1991 Nissan 200SX Reviews - Page 8 of 9

1991 Nissan 200SX Executive 1.8 turbo petrol from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1991
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 1.8 turbo petrol Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 5 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 4 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 2 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.4 / 10
Distance when acquired103000 miles
Most recent distance103500 miles
Previous carVauxhall Nova GSi

Summary:

A change of pants will be needed everytime you put your foot down!!

Faults:

Nothing really, I've only had it a month.

The fan belt needs replacing and I think a dump valve will be fitted to help keep the turbo alive for as long as possible.

General Comments:

One main problem that I have is that it has no manual with it and I can not find any copies of an aftermarket version, e.g. Haynes manual or anything like that.

The actual car is perfect though, fast as you like, I think it is extremely comfortable as well and so do all who have been inside it, the looks are gorgeous and all in all this is my perfect car!!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 15th November, 2000

24th May 2002, 01:52

I just bought a manual from Amazon.co.uk

It's an american Chiltons Stanza/200SX/240SX manual, but on the whole the engine and important bits are the same. Cost me about £19, and took 10 days to deliver.

24th Aug 2002, 17:25

The CA18DET fitted to the UK spec car is not fitted to any American Nissan. So it will not be in any American manual. There is no Haynes manual for the S13/S14/S15 200SX.

Just download a Nissan Service manual from the Internet.

http://www.nissansilvia.com/

There are a few pages missing get them (and the manual) here.

http://datnet.org

1991 Nissan 200SX 1.8 16v turbo petrol from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1991
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 1.8 16v turbo petrol Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.8 / 10
Distance when acquired117800 miles
Most recent distance118700 miles
Previous carVolkswagen Scirocco GTX

Summary:

Brown trousers performance for toilet paper money

Faults:

Nothing yet (I've only had it a few weeks) but one of the front shocks needs replacing which means replacing both fronts. I've bought a pair from a discount Nissan parts mailorder place for £70 each, which isn't cheap but is certainly cheaper than paying a dealer to do it.

General Comments:

Good all round performance but I'm a little bit disappointed by the lack of torque at low revs, my old VW Scirocco pulled better off the line without having to rev the pants off it.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 27th September, 2000

24th May 2002, 01:54

That's because it's a turbo! It has literally no power below 3000rpm as the 170bhp comes from turbo kicking in at 3000rpm!

24th Aug 2003, 15:39

But after 3000rpm...my-oh-my!

1991 Nissan 200SX 1.8 turbo petrol from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1991
First year of ownership1998
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 1.8 turbo petrol Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Dealer Service marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.8 / 10
Distance when acquired50000 miles
Most recent distance67000 miles
Previous carNissan 200SX

Summary:

Never mind the looks, feel the speed

Faults:

Nothing major....yet (This is my second 200SX and the last one blew two turbos in about 15 months... ouch!).

New exhaust (200 quid), timing belt at 60,000 miles, brake pads etc.

General Comments:

Seriously underrated car, I'm looking for my third one.

If you want 140 mph, sub 7 sec 0-60 performance for less than 4 grand there's no real competition.

This car is a fast, fun alternative to a 944 at half the price, and you can get a couple of mountain bikes in the back with the seats down... believe me it's true!

Reliability is supposedly excellent, but in my experience is patchy (100% or nothing, I've had both). Regular (fully synthetic) oil changes are recommended unless you want to buy a new turbo, although I've heard that the turbo problem with early models can be sorted by fitting a bigger diameter oil-feed hose.

Handling is fine in the dry, dodgy in the wet, and terrifying in snow or ice. Be warned!

Other comments:- Pretty cheap to run/service. I can get 30 mpg no problem. Eats tyres, pads, discs.

No class/image/kudos but who cares?

Do yourself a favour and get a well looked after FSH example and smile as you blow off anyone who tries to overtake.

Everyone will think you're a hairdresser though.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 27th June, 2000

1991 Nissan 200SX 1.8 16v turbo petrol from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1991
First year of ownership1998
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 1.8 16v turbo petrol Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 3 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.0 / 10
Distance when acquired50000 miles
Most recent distance70000 miles
Previous carRover - Austin 216SE EFi

Faults:

Blown turbo at 55,000 miles. New clutch, gearbox and exhaust needed prior to purchase. Replacement exhaust after just 20,000 miles! Plenty of tyres, cambelt discs and pads.

General Comments:

Deceptively quick and responsive. Turbo coarse, and tyres too narrow as standard. Looks to be a cheap and unusual buy (which it is) but can gobble up money like there's no tomorrow. Fuel economy very poor for engine size as high teens is not unusual.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 13th June, 2000

1991 Nissan 200SX 1.8 16v turbo petrol from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1991
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 1.8 16v turbo petrol Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10
Distance when acquired105000 miles
Most recent distance121000 miles
Previous carSeat Ibiza

Summary:

Affordable Porsche chaser

Faults:

Bottom end went foo bar, cheaper to have repacement engine @ £1000 than to repair, new turbo and clutch fitted with engine replacement: total cost £1850. Sunroof sqeals when down at high speeds ;-)

General Comments:

Fitted K&N induction kit & Mongoose SS exhaust system, 17" Smith's 5 spokes with 215 X 45 Yokahoma A520 tyres with more engine mods on the way. Now makes the right noises and it takes corners like it's on rails.

A very under rated car, it will blow away most in its class. I've had a timed 6.5 0-60. Interior a bit dull but on the outside it's a different beast. It also grumbles a bit when it's not run on Super Unleaded.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 14th May, 2000

Average review marks: 7.0 / 10, based on 32 reviews