1995 Nissan Altima GXE 1.6L from North America


Don't ever buy this car!


I consistently put around 12,000 miles per year on this car. This last year and a half it seems like the car has systematically self-destructed, part by part. I have had to replace the window assembly motor, the radiator, starter motor, master brake cylinder, Rear motor mount, whole distributor assembly (twice). It seems the minute one part gets fixed, I have to replace another one a month later. I have had the transmission checked out because it shifts very erratically in second and third gear. The transmission was okay- it seems that it's pretty normal for this car to shift erratically. I have to leave overdrive on all the time.

I've been very very dissatisfied with the lack of quality in this car.

General Comments:

I have serviced this car regularly.

Speaker quality is awful.

Because of high shifting, gas mileage is compromised.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 21st April, 2004

20th Mar 2006, 11:50

I have also put a distributer on this car. Also, a radiator, complete brakes three times in five years, two alternators in less than six months, two batteries, front axles twice. I need a new car, but I can't save for one as I am constantly putting money into this one. I bought it used and I have put more money into than I paid for it. I do not put more than 8000 miles a year on this car.

1st May 2006, 16:45

I have an Altima and I have barely have had any problems with it. The only thing that broke on it was the distributor ($100 to fix). I bought my car a year ago with 106,000 miles and since then I have put 24,000 miles on it and that car has never left me stranded even when the distributor was going bad. The speakers are horrible, I have to agree with that.

27th Mar 2008, 22:05

I bought my altima last summer with 117,000 miles on it and over the winter, it's fallen apart. I now no longer have reverse and the transmission sounds like it's going to fall out most of the time.

1995 Nissan Altima GLE 2.4 from North America


Great reliability and low maintenance costs


Only tear and wear things have gone wrong with the car: brakes, clutch, muffler.

General Comments:

This car has been a great car for the money.. Very reliable and low maintenance. I would definitely get another Nissan. I have been very impressed with this car.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 1st March, 2004

1995 Nissan Altima GXE 2.0L from North America


Unreliable, expensive to maintain


Very Unreliable Car!

Electrical Problems - dealer never able to fix.

Change distributor every year, parts are expensive.

This car sucks, if you have extra money to spend on repairs every month, buy this car. Nissan did a bad job on these model years until Renault bought Nissan and had then change the way they design cars.

General Comments:

Don't buy Altimas, they are junk.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 12th January, 2004

5th Jul 2005, 15:05

I'm not sure which car you are reviewing. Altimas don't come with a 2.0 liter engine unless it had a SR20DE swap from a Sentra SE-R, NX2000 or Infiniti G20. If that's the case, you really don't know what else was tinkered with.

1995 Nissan Altima GLE 4 cylinder from North America


I bought this car from a "friend" but being a girl and not knowing much about cars I got ripped off! I did buy the altima with high miles, but I loved the leather and it looked both luxury and sporty that's why I liked it. I have had to replace the oxygen sensor. I had an oil leak so I had to replace the oil pan gasket. I replaced the alternator twice! I had to put a new positive terminal in, and a new battery. Soon I will be replacing the bearing in the a/c compressor. My car makes a very loud whining noise and it gets worse as I accelerate. The air bag light would not shut off so I had to get that fixed.

General Comments:

The look of the car is nice, but its not that reliable.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 29th September, 2003

10th Jan 2004, 00:21

My boyfriend had some of the same problems with his 1996 Altima. He had to replace the oxygen sensor and his radiator and his damn airbag light keeps flashing. He's taken it to a few places to get that problem fixed, but most places were going to try and charge him a load of money to fix it. So what was his solution?---Take off the instrument panel cover and stick a piece of black electrical tape over the blinking light. Voila! No more annoying blinking light! Also, his Altima is running at about 150k miles now, he got it with 120k on it.