1985 Nissan 300ZX Reviews

1985 Nissan 300ZX from North America

Model year1985
Year of manufacture1985
First year of ownership1993
Engine and transmission Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 2 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 3 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
4.8 / 10
Distance when acquired106000 miles
Most recent distance152000 miles
Previous carVolvo 145

Summary:

Fun, but frustratingly unreliable

Faults:

Engine fire from leaky injector.

Countless electrical failures and intermittent issues.

Cooling system corroded.

General Comments:

I bought the car because I lusted after it, even knowing the cooling system had been badly neglected.

It was fun to drive, but the electrical system was a nightmare. The power windows failed (bad switches), the security system went insane (bad solder connections in the modules), ignition coil failed, and the low side connection on the coil after that became intermittent, causing the car to stall every few minutes for two months before it stayed bad long enough to track down.

The ECU decided the engine was not running, and shut down the fuel pump every minute like clockwork, and many, many more. I wondered if it had been a flood vehicle, but never saw any sign of flood damage.

I found out it had been recalled for problems in the fuel distribution system, but it had never been taken in... I learned all that after the engine fire.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 15th August, 2010

17th Aug 2010, 11:15

Okay, you bought a high mileage car you knew was totally neglected and had major issues and now you are complaining about it? You should have purchased a well maintained example that had none of the issues you are experiencing. I love cars, but never would I invest any cash into a car I knew was not taken care of. Sports cars are typically driven harder on top of it and therefore require tons of maintenance in order to keep them running well.

6th Aug 2011, 23:31

I bought my 1985 300ZX in Sept, 1984 (today is Aug 6, 2011). I've got about 300,000 miles on it. I had the injectors replaced twice by Nissan (once it burned while it was at the dealer for service!), both times under warranty, and I've replaced the alternator twice and the water pump about as often as I changed the timing belt. It's a great car, and it still causes people to look and point - it's a classic!

I'm sorry to hear that you got a bad car that someone neglected.

1985 Nissan 300ZX from North America

Model year1985
Year of manufacture1985
First year of ownership2008
Most recent year of ownership2009
Engine and transmission Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
10.0 / 10
Distance when acquired268000 kilometres
Most recent distance287000 kilometres
Previous carNissan 300ZX

Summary:

Great car

Faults:

Not a thing.

General Comments:

The best car I ever owned, and I had many cars.

This car drove and handled like it was out of this world.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 16th June, 2009

12th Mar 2012, 21:00

I have a 1985 300ZX, and it's a great car with only 90 thousand miles. It drives like a new one, has plenty of power, and it turns a lot of heads. Have not had any problems with this car yet.

1985 Nissan 300ZX 3.0 Litre V6 from Australia and New Zealand

Model year1985
Year of manufacture1985
First year of ownership2006
Most recent year of ownership2007
Engine and transmission 3.0 Litre V6 Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.0 / 10
Distance when acquired240000 kilometres
Most recent distance265000 kilometres
Previous carFord Falcon

Summary:

Superb car, excelent on fuel, and heaps of power and good handling. I highly recomend this car

General Comments:

This is a great first car (it was mine). Lovely and sporty, and extremely good on fuel compared to other cars.

Had a lot of grunt and power, and superb handling.

An all round good car. I'm definitely purchasing another, just an earlier model.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 24th October, 2007

1985 Nissan 300ZX 2+2 V6 3.0L from North America

Model year1985
Year of manufacture1985
First year of ownership2007
Most recent year of ownership2007
Engine and transmission V6 3.0L Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10
Distance when acquired102600 miles
Most recent distance103000 miles
Previous carChevrolet Blazer

Summary:

Awesome...great sports car and Nissan's jewel

Faults:

The clutch fan belt broke and wrapped around the fan. Cutting it off and replacing it was easy.

Needed new tires- the older ones were bald.

The intermediate exhaust pipe had a giant hole in it. Had that replaced.

Has some rust in the rear quarter panels & under the car on the rockers and underneath the front of the car. Rusted through on a few spots, but patch-able.

General Comments:

Amazing car to drive... easy to shift and great on the highway. I've wanted one of these for years and I was incredibly lucky to find one at the price I did. It's been reliable so far- the security system still works well, maybe a little too well. LOL.

Acceleration is fast. ALL the instruments work inside; the digital dash, the G-force meter, the digital compass, the on-board wheel radio controls, the stereo, lights, etc. etc. I wish I was old enough to own one of these in 85, but I'm sure it was top-of-the-line then. It is to me even now. Awesome car... if it dies I'll fix it up and have it reborn again and again. I'll never part with it!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 8th October, 2007

Average review marks: 7.5 / 10, based on 19 reviews