1984 Nissan 720 Pickup Reviews - Page 5 of 5

1984 Nissan 720 Pickup 720 4x4 2.4L 4 cylinder from North America

Year of manufacture1984
First year of ownership1997
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 2.4L 4 cylinder Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.2 / 10
Distance when acquired140000 miles
Most recent distance162000 miles

Summary:

A Toyota whooper!

Faults:

Head gasket blew at 140,000. Replaced it and it blew again. Finally replaced block and now have put 8,000 miles on the new motor.

Seats were recovered, A/C compressor replaced.

New tranny and front end.

General Comments:

It took some work, but now "Nissy" is in her prime again. Everything is brand new. This is a very reliable as well as a fun truck. She never lets you down in the mud. I wouldn't ever trade Nissy for another vehicle.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 17th October, 2002

5th May 2007, 02:13

Are you running stock size tires?

1984 Nissan 720 Pickup King Cab Z24 2.4L 4 cylinder from North America

Year of manufacture1984
First year of ownership1985
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission Z24 2.4L 4 cylinder Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.8 / 10
Distance when acquired10000 miles
Most recent distance170000 miles

Summary:

One little 4x4 pickup that has the heart of a tiger

Faults:

The pickup has many things that have gone out. Most of the problems are things that are to be expected from a 18 year old truck.

I have replaced, the transmision, the A/C compressor, radiator, and lots of little dinky things which were more of a bother than were problems.

General Comments:

I love my truck! I wouldn't trade this truck for the world.

Every day I am amazed at what this little truck can do. To say the least It will keep up with a Jeep on the trails.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 2nd September, 2002

1984 Nissan 720 Pickup King Cab Z24 OHC (2.4 liter overhead ca from North America

Year of manufacture1984
First year of ownership1996
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission Z24 OHC (2.4 liter overhead ca Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10
Distance when acquired50000 miles
Most recent distance110000 miles

Summary:

An affordable, reliable off-road performer

Faults:

Speedometer and odometer blew before I got the truck. I never found a reason to fix them. (estimated mileage below)

Rebuilt transmission when Reverse started sticking.

Two new clutches.

Timing needs to be fine tuned often.

Frequent carburetor rebuilds. (due to extreme dust and mud intake from off-road use)

Bedsides and floor are extremely rusted, due to exposed welds around inner fenderwells. I think this problem was fixed starting with the 1985 model year.

Maintaining ideal idle speed has become difficult. Electrical draw has a strong effect on idle, so I probably need an alternator.

General Comments:

This is a great truck, if you know what to expect.

These little pickups will never be incredible speed demons, but they are amazing off the pavement.

The dual-speed, divorced transfer case puts an incredible amount of torque to the ground, and the independent front suspension handles surprisingly well.

My grandfather bought this truck used in about 1987 and beat the tar out of it on back roads and fields. I acquired it in 1996 and beat on it even more, using it for off-road fun as well as a daily driver. It's a very reliable truck, especially considering it's almost twenty years old, and it hasn't been "babied."

I'm running 29.5 inch tires, and I still run in fifth on the highway, except on long upgrades.

Fuel efficiency is around 17 mpg in the city, and usually 19-20 mpg on the highway. With a Chilton's guide, even automotive novices can do most of the maintenance.

This truck would be a great first 4x4 or a reliable light work truck. It was (and is) my first vehicle, and I'm keeping it, even though I'm shopping for another.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 29th June, 2002

1984 Nissan 720 Pickup 2.4 Liter 4-Cylinder from North America

Year of manufacture1984
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 2.4 Liter 4-Cylinder Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.3 / 10
Distance when acquired127000 miles
Most recent distance145000 miles
Previous carFord LTD

Summary:

Cheap reliable vehicle

Faults:

When I got the truck, the head-gasket was blown and I had to replace that.

Replaced the starter and positive battery cable.

Drivers side seat is really worn, nothing a seat cover won't fix.

Had a bad electric choke, I couldn't find out what it was, sent it in to get fixed.

Runs like a clock.

General Comments:

This truck is so reliable that its unimaginable I love it.

Only down side is that it doesn't have much power at all.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 7th January, 2002

1984 Nissan 720 Pickup King Cab Z24 (gas) from North America

Year of manufacture1984
First year of ownership1990
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission Z24 (gas) Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.8 / 10
Distance when acquired145000 kilometres
Most recent distance305000 kilometres
Previous carNissan 720 Pickup

Summary:

An extremely reliable and economical truck for light hauling and general transportation

Faults:

Prior to my owning the truck, the rear parking brake cables had seized due to cracks in the cable sheaths. The replacement cables from Nissan had rubber reinforcements to protect the affected area.

Alternator failed at around 240,000 km due to a shorted internal rectifier diode.

At 285,000 km the standard transmission failed when the front bearing on the countershaft seized, and the countershaft broke. The outer part of the bearing had spun in it's seat, damaging the transmission case. Clutch was replaced at this time, out of convenience.

At 290,000 km, the electric choke failed due to intermittent internal connection.

General Comments:

My truck is 17 years old now, and the western Canadian winters have taken their toll on the body, but the engine runs as good as it did 11 years ago, and like then, the gas mileage is still between 28 and 32 miles per imperial gallon.

Even when the transmission failed spectacularly, it still brought me home (about 140 miles) in the only gear it had left -- fourth. The truck has never left me on foot, and is as reliable as the day I bought it back in 1990.

Used parts are very easy to come by, and are generally quite inexpensive.

The only real negative I've noted is that the front seats are not especially comfortable, and seat spring breakage appears to be a common issue.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 13th August, 2001

12th Sep 2001, 14:53

I've got a 86 720 King Cab 4x4, and I personally have found it a total nightmare finding parts new or used! Maybe I should move to Canada!

W. Baker

U.K.

21st Sep 2002, 17:49

I have an '86 standard cab 4x4. Here in the states, parts are easy to find, but getting expensive. Drip rail stainless trim molding, $58 per side. Plastic/stainless door and fender molding, between $39 to $98 (for the door piece). All parts are available from the dealers as yet, but you can sure save a bundle at the recycle yard. Nice to see someone that still fixes things, rather than R&R (rip out and replace).

1984 Nissan 720 Pickup 4x4 720 from North America

Year of manufacture1984
First year of ownership1998
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 720 Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 3 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.0 / 10
Distance when acquired140000 miles
Most recent distance178000 miles

Summary:

Long lasting truck

Faults:

Timing chain started going bad and waited too long to repair and had to fix the block.

Needed new radiator this year finally.

Timing seems to be an issue.

General Comments:

Seems like this truck is built to last. The bed of the truck is all rusted out but a good bedliner fixed that.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 25th July, 2001

Average review marks: 7.4 / 10, based on 22 reviews