1992 Nissan 100NX Reviews - Page 2 of 6

1992 Nissan 100NX 1.6 petrol from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1992
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 1.6 petrol Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10
Distance when acquired88000 miles
Most recent distance115000 miles
Previous carSuzuki Swift

Summary:

A very reliable, fun, little sporty car

Faults:

The air recirculation switch got stuck immediately after I bought the car, a common fault with the 100NX. I didn't consider it a big enough deal to warrant a repair.

The alternator burned out at 100,000 miles due to a small engine coolant leak (coolant leaked inside). Cost ~100 euro to fix.

General Comments:

This is an extremely reliable car.

Mine was relatively well maintained and it works like a Swiss clock. A 100 euro repair in three years is a very good track record. The emissions are better - for an 11 year old car - than many brand new cars.

It's fairly quick, although not a true sports car, and handles very well.

The T-top is well designed and fun to use in the summer. It's also very comfortable for the driver and front passenger, but very cramped in the back.

Since mine is not a Japanese import, the major things missing are the air conditioning and electric windows. Also, ABS would had been very helpful as the brakes are relatively easy to lock.

The only significant design flaw in the car is the relatively poor turning angle, which is unusual for Japanese cars.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 2nd December, 2003

1992 Nissan 100NX 1.6 from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1992
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 1.6 Automatic
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.8 / 10
Distance when acquired99000 miles
Most recent distance115000 miles
Previous carNissan 200SX

Summary:

Cheap, open top fun

Faults:

Starter motor - May 2003.

Battery - August 2003.

General Comments:

This is a great small coupe with the added bonus of a removable roof.

The car is easy to live with and great fun.

The carburettor model tends to suffer from stuttering problems, so I would suggest you buy a new fuel injected model. My carb model does 25mpg around town, it is an automatic, but this is still not good!!

The 100NX's ride is firm, and it can be bumpy at times, although it does go round corners quite nicely.

The rear seats are fine for children up to the age of 7 or 8 years old. But older children and adults would be uncomfortable on long journeys.

This car is very reliable (being Japanese), and I would recommend you buy one.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 4th September, 2003

1992 Nissan 100NX 2.0 Twin Cam 16 V from Portugal

Year of manufacture1992
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 2.0 Twin Cam 16 V Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.3 / 10
Distance when acquired81235 kilometres
Most recent distance84639 kilometres
Previous carCitroen AX

Summary:

It's a bird?!!! It's a plane?!!! No... It's a supersonic, super griped, super handeled 100NX

Faults:

The left roof seams to take off, above 190 Km/h.

Any conversation, above 160 Km/h is permitted only by smoke signs.

General Comments:

What a superb car!!!

Almost perfect.

Beautiful lines, sensational grip, powerful engine (what?!!! only 143 Power Horses), great break system, in spit of a second generatio ABS.

However it's hard to find the best driving position.

... And I can't find tires with the original measures: 195/55 R14!!!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 3rd September, 2003

8th Jun 2004, 23:47

Fit some 205/40/17s I did thay are great.

1992 Nissan 100NX 1.6 from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1992
First year of ownership1992
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 1.6 Manual
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance220191 miles
Previous carRover - Austin 800

Summary:

Great value - unusual everyday car

Faults:

Carburetor flat spot - cured by opening out the main jet with a wire.

Clutch changed at 135,000 miles.

Alternator failed at 205,000 miles.

Elected to renew brake rotors at 150,000 miles.

Usual problems with bent aerial, broken parcle shelf fastenings and stuck air recirculation lever - but all fixable.

Er... that's it.

General Comments:

This has been an absolutely brilliant car which I have owned from new.

The secret is regular main dealer servicing of course.

I cannot see why it will not still be with me in another 10 years with 400,000 on the clock.

Still a modern looking car.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 26th April, 2003

26th Apr 2003, 08:27

Just on the sticking air flap problem. This is due to the rubber seal around the flap perishing and becoming slightly sticky and it just welds itself to the air box. You need to remove the fan unit (behind the glove box) but you'll need to remove the whole dash to do it. Its not difficult - just Phillips screws, but you need to take the steering wheel off too so need a socket for that. A couple of hours on a Saturday should do it. Then just spray the rubber seal with some silicon tyre/dash polish.

1992 Nissan 100NX 16v 1.6 from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1992
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 1.6 Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10
Distance when acquired112000 miles
Most recent distance113500 miles

Summary:

Takes a better corner than David Beckham..

Faults:

Inherited the faulty circulation switch - so at least it didn't break on me!

Interior bulb seems to have gone so its dark getting into it at night - I really must get that fixed!

General Comments:

Only had the car a few months, but so far it has more than met my expectations.

It looks really good, particularly when you consider its age and looks better than many newer coupes - styling before its time!

It seems plenty fast enough to me - it is only a 1.6 afterall - but its the handling that makes it feel so special. It really does take corners well and the steering wheel feels fantastic - anybody else agree with this?

I really love this car, and can't wait to take the Targa top off and see it in its full glory. Here's to the summer...

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 8th January, 2003

27th Dec 2012, 06:01

I am very pleased with this car too. I recently took the targa top off while it was raining; when I was driving there was no drop of water that came into the car, until I stopped in front of a red light or parked of course.

Average review marks: 7.0 / 10, based on 29 reviews