kilometres
Most recent distance145000 kilometres
Previous carMitsubishi Magna

Summary:

Please Consider!!!

Faults:

Nothing (yet)

General Comments:

I must say, getting out of a TP Magna, and into one of these, would be like getting out of a BI-plane, and into a Concorde.

Vastly superior vehicle.

Better everything, absolute value for money.

EF Falcon and VP Commodore -streets behind.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 3rd February, 2003

1994 Mitsubishi Magna TS 3.0 V6 from Australia and New Zealand

Year of manufacture1994
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 3.0 V6 Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.8 / 10
Distance when acquired78000 kilometres
Most recent distance92000 kilometres
Previous carToyota Camry

Summary:

Well priced comfortable car with lots of grunt

Faults:

Nothing has gone wrong with the car, although muffler replaced as it was still the original.

General Comments:

Comfortable ride.

Don't like front wheel drive.

136 Kilowatts of power is plenty.

It's fast, but doesn't handle well as it rolls around corners at high speed.

Manuals are a must in this type of car.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 19th January, 2003

1994 Mitsubishi Magna TS Executive 3.0L V6 from Australia and New Zealand

Year of manufacture1994
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 3.0L V6 Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.7 / 10
Distance when acquired78000 kilometres
Most recent distance80000 kilometres
Previous carToyota Camry

Summary:

A comfortable car with a plenty of power under the bonnet

Faults:

Nothing has gone wrong with the car, as I have only had it for a couple of weeks. Fingers crossed though.

General Comments:

V6 is good. Manual is even better.

Runs extremely well. high torque at low revs is excellent. gives it plenty of drive. Extremely comfortable. Very nice body shape.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 11th September, 2002

1994 Mitsubishi Magna Executive 2.6 EFI from Australia and New Zealand

Year of manufacture1994
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 2.6 EFI Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 4 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.4 / 10
Distance when acquired107000 kilometres
Most recent distance119000 kilometres
Previous carFord Laser

Summary:

Extremely comfortable and reliable, maybe a bit on the uneconomical side

Faults:

Nothing has ever gone wrong with the car yet (touch wood). Although I have not had it all that long. It does need regular servicing otherwise the Magna does not drive economically. (The figure I entered for running costs is a worst case scenario). Also I have a manual transmission and my driving may not be condusive to economical fuel useage.

General Comments:

I have heard many people comment that the 2.6l 4 cylinder engine model Magna does not have enough grunt for the size of the vehicle. Although I have not driven the 3l V6 model, so I have nothing to compare to, I have found that the 2.6l model has plenty of power both for highway and city driving. Another factor affecting my view on performance is that my previous car was an 82 Ford Laser with a 1.3l engine (very weak!). The interior is extremely comfortable and looks good too.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 22nd August, 2002

30th May 2003, 01:46

Just wait till you have over 180K on the clock and be prepared for the oil smoke!!! the engine also starts to feel a bit tired after that many K's as well. Look on the road around you for other Magna that have the 2.6 in them and see of they smoke. because my mum's dose and many others I have seen on the road do as well. also don't for get to check and have the belts changed when you get over 180k on the clock.

1994 Mitsubishi Magna SE V6 3L V6 from Australia and New Zealand

Year of manufacture1994
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 3L V6 Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.0 / 10
Distance when acquired95000 kilometres
Most recent distance136000 kilometres
Previous carHolden Commodore

Summary:

Great engine, extremely well made car

Faults:

Brake discs have required machining 3 times in the past few years. Next time I'll just take it to a brakes specialist rather than local Mitsubishi service centre and get decent quality work done.

Generally very reliable, it has just had little niggling things like the automatic transmission being quite rough. It required a new idle stepper motor AU$290.

General Comments:

Fantastic engine, very smooth and refined. When run on 95 Octane petrol rather than the regular 91 octane petrol there is a noticable increase in low rpm torque. The handbook says with the Premium petrol it gets another 4kw and 9nm more torque. Max torque lowers from 4000rpm to 3000rpm while running on this petrol also. It could do with more power though.

Automatic gearbox only average, although we've had none of the problems associated with earlier Magnas.

It is very sensitive too bad tyres. It came on Dunlop Monza 200's, which gave it very vague steering, steering vibrations and poor handling. Lift off oversteer with these tyres cause the rear end to step out frequently if driven enthusiastically. We replaced them with decent quality Bridgestone (keeping with the same 205/65 R15 size) and all those problems have gone away. In fact, steering now feels far more substancial.

The car feels extremely well made. As it is the SE model it has a velour interior, lots of little reading lights and door lights, everything is electric, cruise, ABS etc. Very solid feel, better than an aunts 1995 BMW 318i for sure in terms of bank vault feeling body.

Seats in the front are quite firm, although they are supportive and very adjustable, and have adjustable lumber support for both front seats. Rear seats are extremely comfortable, they also have adjustable headrests and a large centre armest in the rear as well.

Handling quite reasonable for a FWD family sedan, although its steering is too light (for me), the turning circle is quite wide and it generally lacks in communication. It is not for the enthusiast driver if you want fun in the corners, although it is definitely more than adequate. It feels a lot more planted to the road than an equivalant year Toyota Camry.

So all up, a very nice solid family car with a beautiful engine, comfortable ride, high quality interior and good levels of luxury. It has a nice look, and in SE form with its colour coded bumpers and mirrors, still looks like a new car.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 20th July, 2002

12th Apr 2003, 07:12

I found the information usefull.

I would like to see more input from Magna owners.

It is very difficult to find any information on the net about Magnas.

I am about to buy a TS 1994 Magna Advance V6 Wagon.

After using the vehicle for a while I will add my comments to this website.

Submitted 12th April 2003.

Average review marks: 7.1 / 10, based on 16 reviews