2001 Nissan Frontier Reviews - Page 5 of 5

2001 Nissan Frontier SC CrewCab 3.3L Supercharged from North America

Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 3.3L Supercharged Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.2 / 10
Distance when acquired21 miles
Most recent distance25003 miles
Previous carMercury Villager

Summary:

Fun reliable truck to drive

Faults:

Wiring harness was rubbing against the clutch pedal caused dome light to come on in cab due to a short.

Replaced Driver's side Power window motor.

Tailgate latch replacement.

General Comments:

This truck has been a lot of fun to drive. It has the supercharger which makes it very quick.

Recently I added a K & N air charger to replace the regular air filter system and free flow muffler to eliminate back pressure.

It has increased fuel mileage and power. My best mileage before the change was a little over 15 miles per gallon. Most recently, I got 19.5 miles per gallon on a recent trip.

This has been a great purchase and I would do it again if I had the choice.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 21st April, 2003

2001 Nissan Frontier 2X4 Crew Cab 3.3L V6 from North America

Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 3.3L V6 Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.8 / 10
Distance when acquired35000 miles
Most recent distance36000 miles
Previous carNissan 720 Pickup

Summary:

A great value if bought as a one year old used vehicle

Faults:

I've not had any problems as yet.

General Comments:

The Crew Cab is a wonderful truck. Comfortable, good fuel economy, and great freeway handling. It's three times the truck as my previous 720 Sport Truck. (and I really liked the 720) The 3.0L V6 has fantastic power as economy compared to the NAPS Z. It even has a pleasent sound to it, not unlike an older Jaguar. Unfortunately, for a larger person, the seatbelt clasp is in a rather poor location. It's somewhat buried between the seat and the center console. Other than that small item, the cab is considerably roomy.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 13th November, 2002

27th Nov 2002, 15:59

The 3.0L V6 does not appear in 2001 Models. It is a 3.3L v6, which can be naturally aspirated or supercharged. I have had no problems with my 2.4 I4, though I do have interior cab rattle (from my speakers and sub woofers).

16th Jan 2003, 15:19

Sorry for the slip. Yes, 3.3L. The truck now has another three thousand miles on it, and has not developed any problems. The seat belt receiver did fail, requiring replacement, and was covered by NISSAN. No rattles, no leaks, the CD player, as mentioned by others, has not jammed or refused to release a disk. The good news is that since I have lost my lead foot, the fuel mileage has gotten better. 26 miles per gallon is really not difficult to attain, provided prudent driving techniques are maintained.

2001 Nissan Frontier XE 3.0 Liter from North America

Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 3.0 Liter Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.6 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance44500 miles
Previous carChevrolet S-10

Summary:

A practical truck with room for the entire family (if the kids aren't too large)

Faults:

The multi-disc CD player has jammed and had to be replaced twice.

General Comments:

Comfortable seats and controls and peppy engine for around town, but seats get uncomfortable quick on a longer trip.

The bed tie downs would be handier if installed at the bottom of the bed instead of at the top.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 16th January, 2002

2001 Nissan Frontier Crew Cab 4x2 V6 from North America

Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission V6 Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.2 / 10
Distance when acquired72 miles
Most recent distance3080 miles
Previous carMazda MX3

Faults:

Have only had one problem with the truck since purchase. Bad windshield washer pump, was fixed immediately by the dealer.

General Comments:

This truck is perfect for a small, young family, like mine. Young kids love the back seat and I love having a pickup truck that the whole family fits in comfortably while being able to fit in the local supermarket parking lot.

I also get a lot of people looking at it because of its exterior styling.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 20th July, 2001

2001 Nissan Frontier Crewcab V6 from North America

Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission V6 Don't Know
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 6 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 4 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.0 / 10
Distance when acquired5 miles
Most recent distance4600 miles
Previous carToyota Tacoma

Faults:

Back door got messed up.

A/C takes a long time to throw hot or cold air.

6 disk CD-player sucks, controls are confusing.

Has mean looks, but its performance really sucks.

Nissan's "quality" is very expensive.

Uses a lot of gas and doesn't give you many mpg.

General Comments:

If your thinking in buying a 4-door truck, get a Chevy or a Ford.

This Nissan is too expensive for what you get = crap.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 10th March, 2001

30th Jun 2001, 10:41

I have seen many reviews like yours, you really don't own this truck do you?

28th Jul 2001, 16:00

My 2001 2WD CrewCab 5-spd could use more power and better mileage, but I knew that going in. I'm in it for the long haul, and know I will always be able to depend on it. The 2002 with longer bed would have been perfect.

Average review marks: 7.1 / 10, based on 19 reviews