2001 Nissan Frontier Reviews - Page 3 of 5

2001 Nissan Frontier EX 2.4L from North America

Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 2.4L Manual
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 3 / 10
Comfort marks 5 / 10
Dealer Service marks 0 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 4 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
3.6 / 10
Distance when acquired2 miles
Most recent distance62000 miles
Previous carHonda Civic

Summary:

Junk

Faults:

AC compressor bearings shot at 39K

Alternator X 2 at 38k and 59K

Rear spring broken (No load ever in truck)

Shock mount broken

Front rotors pitted beyond use

Windshield washer pump

Tailgate latch broke at 400 miles

Burns oil like crazy

Been in the shop most of its life.

General Comments:

Radio still works. I use the truck to commute to work 68 miles one and all the miles on this truck are highway miles. 78 miles per hr 3100 RPM. Synthetic oil every 5000 miles.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 2nd June, 2004

28th Nov 2007, 12:14

Tough luck! I bought my XE crew cab at 30000 miles. It now has 130000 miles and still runs like the day I bought it. Great truck. Very solid.

11th Aug 2008, 20:18

Nissan frontier ex '02. What a great truck!

130,000 miles and still runs like new.

Just about now is when I am fixing couples things. In the past the problems I had were brakes (do it all) and A/C hose only. I really recommend this medium size truck to anybody up there looking to buy or read a great comment.

2001 Nissan Frontier SC 3.3 SuperCharged from North America

Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 3.3 SuperCharged Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 2 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 1 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 3 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
4.4 / 10
Distance when acquired13000 miles
Most recent distance20000 miles
Previous carHonda Civic

Summary:

Crap! Buy a regular Nissan, or a Toyota

Faults:

Sorry for the long post...

Well, after a whole 2,000 miles of me having it, (purchased with 13K now has around 15K) the Supercharger starting making a rattling noise. I knew someone that worked at Eaton Supercharger (the manufacturer of the Supercharger on Nissans) and he said there are tons of issues with that model of supercharger. He described to me exactly what was wrong with it. So I took it to Nissan, what do you know, they had to replace it.

Soon after that, my passenger window creaked and popped after it was rolled down for about 45 seconds. If you roll both windows up at the same time, the passenger one gets to the top about 3 seconds slower than the driver side.

ABS light comes on from time to time. My brakes do not need to be replaced either. I asked Nissan to look at this, but they told me that have to reproduce the problem in order to work on it. That's rediculous!

And finally, sitting at 20K, my truck started making ticking noises from the engine. I took it BACK to Nissan. This time it was real bad. They told me #2 and #4 rods were broken and the bearings were spun. So as I sit here truckless for 3 weeks now, Nissan is having to replace the entire block. Then they tried to get out of paying to fix it, by asking me for past maint. records. I told them I only had it for 4 months and I showed them my 2 oil change receipts. Then they still tried to get out of it. Told me they can't see past records for it. SO WHAT!! I can't help what happend before I bought it. So finally they decided to fix it. So I'm still waiting on my truck.. yay!

General Comments:

Truck is comfortable.

Gets horrible gas mileage (due to supercharger). I get 13city, 17 highway.

Not as fast as I hoped.

Should NOT have had this many problems at 20K miles. I mean really, Replacing the engine!!!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 1st June, 2004

20th Mar 2005, 10:23

I have a 2001 SC and it is a piece of junk. It is not fast and it is starting to tick in the engine. Time to sell or run it off a cliff. The only difference between our trucks is mine has made it to 65,000 miles.

3rd May 2006, 00:20

I wouldn't buy a turbo charged, or super charged car used. Most are bought with the intention of pushing it to it's limits.

28th Oct 2008, 21:14

My 01' Frontier SC hasn't had any major problems. I'm on the verge of 97,000 miles.. The only thing I've replaced on the truck is one exhaust manifold and the stereo.. which was for my comfort. Great truck. And you don't buy a TRUCK for speed. It's a V6, and it has plenty of power for a mid-sized truck.

12th Jan 2009, 13:08

For those of you who are making negative comments about the supercharged Frontier... You obviously got a lemon. Whomever sold you your trucks probably ran it to death. It is not supercharged so that it will be fast either. It is supercharged to give it a bit more umph without going up to a V8. Also, if you wanted a fast truck you should have bought a Ford Lightning.

4th Feb 2009, 22:57

I was going to buy one of these, but after the test drive I decided not to. It was a combination of very hard ride, and the wimpy V6 with the supercharger. Felt like a small 4 cyl going uphill. I opted for a Sentra with the small 4 cyl. It moves along really well, and after 3000rpm it actually feels fast. Good luck with the truck though.

10th Mar 2011, 21:23

I just bought a 2001 Frontier SC, and it has a few issues, but I know it's from lack of care, NOT because it is a bad truck. It runs strong, just needs some TLC and it'll run like new again with 108k miles.

Average review marks: 7.1 / 10, based on 19 reviews