1984 Nissan 720 Pickup from North America

Summary:

GREAT!!!

Faults:

Other than normal maintenance, not much has gone wrong with this truck.

Alternator replaced once at 150,000.

New clutch plates at 180,000.

Truck body is showing signs of rust.

General Comments:

This truck has been a great vehicle. Gas mileage is as good as it gets.

Very fun to drive.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 29th November, 2009

1984 Nissan 720 Pickup 2.4 Liter from North America

Summary:

Great commuter vehicle

Faults:

Head gasket burned through at 98,000 miles.

Anti-dieseling solenoid, which is a fuel shut-off valve, malfunctioned at 168,000 miles.

About one in every 20 start-ups the electric choke does not want to wake up, and starts flooding the engine with fuel.

Catalytic converter imploded at 168,000 miles.

Air conditioning stopped working due too bad seals from non-use.

Severe rust-through on the side of the bed.

General Comments:

Overall, this has been a very good truck. It runs great, gets decent mileage, and has a drive train, frame, and suspension built to last a long time and take lots of abuse. It is not very comfortable on long trips, because the seat is quite firm. I replaced the automatic choke with a manual setup and it warms up fine in the cold weather of New England. It has a rare long bed, and that comes in handy for hauling just about anything. I wish I had a new one just like this one to use another 10 years, instead of a costly, high tech, half plastic new vehicle.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 25th October, 2008

1984 Nissan 720 Pickup King Cab Z24 from North America

Summary:

Nice cheap mudding 4x4 truck

Faults:

Truck is very rusted out to be a southern truck all its life.

Head gasket problem because it tends to go thru them faster than a tank of gas in a Big rig.

Seats are ripped up.

General Comments:

I just received this truck from my boss whom gave it to me to get it out of the way. A nice truck to fix up; it just needs a lot of TLC!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 21st May, 2008

1984 Nissan 720 Pickup king cab 2.4 OHC from North America

Summary:

It's a cheap, reliable fun truck that will last for years!!

Faults:

I've had to replace the upper and lower ball joints, and the starter.

General Comments:

It's a very Tough truck... i would recommend one to anyone.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 1st April, 2008

1984 Nissan 720 Pickup Long Bed 2.3 N/A diesel from Philippines

Summary:

Old and reliable

Faults:

Piston rings began to wear at 200,000 (km).

Rust on the bed and flooring after 3 years.

Head gasket blew at 180,000 (km).

General Comments:

I have a '84 Nissan 720 long bed. It has an SD23 diesel engine. SD23, not SD22. Here in the Philippines back in 80's, the Nissan 720 with SD23 engine was popular. It's the same as the SD22, but the stroke and valves are a little bit bigger on the SD23. The simple OHV 8-valve 73 HP engine is so basic, but surprisingly the small displacement will give you ample of torque at a wide range of RPM.

Reliability? The SD22, 23 and 25 are also used on marine and industrial applications like fishing boats, small gensets and fork lifters. When the Japanese make engines, you know they're bulletproof.

I am an owner of a 720 for 24 years. Going here and there, hauling this and that, years of punishing use, I am still happy and impressed.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 21st November, 2007

12th Dec 2008, 23:02

Thank you for your review... my father owned a Nissan 720 with also SD23 engine. For now I'm the one who is maintaining it... here is my email acadavedo@yahoo.com

8th Jul 2014, 10:05

Some say the SD23 has a starting problem. Is that true please?

1984 Nissan 720 Pickup 2.4 from North America

Summary:

It is one of the best little trucks ever built!

Faults:

My first years with this truck were a love-hate relationship. Most all that could go wrong with this truck went wrong and diagnosing and repairing the problems became discouraging. I replaced the ignition switch, turn signal light assembly, fuel pump and relay, dash gage assembly, wheel bearings and brakes, shocks, clutch and slave cylinder, timing chain, speedometer cable, distributor, control module, water pump, starter, door hinge pins, air conditioning parts, body panels, engine block and crank due to rod failure, just to name several right off the top of my head. Just as I would fix one thing another would fail! I realized the truck I bought was totally wore out and just would not give up!

General Comments:

The more I drove my 720, the more I grew to love it! The more I had to repair my 720's malfunctions, the more I learned the tricks to make the tasks manageable. Eventually the time came where I had a very dependable truck that I am very confident in and it is very multifunctional.

The gas mileage is good.

It handles good in deep mud and snow.

It maneuvers good in tight places and is easy to get into and out of.

The cost of parts are cheap and carry a lifetime warranty at many national auto parts stores.

The truck has taking me everyplace I have wanted to go and even too many places I had no business going :-)!

I have hauled construction materials, dirt bikes, ATVs, trailers, and my fishing boat all over the state of Arkansas in rain, sleet, snow, hot summer and freezing winter with complete confidence in my 'ole 1984 720.

I now own one 1983 2 wheel drive 720, three 1984 4 wheel drive 720s, one 1986 4 wheel drive 720, and one 1981 4 wheel drive 620 conversion. You cannot go wrong with older Nissan trucks!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 23rd September, 2007