2005 Nissan Altima SE from North America - Comments

9th Nov 2010, 17:05

I recently experienced some problem with the transmission of my 05 Nissan Altima SE-R, with 74,500 miles. When I shift from reverse to drive, or vice-versa, the gear would take a while to engage. The Nissan dealer told me the problem was the transmission solenoids, but I need to change the CONTROL VALVE for $1,600 without the labor. I was very surprised, because if the problem is the solenoids, why do I need change the complete control valve?

Anyway, I decided to have a second opinion with another transmission mechanic, and they told me they have had several cases like this. The problem with the gears is the solenoids, but over time begins the same problem. I suggested that seems to be a manufacturer defect with the solenoids. They recommended me to replace the complete control valve to eliminate the problem from root. The work I was quoted at $ 1,200 in parts and labor. I still cannot fix it, but in my opinion I think this problem is the responsibility of the manufacturer, and the Nissan Motor Co. should take action on this, so to not lose our confidence in them.

10th Jan 2011, 03:38

Wow, my mom is considering buying a 2005 Altima right now, I will tell her to buy something else. I'm sure she will not want to replace transmissions in a car that she is going to spend $10k on.

This sounds like an awful car! I drive old beaters from the 1990's and 1980's, and I never have problems this bad!

My question : Why do people even buy these?

17th Mar 2011, 13:58

My car is doing the exact same thing. Was the issue every resolved/fixed? If so, what was the problem and the cost of the repair?

31st Mar 2011, 20:24

I had the same problem. Just got a new transmission, and it jerks from 1st to 2nd gear again, you can barely notice it. The mechanic says it's fine. Did it at the Nissan dealer.

1st Apr 2011, 06:24

I just got a new transmission for my 2005 Nissan Altima.. no more Nissans for me either. The new transmission is also jerking from 1 to 2 gear, first day of driving it. The dealer says the transmission is fine.

19th Apr 2011, 16:48

The cornering and speaker problem may actually be a problem with your inner ear... you should get that checked.

19th Apr 2011, 16:49

Ouch two sensors and a grounding fix on tranny. I could do it in a day, but service at shop is around 1000. Easy.

2nd Jun 2011, 09:17

Bought my Altima SE-R @76000km. I had the engine replaced @99500km because of a faulty catalytic converter that was making my engine burn oil. Now I hear a whining sound from my tranny which supposedly comes from bearings in my tranny. It will cost 2k$ to fix because there is no warranty on transmission. Paying 2k$ because I will change the whole ''chabang'' meaning every possible bearing in the transmission, + my clutch, + my flywheel so I don't have to go play down there again...

I will keep you posted on development.

17th Jun 2011, 23:13

Did you ever get a fix for this problem. If so, what was the solution?

25th Jun 2011, 11:06

I have a 2005 Nissan Altima; it has 82k miles. My transmission started to give me problems, it jerks real bad from first to second gear. I tried changing the oil, and also added a Lucas transmission treatment. I thought it had fixed the problem, because car started to run better, The following day I drove the car, and it started again. Seems like when the oil heats up, the transmission runs a little better.

I also had other problems like the car turning off while driving on the freeway twice; lucky no cars were behind me. The fix for that was replacing the crank shaft position sensor.

Another problem was with the exhaust manifold. The welds were bad, causing it to leak air and make a loud noise. I took it in to Nissan, and found that there was warranty on the fuel emissions. A lot of people might not know this; I found out by accident, I called to see if there was a recall. Nissan replaced it at no cost. Yes, I pretty much had all the problems you all have had, and no more Nissan for me either.

22nd Jul 2011, 15:08

I am very upset because I've bragged about how great my 2003 Nissan Altima has been. In the last two weeks, it's been in for a complete brake job, crankshaft replacement (none of my previous GMC cars have ever needed that), and today I limped in with what looks like a transmission issue. Any advice, except to pray?

28th Jul 2011, 10:51

Trade it in quickly for a different car.

28th Jul 2011, 11:01

Save a lot of time, money and heartache, and avoid dealerships like the plague. Find a small local shop where the mechanic specializes in Nissans, ask questions, research if he is honest if you can, get all estimates in writing. Or put an ad out on CraigsList asking if others know of a good honest mechanic. Just educate yourself by reading forums like this, never fully trust anyone working on your car, always get your old parts back to inspect them, etc.

7th Aug 2011, 21:24

I bought a 2005 Altima 2.5 S in Feb. Not had a single problem with it until this weekend. It was running fine all morning, then all of a sudden tried to take off from a dead stop, and it struggled to get up to speed and the SES light came on, and it felt like the car was going to quit on me. Mind you, I bought her used with 89,000 miles.

From what am reading, I think my problem is the crank sensor, which my personal mechanic can fix for $100.

I do not have the shifting problem that most seem to have; I feel lucky and thankful!

I feel totally sad about all the problems that this particular model is having, since I love my last Nissan 2008 Versa; not a single problem either, but hit a deer totaled it! :(

Would still have it if not for that deer!

8th Aug 2011, 09:54

I'm having the same problem with my 05 2.5 Nissan. It jerks really hard when first starting out. I've brought it to the Nissan dealer twice, and they can't seem to find the problem. I still have my extended warranty, which runs out next March 2012, and Nissan had one of their inspectors come and look at it, and they found no problem... I guess I must be making it up.

I just called the Nissan manufacturer, and he told me to keep bringing the car back until they find where the problem lies; like I have all the time in the world to keep running and leaving my car at the Nissan place. What a joke, what is extended warranty's for anyway.

3rd Oct 2011, 20:44

My 05 Altima 2.5 S shifts mighty hard from first to second when accelerating slowly. Could you let me know what is the solution?

29th Dec 2011, 15:42

The crankshaft sensor had to be replaced on my 2005 Altima, and I did it before I knew about the recall. Then when I called Nissan about it, they said that my VIN number didn't have that recall, so I couldn't be reimbursed!!! Now my gear is doing that hard shifting crap. I'm so upset. I thought Nissans were good cars. Apparently not!