1985 Nissan 300ZX Reviews - Page 3 of 5

1985 Nissan 300ZX 300 ZX Turbo 3.0 turbo from North America

Year of manufacture1985
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 3.0 turbo Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 0 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.0 / 10
Distance when acquired206000 miles
Most recent distance260000 miles
Previous carNissan 300ZX

Summary:

Every day driver or Racers dream

Faults:

Fuel injectors leaked, causing engine fire.

Power steering pump.

Main shaft bearing on transmission.

Hydraulic clutch pin.

Tail light bulb burns out repeatly.

T-tops leak.

Digital dash quit working.

The fuel gauge spit random numbers.

The seats fell apart.

Radio went out.

General Comments:

This car is very quick and responsive. It is a great everyday driver, as well as "hell on wheels" at the track. Handles very well in questionable weather conditions. It is a little on the expensive side to fix however well worth the pay out. I constantly get compliments on it's superb condition.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 20th December, 2003

21st Dec 2003, 06:36

Out of curiosity, How bad was that engine fire you mentioned? It doesn't sound like it did a lot of damage if the car still runs. Then again, that's a good ole Nissan engine. Keeps going and going and going and going...

22nd Dec 2003, 14:11

The fire was not too devastating, however had to replace all vacuum lines, hoses, main wire harness, battery cables, all reservoirs. It was an easy fix though, with all the parts you can find in a junk yard. Also made an opportunity for some after market upgrades.

There is a recall on the fuel injectors for the 1985 300ZX; just take it to the nearest dealership, and they will replace for free. That is if they haven't caught fire yet! You can check out all recalls on Z's at www.Z31.com.

22nd Dec 2003, 18:29

I saw your reply back in the members area. It hasn't showed up yet, but I'll still reply. Got lucky with the engine fire thing. I've always been a fan of the 300z's. I liked the late '80s and really like the new 350z's. A friend of mine had a 88 300z, he loaned it to his brother for one night, his brother got drunk and wrapped around a telephone pole. I'd love to find one just like his, but the thing is everybody loves them and they're hard to find.

18th Aug 2004, 15:29

What did you do to fix the digital dash when it went out? I have an 84 300 zx and my dash went out after I jump started it one day.

1st Oct 2004, 17:03

Hello,i was wanting to know the wheel base for a 1985 turbo 2 seater.

30th Mar 2007, 15:25

I have a question about changing the clutch in my 85 turbo. Do I need to drop the muffler and take out the shifter?

1985 Nissan 300ZX T z31 from North America

Year of manufacture1985
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission z31 Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.8 / 10
Distance when acquired120000 miles
Most recent distance159000 miles
Previous carCadillac Baritz

Summary:

I love this car

Faults:

Fuel gage LED faulty.

Power steering pump replacement.

Headlight retraction problem.

General Comments:

Maintenance problems minimal, especially considering age of vehicle.

This car is amazing on how well sealed the cooling system is, I've had this car for almost two years and haven't had to add water once!

Definitely the most enjoyable car I've ever had, for driving, comfort, and horsepower and size. Great for driving in heavy traffic. Also great on gas mileage and it's almost twenty years old!

Parts are a little on the pricey side, but I enjoy this car so much, I don't care.

I couldn't be more relaxed in this car because of it's overall design and user friendliness. Gages are easily in site and readable, seat adjustments, steering wheel adjustments and mirror adjustments are a breeze, not to mention the front and rear windshield wipers.

Oh and let's not forget the car talks! You never have to worry about leaving your lights on and waking up to a dead battery.

This car is loaded, from the electric windows, mirror, tinted windows, seat adjustments, etc, etc... that puts newer cars to shame.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 9th December, 2003

1985 Nissan 300ZX 2 door standard from North America

Year of manufacture1985
First year of ownership1985
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission standard Automatic
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 5 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 2 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 2 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
4.6 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance65000 miles
Previous carBuick LeSabre

Summary:

Nissan support was nonexistent

Faults:

Major electrical problems.

Couldn't keep muffler systems on it.

Sound system great, when it worked.

Major rust damage to frame.

Fuel system had many poorly engineered components.

Leather seats were really plastic.

General Comments:

I adored this car and babied it, hand washed it all it's life. From day one it had electrical problems ranging from annoying to dangerous. Too numerous to list, I'll just say that each time I told the dealer of them, they denied their existence - even when they were demonstrated to them! Once they actually said I couldn't have that problem because my car was a year too new!

Most were never fixed, even by the independent mechanics I turned to - just too difficult to isolate. Finally learned that to get rid of the buzz in the radio that only appeared when the headlights were on - all I had to do was turn on the rear view mirror heaters! Worked great till it burned the heaters out.

An engineering design flaw meant I put new muffler systems on it every two years.

At one point, the dealer had it for 8 weeks before they figured out how to fix the fuel system.

My plan was to own this car forever. When the frame began rusting, many mechanics told me my hand washing had made it last as long as it did - all the others had rusted out years before. I had to dump it when the steering could not be fixed because the frame would no longer support it. By this time, the seats were in shreds - they weren't leather, they were plastic!!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 18th October, 2003

17th Mar 2005, 21:54

My 1985 300zx2+2, ($24,000.), had the plastic (leather) seats too, which were junk. I think we received $200.00 worth of Nissan coupons for their misreprestation. I just filed a review here and I mentioned the car fire caused by leaking fuel injectors. I think the car was slow, not near as fast as the new ($12,000.) mustang coupes I buy for each of my 3 kids 16th birthday.

Average review marks: 7.5 / 10, based on 19 reviews