1992 Nissan 100NX Reviews - Page 4 of 6

1992 Nissan 100NX 1.6 petrol from Norway

Year of manufacture1992
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 1.6 petrol Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.4 / 10
Distance when acquired155000 kilometres
Most recent distance168000 kilometres
Previous carDaihatsu Charade

Summary:

Semi-convertible fun!

Faults:

I find that the paint on my car is rather poor. I have a few rust spots here and there, but the reason may be the previous owner/owners lack of maintanance and polish.

General Comments:

It's a fun car! It has less power than I would like, but it really is a fun car to drive. It handles very well. The fact that it looks good is no drawback either.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 13th January, 2002

18th Mar 2004, 13:49

Would like to no how good the mpg is with a weber card on???

1992 Nissan 100NX SLX+ 1.6 petrol from Netherlands

Year of manufacture1992
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 1.6 petrol Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.6 / 10
Distance when acquired132000 kilometres
Most recent distance132000 kilometres
Previous carNissan 100NX

Summary:

Still a great car for a great price!

Faults:

I just got it about 10 days, there are some things to be done:

- Antenna is broken off.

- The paint on one of the spoiler is a bit bad.

- A few lights in the dashboard don't work.

General Comments:

I killed my previous car (100NX 1991, entry date: Wednesday 24th of January, 2001), but now I've got a 100NX again! :)

This afternoon I drove a short stretch with the roof off (8 degrees C, sunny weather), it was lovely! This car cost me less than the previous one, and it has more options, and looks better! I am very happy!!!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 13th February, 2001

1992 Nissan 100NX 1.6 carb from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1992
First year of ownership1998
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 1.6 carb Manual
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Dealer Service marks 0 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 4 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.2 / 10
Distance when acquired67000 miles
Most recent distance80000 miles
Previous carPeugeot 309

Faults:

Air inlet lever stuck (WOW!).

Parcel shelf hinges snapped.

Carb problem - won't tick over when cold, Nissan dealer said the only cure was a new carb at £550 - steep. Will get around to cleaning it one of these days.

68,000 miles - front anti-roll bar needed replacing - cost £100.

Drivers window motor failed, dealer had a look - dented door, snapped door release. Camden Nissan, Milton Keynes, UK really suck. I suggest never ever taking your car there. I was truly disgusted by their service.

80,000 miles. Rear shocks have had it. Beware - these cost me £175 each to replace.

General Comments:

This car is great, 80,000 miles and not even a hint of rust. Engine is bulletproof although you may need to get the carb tweaked for cold weather.

Roof still fits tight and there is no water leakage.

Main dealer service really disappointed me and for that reason alone I will never buy another Nissan (well OK, maybe a 300ZX).

Insurance is expensive at group 11, it's not as if the car is particularly fast. If you are looking for a fast car try a Clio 16V at group 12 - the interior is no where near as nice though.

Only buy one of these if you have the money to replace the parts. At the sort of miles mine has it's really just wear and tear but the replacements are shockingly expensive.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 23rd January, 2001

27th May 2001, 15:31

You can get shocks for around £65 each, Larkspeed can sell you them.

Apart from that the only problem I've had with mine is that I can only get 75bhp, but re-mapping it should solve that, but mine is an injection, but for a carb model, just replace it with a Webber and it will transform it.

30th Jul 2001, 16:26

He's right about the shocks - I've just looked - £69 from www.larkspeed.com (Bilstein make).

I've just paid about £145 for a rear shock (OK, so it did need to pass the MOT the same day but...)

:-(

25th Jul 2003, 01:11

Forget the main dealers & get the car serviced by an independent. Mine has 112,000 miles up now, is serviced regularly by a small garage who need my business & who don't patronise me. Runs well (apart from the carb flat spot!) & if it had a private plate no-one would ever realise it's 11 years old. I've owned it for over 4 years & it's never ever let me down.

1992 Nissan 100NX GTi 2.0 litre 16v from Netherlands

Year of manufacture1992
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 2.0 litre 16v Don't Know
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 3 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.0 / 10
Distance when acquired129000 kilometres
Most recent distance136000 kilometres
Previous carAlfa Romeo 33 1.5i

Summary:

A fast good looker (with bigger wheels!!!!)

Faults:

Air circulation lever stuck.

Parcel shelf hinge broken.

Noisy window motors.

Door windows rattle when not fully open or closed.

General Comments:

The standard 14 inch alloy wheels don't look right on the car, they are just too small.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 16th September, 2000

Average review marks: 7.0 / 10, based on 29 reviews