1991 Nissan 240SX Reviews - Page 5 of 6

1991 Nissan 240SX SX 2.4 from North America

Year of manufacture1991
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 2.4 Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.5 / 10
Distance when acquired146000 miles
Most recent distance192685 miles
Previous carOldsmobile Cutlass

Summary:

Great running car if taken care of.

Faults:

Needed breaks when I bought it. Power steering line cracked and needed a major fix. 2 fuel injectors have gone out (160K & 178K miles), but they were all original. Hatchback and spoiler is not a good combo because the rain doesn't drain properly and it rusts the hatch eventually. Needs a new clutch next week (1/24/03). Not bad for the original - 192k miles.

General Comments:

Fun car to drive. Manual trans does not feel well unless you shift at 2500rpm or more. Anything less and the car shimmy's/vibrates kinda bad. Rear seat folds down for tons of space. Drivers side door arm rest hurts the elbow. I picked mine up for 2500 with 146k miles. I have gotten more out of it than I have put in it. I'll keep it until it dies, which should be well past 250k miles.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 17th January, 2003

23rd Nov 2003, 21:12

I have 300,000 and still ticken'

22nd Feb 2006, 11:50

Love my car!! has 435,000 km and still runs beautifully and almost all the parts are still original!! Great car!! Great price!!

1991 Nissan 240SX SE Coupe 2.4L inline from North America

Year of manufacture1991
First year of ownership1991
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 2.4L inline Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 2 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.8 / 10
Distance when acquired5 miles
Most recent distance178123 miles
Previous carToyota Tercel

Summary:

I great looking, very reliable, and great handling sporty car

Faults:

Just normal maintenance items. I am the original owner of the car and since I have driven it for over 11 years now, I can't really list everything that I have had fixed - an A/C pump a few months ago, small problem with the A/C fan a couple of years ago, those kinds of small things. Not more than one every two years or so. I didn't have ANY problems until 6-7 years ago. Nothing extraordinary, just normal maintenance items.

Compared to buying a new vehicle and new payments, this car has practically cost me nothing to run.

General Comments:

The best thing about this car is how it handles. It corners great and grips the road well, yet is also comfortable on not-so-smooth surfaces.

The engine sound is clearly audible from inside the car (mine is a manual), but the engine puts out a good note - I actually enjoy listening to the engine sound.

It accelerates very well for just 4 cylinders.

It has been very reliable.

I wish it had ABS and an airbag, but none were offered when I purchased it.

For a car which is so sporty and handles so well, it has a very usable trunk. While the rear seats are not practical for transporting humans, by folder the rear seats down, you can almost double your trunk space.

Oh, before I forget: The car looks great! Compared to the plain-vanilla cars that are being produced today, this car actually has character and definitive lines that display it's sporty heritage.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 23rd December, 2002

1991 Nissan 240SX SE Hatchback Inline 2.4 Liter from North America

Year of manufacture1991
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission Inline 2.4 Liter Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.6 / 10
Distance when acquired88000 miles
Most recent distance88000 miles
Previous carDodge Ram Pickup

Summary:

A sporty feel and look for a low price

Faults:

The key I was given doesn't work in the door locks.

General Comments:

I love the motor, it's fast and reliable.

My car came equipped with Super Hicas, and it takes corners very fast and smooth.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 28th July, 2002

21st Aug 2003, 00:05

Can anyone tell me what HICAS mean? And what the purpose it serve on the car? I just bought a 1993 240sx SE Fastback (hatchback). On the inside there is a button lid up and it says the word HICAS. And I don't know how to shut this off. Is this normal for the HICAS button to lid up all the time or is it NOT suppose to be lid up? Is HICAS some special option that comes with the car and not all 240sx models?

19th Jun 2004, 19:52

If your HICAS light is on it means there is a problem with the system. When the light is on HICAS is disabled. It will also go on if your power steering fluid is low. Hope that helps :D.

21st Oct 2008, 19:51

Where is the HICAS light at in a s13? I hope I don't have it, but I want to make sure..

Average review marks: 7.7 / 10, based on 19 reviews