1997 Nissan Hardbody Pickup Reviews - Page 5 of 6

1997 Nissan Hardbody Pickup King Cab XE 2.4 liter 4 cylinder from North America

Year of manufacture1997
First year of ownership1997
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 2.4 liter 4 cylinder Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.6 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance158000 miles
Previous carMitsubishi Eclipse

Summary:

Inexpensive functionality and reliability!

Faults:

I have had problems with the check engine light coming on.

I have replaced the clutch (routine)

I have replaced the alternator (unexpected)

I have had to replace air conditioning hoses that had come loose and made a loud buzzing noise at 75mph.

Nothing significant has come up with this car. It has been very reliable, and the majority of my repair and maintenance costs have come from changing the oil, etc.

General Comments:

I am the original owner of this pick up, and I bought it 6 years ago when I needed a new car, but would have to commute 30-40 miles to work.

I still am able to get 25-26 miles to the gallon on the highway, and in general, the car is still running very solidly.

I have been very happy with the performance of my pick up and recommend it highly. This is the second one that I have owned (87 pick up) and between the two of them, I have only had minor problems with them.

They are extremely reliable, inexpensive, and fun to drive. I have moved three times with this truck, and I have hauled a lot of furniture, and I am always amazed at how much I can carry.

As I am writing this, we have 12 inches of snow on the ground, and this pick up handles better in the snow and ice than many other front-wheel drive vehicles.

The truck offers basic amenities, and for the most part is fairly spartan.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 6th December, 2003

31st May 2004, 16:22

This is a excellent truck except for climbing small upgrade hills it is slow. I have a 1997 XE with only 35,000 miles.

1997 Nissan Hardbody Pickup Hardbody 2.4 unleaded from North America

Year of manufacture1997
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 2.4 unleaded Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 0 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.2 / 10
Distance when acquired35000 miles
Most recent distance50000 miles
Previous carNissan Sentra

Summary:

I really enjoy my truck, I just wish they paid me for saying that. :-)

Faults:

The "Throttle Position Sensor" trips off the "Service Engine Soon" indicator light causing me to fail a standard smog inspection.

I had a "pre-smog" test done though and my ACTUAL emissions level passed. Here in the state of California, as long as your 'check engine light' is on/lit, it's an automatic fail on the smog test regardless of the emissions level.

I'm still trying to find the throttle position sensor. Kragen, Pep Boys and Parts Plus couldn't find it, though they really tried to. Thanks guys! But so far, that's the only major problem I've had, though I can't say that for my previous car. "Mossy Nissan of Escondido" was going to charge me OVER $891.00 so I could pass the smog test. Scary, huh?

General Comments:

23 miles per gallon Highway ; 20 miles per gallon City.

Power steering works great. I wish I had the other power options too.

Replaced the battery once so far, though I bought it 'Used.'

Air conditions works great. It cools fast, maybe because it's a truck (extra-cab).

If there's a LONG steep 'wine-dy' and windy hills (on the incline), you will find yourself constantly shifting.

AM/FM cassette stereo works great. No speaker flaws and no 'eating' of tapes.

NOTE: I do use 'special' engine 'enhancer's,' specifically - Dura-Lube: Engine & Fuel treatments - FYI.

Just be sure to treat your truck right and it WILL do the same to you!!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 3rd July, 2003

7th Dec 2004, 10:40

Try Murray's or advanced auto parts for the sensor location. They usually have these huge service manuals behind the desk with every truck/car make available. I think the TPS is located on the throttle body, I could be wrong though. I purchased a similar truck from an auction with 158,000 and was very satisfied. I had to replace the entire exhaust system though (fell off on the freeway, from the muffler and back. It idles a bit rough in the winter too.

1997 Nissan Hardbody Pickup EX 4 cylinder from North America

Year of manufacture1997
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 4 cylinder Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.6 / 10

Faults:

Had to replace the original battery in early December 2003 (from a 1997 truck!). The factory stereo could have had more bass (but that was easily fixed).

General Comments:

I honestly can't say anything bad about this king cab truck. It has taken my dad and me from Southern California to El Paso, TX nearly seventeen times, and as I previously stated, the original battery lasted for six years with no problems. I got this truck from my dad for my first car, and it runs great. The jump seats are almost useless to me now because I put a sub-woofer in the middle of them. I also put a four-inch lift kit on the thing with some aggressive looking off-road tires. This is a fantastically built truck and should get through my final year of high school without any problems. This truck leaves Toyota trucks in the dust.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 17th February, 2003

12th Nov 2004, 15:33

I couldn't agree more. I just replaced the original 1997 battery today, 11/12/04. Leaving it parked for three days with the lights on didn't help.

My only complaint is that it's a 4 cylinder and I've always averaged 17 miles to the gallon.

24th Nov 2004, 08:14

Grammer, San Antonio TX.

I have a 95 Nissan hardbody and I usually average bout 21 miles per gallon highway the only thing I've done is add a aero turbine muffler. and that is with 4 people in the truck.

31st Dec 2007, 16:03

My 97 XE 2.4 now has 290,000 kms. I have replaced a couple of O2 sensors. I have rebuilt the steering box at about 250,000 kms and had to replace an alternator at appox 200,000 kms. Anything else has just been routine brakes, tires and exhaust. This thing is as reliable as a rock. It will go 300,000kms no problems. That will make it my third Nissan/datsun truck to do it. It hauls firewood, dirt bikes and snowmobiles just fine and gets good mileage. You can't buy anything better.

21st Sep 2009, 21:44

Well we are at 320000 km's now. Runs great, but 13 years of salt on canadian roads is starting to make her rust. Body not bad, but brake lines, fuel lines etc. Motor still has been untouched and runs great.

Average review marks: 7.8 / 10, based on 28 reviews