2000 Nissan Frontier Crew Cab 3.3L V6 from North America


Excellent 4X4 family truck. Super reliable


Passenger Window shade broke. (Kid pulled it down) Nissan dealer swap under warranty. No hassle.

Nothing else at all. Installed Driving lights, Camper shell, trailer hitch.

General Comments:

This is a solid little truck. Excellent in 4X4 low gear for off road use. Wish I didn't have to sell it. I am laid off.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 6th December, 2002

2000 Nissan Frontier SE 3.3L V6 from North America


A great truck for town or country


I have experienced no problems.

General Comments:

I have driven the 2000 Nissan Desert Runner SE V6 since Sept 00 with 50 miles at purchase. First thing, I did after driving it from the dealer was to purchase wheel locks and a locking gas cap. Tailgate lock I had to order. Driving a Desert Runner gives a smooth ride and the wide tires (32psi) give great handling. The engine constructed of steel takes time to warm up before driving pleasure kicks in. Improvements I suggest are to replace the battery with Optima yellow top. Change engine oil with Valvoline 5W30 Full Synthetic oil for maximum performance. Change Air filter at least every 3k miles. I enjoy driving my Desert Runner day or night. I have 22k miles to date.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 9th August, 2002

2000 Nissan Frontier Desert Runner XE 3.3 liter V6 from North America


A wonderful value if purchased as pre-owned vehicle


Passenger door lock control does not operate properly. It did not control the lock manually, but does work with the automatic remote.

General Comments:

Interior room gives a large truck feel with relatively easy access to all controls.

Extended cab is best used as a storage area.

Off-road handling is remarkably responsive at both medium and high speeds.

Body graphics on Desert Runner are hard to keep presentable, the pin striping being the hardest to maintain.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 16th April, 2002

2000 Nissan Frontier EX 3.3 from North America


Truck has not failed me yet so I would buy again


Interior cab rattle after 20000km..

General Comments:

Only 3 real problems with the truck are:

1. Off road decal... beware if you go into water over the differentials, they will take in water. The fix for this problem is cheap, run a hose off the vents to a higher place, if not you will be replacing a differential, like I had to.

2. The clutch in this vehicle is very grabby when the vehicle is cold, it gets a bit better when the transmission is warm... not a lot though.

3. Poor fuel mileage for a V6.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 2nd March, 2002

2000 Nissan Frontier Desert Runner SE 3.3L V6 from North America


Great truck, good value


The battery ran out of water and the top cap blew off. I didn't realize that it wasn't a no-service battery. The battery acid that blew out ate away a little of the metal under the hood, but nothing you can see from the outside.

General Comments:

The V6 engine is a little underpowered for this truck. Acceleration is acceptable, but not commendable. The engine is very smooth & fairly quiet. Gas mileage averages about 19mpg.

Interior is nice, with plenty of leg & head room up front. Shoulder room is a bit tight for me (6'4", 215lbs).

The bucket seats are firm, but comfortable, with tall backrests. The back jump-seats can only be used for children or storage.

All controls are easy to use. The only gripe is that all the cruise control buttons are on the steering wheel, but you must flip a switch on the dash to turn it on or off.

Handling is decent for a truck.

The ride is firm, but comfortable.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 29th January, 2002

21st Oct 2004, 10:21

Our truck had the same problem with the battery! My husband was trying to change it out and it blew up in his face. Battery acid went all over the place, but luckily did not end up in his eyes. We have never experienced a battery blowing up before. Other than that it has been a superb truck.

Liz Kirkpatrick.

2000 Nissan Frontier 4x4 Crewcab from North America


Improvement needed


Leaves collect in the heater box, no screen device available at present.

Surface rust areas on bumpers, tailgate.

General Comments:

The truck looks sporty.

It is a gas guzzler.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 22nd May, 2001

6th Jun 2001, 19:58

Thanks for your info. We are seriously considering the Nissan 4x4 four door with a supercharger, but we may take another, closer look.

2nd Jul 2001, 11:53

I bought a 2000 crew cab in January, 2000...and I love it. I couldn't ask for a better suited truck for my needs. my biggest complaint is the dealer. although they seemed to be great at first, they turned out to be difficult and not very caring.

3rd Aug 2002, 23:32

I share the same opinion. The last truck I had was a Toyota and I kind of expected the same service and general attitude. I couldn't have been more mistaken. From the service department I have received attitude anytime I have a question or issue. Great truck, but not worth the hassles...

1st Mar 2003, 11:00

I spent a year searching for a truck and I finally bought the Crew cab in March of 2000. The sales people were nice, but service has been terrible. No one at any of the dealers in town seem to know what they are doing and they don't care. I will not buy another Nissan. Now the truck is literally rusting apart at the seams. The truck is rusting were the sections were welded together. Nissan refuses to do anything.