1995 Nissan Altima SE 2.4 DOHC 4 cylinder KA24DE from North America


Unbeatable value and quality for the price


Left front axle and output shaft seal.

Transmission at 217000.

General Comments:

My uncle bought this car new, and kept all the service history, which he gave to me when he sold me the car in July 2011. It has been a very good car for him, and so far for me.

The interior is nearly unscathed, despite over 200k miles (steering wheel is wearing and the leather shift knob is worn through). Also a hole has been worn in the carpet from constant scuffing (from using the clutch pedal).

The car is very well built, and is still almost all original.

The following is the list of things this car has needed over the years:

One starter at 120k.

Alternator at 140k.

First tuneup at 180k (oil changes every 6000 miles).

New flex pipe on original exhaust at 208k.

Original clutch made it to 216k.

I did have to replace the trans with a good used one (the oil was never changed, and the input shaft bearing was worn). It still never broke down, I just had to replace it before it stranded me.

Brake rotors are still original, and it's looking like the brake pads will last nearly 60k.

Rear brakes lasted 150k.

The one drawback is body rust. It's not going to last much longer, it has terminal rust (rad support, floor, quarter panels and strut towers). It's a shame, because the engine still purrs like new, and I still get 32MPG (and I drive 90mph on the highway).

It still only uses 1/2qt oil every 6000 miles, most of that out a leaky valve cover.

The body is a bit beat up, but it's held up well to repeated assaults from careless parkers, and most lately, a deer impact at 60mph.

I am going to keep my Altima till the body rots off around me. Great automobile. Alas, Nissan decided to drop the manual trans option, so when it comes time to replace this one, I will have to shop used.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 4th June, 2012

1995 Nissan Altima GXE 2.4 from North America


Very reliable, and cheap to maintain


Front wheel bearing at about 190K.

Cleaned throttle body because of low idle.

Rotor cap cracked and car would stall out.

General Comments:

The most reliable car I have ever owned.

I bought it for $850 5 years ago and it has been my driver driver ever since, and it has never left me stranded or been in the shop. It now has over 200,000 miles and still runs strong.

It leaks oil burns oil and the transmission slips a little going from first to second, but it just keeps on going.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 5th August, 2009

1995 Nissan Altima from North America


Great reliable car!


Valve cover gasket leak.

Missing .34 cent pin near wheel.

Battery died.

General Comments:

I bought this car at 150K miles for $1950, drove it for 3 or 4 years, and only had 3 small problems. I love this car!!!

When I had 215K miles on the car, a girl pulled out in front of me and totaled the car. I received $1850 for it.

Great car!!!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 30th October, 2008

1995 Nissan Altima GXE 2.4 from North America


Respectable Japanese Sedan 2 (Update 5 years later)


Cruise Control Stopped Working at around 96,000 miles. I suspect its due to the bulb burning out in the main cruise control switch.

Valve Cover gasket has been replaced at around 105,000 miles due to slight oil leak. (This is a common thing for a 12 year old car.

The passenger side CV boot got torn at 115,000. Replaced with quick boot myself which cost me 18$. 8,000 miles later an no problems with it.

Outer tie rod boots are torn, wrapped with old bicycle tube, electrical tape, and plastic ties. The tie-rods are structurally solid, this prevented dust and moisture from getting inside.

Rear tail light bulbs needed replacement every two months. Now it's been almost a year and they are still fine though. Most altimas' tail lights are not working properly. Notice that on the road.

General Comments:

Overall this car has been good to me and has never let me down. I drove it to work for few years going 50 miles each day. I also drove it from Los Angeles to New York and back and it has been great on the highway. I averaged 36 miles per gallon.

The engine is not using any oil and the car passed california emissions test with ease. I do keep it tuned up though, which means having fresh spark plugs, fuel and air filters, distributor cap and rotor.

The brakes have nearly 45,000 miles on them and they are still at 80% wear. I don't use brakes a lot (rolling to a stop sign and brake with ease).

The air-conditioner work fine and cools the car quickly in the warm weather. All other car components are functioning properly.

If you are looking to buy this type of car, you can be sure it is a well designed and well built vehicle, so just make sure it is in a decent mechanical condition.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 14th February, 2008

8th Aug 2008, 14:05

Great review! I was thinking of buying an '85 Altima and he convinced me it would be okay.

14th Sep 2012, 03:49

Cruise control stopping might be as simple as replacing the small rubber pad that is attached to the brake pedal assembly. Did you remember picking up the pieces of this part off the floor at any time? That's the part that deteriorated. Nissan calls the part rubber-sto #46584-S0100. Eventually, a similar piece adjacent to it will fail. It controls the brake light. If it fails, your brake light will stay on.