1991 Nissan 240SX Reviews - Page 6 of 6

1991 Nissan 240SX Base 2.4 dual overhead cam from North America

Year of manufacture1991
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 2.4 dual overhead cam Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
10.0 / 10
Distance when acquired39000 miles
Most recent distance41000 miles
Previous carNissan Sentra

Summary:

It is perfect

Faults:

Nothing has gone wrong with the car, except when I got the car it was a mess in the passenger compartment. The dash was cracked, the windshield was cracked and the power antenna wasn't working. The seats are starting to get old and stink.

General Comments:

The best car I ever owned.

Would recommend it to anyone out there.

Really fast car with great handling, I went over 120 MPH and didn't feel a thing.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 29th January, 2002

1991 Nissan 240SX SE 2.4 from North America

Year of manufacture1991
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 2.4 Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.2 / 10
Distance when acquired149000 miles
Most recent distance152000 miles
Previous carNissan Stanza

Summary:

This is the sickest car you can get for the money

Faults:

One of the front lights went out, and one of the rear lights.

My passenger side door didn't open when I first bought it.

The brakes are a little shaky.

The cigarette lighter doesn't work well.

General Comments:

This car is unbelieveabley sick, the handling on it is incredible. You can spin around a 90 degree turn at 60 with this car no problem.

The back seats are uncomfortable, and very small, although the front seats are very roomy and comfortable.

If you are looking for a really nice sports car that is reliable, fast and cheap, here it is.

The design of the car is really sick.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 25th November, 2001

25th Nov 2001, 20:04

Do you want to translate the term sick.

26th Mar 2004, 20:57

I am sure he means "sick" : perfect, best, kickass...

7th Oct 2007, 18:36

Urbandictionary.com will help you out... Haha...

Can't wait to get my 240SX next week... It's a 91 with only 105,000KM on it.

1991 Nissan 240SX SE Coupe 2.4 Liter from North America

Year of manufacture1991
First year of ownership1999
Engine and transmission 2.4 Liter Automatic
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.4 / 10
Distance when acquired130000 miles
Most recent distance145000 miles
Previous carNissan Sentra

Summary:

Overall it's a fun car for two and a half seasons, and not a fun car to maintain

Faults:

The OEM stereo stopped working the minute the car was out the dealership's state.

The digital speedometer won't turn on a week later.

All the OEM speakers are broken due to old age.

All the belts had to be replaced.

The whole OEM suspension had to be replaced.

The whole braking system which include rotors + pads had to be replaced.

The fuel pump stop working after a year.

The car stalls when braking.

The clear coat on the car is starting to bubble and crack.

The engine overheats in hot weather with the AC on.

The automatic transmission seems to be unwilling to shift.

The moon roof started to leak in heavy rain.

General Comments:

I loved this car at first, then I hated it, but then I loved it again.

The car has a lot of major and minor problems, but hey what you expect from a decades old car with over 140000 miles?

After all the major problems were fixed, the car seems to be problem free up to this point.

The car handles much better than some newer cars, but in rain or snow it handles more closely to a boat.

The seats are back breakers for long or short travel.

The interior is a little tight, but I once had five people in it and they didn't complaint a bit. Well it's either this or the bus.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 29th August, 2001

1991 Nissan 240SX SE Fastback 2.4 DOHC 4 cylinder from North America

Year of manufacture1991
First year of ownership1991
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 2.4 DOHC 4 cylinder Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 4 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.6 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance134000 miles
Previous carChevrolet Silverado

Summary:

A reliable cheap sleeper!

Faults:

My brake cylinder O-ring was leaking and needed to be replaced.

I've replaced two alternators.

I've replaced the starter, twice - not fun!

General Comments:

The car really comes to life with the additions of after market parts. I have an intake, exhaust, and have had the computer tuned, and the car really cooks now.

The brakes though, are highly inadequate for the car. If pushed, they will warp and fade.

The handling is crisp and accurate, although I've lowered the car 1.5 inches, to add to the fun.

For all the performance aspects, I still can get almost 30 MPG, on the highway and around 22 in the city.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 12th June, 2001

1991 Nissan 240SX Fastback 2.4L DOHC 4 cylinder 155bhp from North America

Year of manufacture1991
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 2.4L DOHC 4 cylinder 155bhp Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 4 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.5 / 10
Distance when acquired139000 miles
Most recent distance145578 miles
Previous carFord Ranger

Summary:

Affordable thrills in a durable and sleek package

Faults:

Nothing major.

General Comments:

Airflow to engine is seriously restricted by the stock airbox, resulting in less power.

Fun as hell to drive, reliable to no end (no matter how you treat it) and just powerful enough to get you into trouble.

Engine is underpowered for the weight of the car, turbocharged Japanese model engine would have been better.

Not a good car for hauling friends around, but makes a classy cruising car.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 22nd February, 2001

12th Apr 2001, 10:47

I have a 1991 240SX with 180,000Km. It has been a great college car.

The only problem that I have had is with the timing chain. It needs to be replaced but I am too cheap to do so.

The car still runs great, but when you start it in the morning it makes a rough sound.

3rd May 2001, 18:15

I am the owner of a 240sx. I agree that it is lacking power for the engine.

With all that I know this car has been my dream.

4th May 2001, 09:10

My Nissan has been great. It is noisy, but never lets you down. It handles turns excellent. It needs more power, but overall a great fast car.

-Jonathan.

12th Jun 2001, 12:15

I have a '92 240 with 119,000. Although the power is not the best, the handling is excellent. I lowered mine, advanced the timing, custom intake and put in platinum NGK plugs and 8mm plug wires. I love wooping up on Civic Si's and Integra GSR's. It's the best!

3rd Oct 2005, 17:01

I own a 1991 Nissan 240sx and I love it. it "was" great on the passes stock and unfortunately I pushed it a little too hard and blew the motor. but now I have a SR20DET and that horsepower problem is a thing of the past. that motor can haul that car around like nothing, I have gotten so many tickets because of it. and was once arrested for doing 135 back from a game and it just wanted to go faster. if you want something that is not too expensive and fun to drive get the 240 and swap the tran and motor out with the SR20. its a lot of fun.

Average review marks: 7.7 / 10, based on 19 reviews