1997 Nissan Hardbody Pickup xe, shortbed 2.4 gas from North America

Summary:

One word-enduring

Faults:

When I bought it, it had an idle problem, fixed free under warranty.

Clutch at 125k

At 150k the alternator went bad. my fault the power steering was leaking onto it, and I did not get that fixed until...

Powersteering leak, turned out to be a loose hose (crap).

Clutch at 250k

Front rotors wore out at 285k

Starter went at 298k

Timing chain slap at 325k repaired at 332,069.

General Comments:

This truck has paid for itself 5 fold. All I do is maintain it like it was my religion.

It handles equally beautiful on the highway or the back-roads.

25 mpg, is as constant as the sun.

In the 297,000 miles that I have driven this truck, the closest thing to leaving me stranded was having to push start it when the starter went out. period.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 12th December, 2007

1997 Nissan Hardbody Pickup XE 2.4 from North America

Summary:

This truck is just right for me

Faults:

There has not been anything wrong on my truck that I did not cause myself from hard off road use.

General Comments:

This is a tough, hard working truck. Bench seats are a little uncomfortable. It would be nice to have the 6cyl. but the 2.4 is as strong as they make them. I love my truck and look forward to having it around for a long time.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 19th January, 2006

1997 Nissan Hardbody Pickup EX 2.4L from North America

Summary:

This truck is awsome and seriously reliable!!!

Faults:

Coolant just started to leak.

Original rotors need replaced.

Clutch slips a little.

Oil pressure switch was leaking and timing chain is rattling and both happened after I switched to synthetic oil. So these could have been prevented.

General Comments:

This is one of the most reliable cars or trucks you can find. All I have done is change the oil and oil filter, watch the fluid levels, give it a couple tune-ups and changed the brakes once. I've also delivered pizzas with it the past 100,000 miles which involved lots of city driving. I drove the truck pretty rough too. When you consider all of this, this truck is a beast.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 3rd March, 2005

1997 Nissan Hardbody Pickup 4x4 2.4L 4 cylinder from North America

Summary:

Excellent little 4wd truck

Faults:

Nothing.

General Comments:

Excellent little 4wd truck, paid less than 13k brand new.

Engine was fine for most day to day hauling, but nothing real heavy. This engine also got better gas mileage than my next Nissan truck with the same engine, probably because it was a standard back and not a King Cab.

Bench seats were reasonably comfortable for daily driving. Interior finish was good workmanship, but cheap materials, i.e. door panels, etc.

Otherwise this truck would be an excellent used truck.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 29th December, 2004

1997 Nissan Hardbody Pickup EX 2.4 from North America

Summary:

Excellent value and very reliable

Faults:

The electrical harness had a short and that cost me about $ 40 to replace. The infamous "check engine" light came on as well.

General Comments:

I love this truck. I am about to buy the new Titan, but will surely keep this one as I like it too much to trade it in. I have driven into Mexico and Canada as well as over 40 states in the U.S. I always felt comfortable doing that with this truck at all times.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 2nd December, 2004

1997 Nissan Hardbody Pickup XE from North America

Summary:

Great truck for everyone!

Faults:

I have had the car for a little more than a year, and the only thing that I have had to replace were the brakes, and it was the first time they have been replaced.

General Comments:

I love this truck. It has been nothing but reliable. I drove it across the country from South Carolina to California twice. Even though the gas mileage isn't that great I can deal with it. Only money I have to put in it is for preventative maintenance. I love it so much that I am considering buying another one just like it with 4 wheel drive. It is a great truck and I recommend one for everyone.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 23rd August, 2004

1997 Nissan Hardbody Pickup XE 2.4 Liter (KA24E) from North America

Summary:

A truck that will stand up to the test of time

Faults:

Electrical: Alternator failed twice at 65,000 and 101,000 miles.

Brakes: Rear wheel cylinder failed (leakage) at 97,000 miles.

General Comments:

No frills pickup; it does not possess a lot of creature comforts as a regular cab- basic truck for basic use.

Poor gas mileage for a four cylinder. As a 4x4, it yields 17 MPG city and ~19MPG highway (as indicated on the sales ticker when purchased)

Very reliable. The truck has always performed where/when required and is as reliable as my Timex watch.

Engine noise: The four cylinder engine offering (only engine offered in Nissan's line of pickups for 1997), the KA24E, is not known for being quiet. Even when it was new, the timing chain will rattle & slap for about 2 seconds until oil pressure builds up. I have heard from Nissan service mechanics that this is a chracteristivc of this particular engine.

Pour on the torque!: The KA24E motor is perhaps one of the most torque-blessed motors I have ever encountered in a four cylinder. It likes to run at no more than 4500 RPM, and will accelerate sufficiently at RPMs well below this in taller gears.

Alignment lover: Even though this is a 4x4 that is as stock as the day I bought it (same wheels, suspension, etc.), the truck seems to not hold alignments after moderate road encounters. 4 alignments in seven years, and I don't even take this truck off-road.

Other: As a 4x4 XE standard cab, the running gear (i.e.: powertrain) is fairly solid. No frills, manual hubs, bench seat. Transmission is starting to wear; shift pattern is somewhat finicky.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 28th July, 2004

21st Dec 2004, 02:03

Alignments are scheduled every 12,000 miles. Four in 100k miles isn't bad.

30th May 2006, 19:21

I bought my ’97 in ’99 with 30K.

It now has 112K on it and it runs great.

I tow a half-ton trailer and buzz along the freeways in Phoenix at 70MPH with the A/C on with no problems.

5th Sep 2008, 13:19

The best pickup I ever had.

I have one Nissan D21 2.7 turbo diesel 4x4, which I bought 12 years ago, and have still got it. It's now at 60.000 miles.

I never had any problems whatsoever.

It's the 4 door version.

I live in Jersey, UK, and have drove it a few times from France to Portugal, a 2000 mile journey. And never let me down...

Say no more...

8th Sep 2008, 21:57

I love my 97 Nissan XE 2wd small cab pickup. Bought it in 98 with 30+ miles on it. Now it has 140K.

I had to replace the clutch at around 90K. Otherwise nothing major.

Great gas mileage... approx 28 country miles. BUT, just today, I learned about timing belts and have never had that brought to my attention. I am wondering and trying to find info about when the timing belt needs replaced and what are the symptoms? I do not hear any sort of rattling noise. But I wonder if the timing belt fails, whether it is sudden and the truck would need to be towed, or whether it is a gradual thing?

6th May 2011, 21:01

As the OP stated, this is a well built truck. It's torquey for a 2.4 liter.

The timing chain slap on start up is also a trait. Like I mention in my 97 review, the only annoying issue is the TC rattle on start up, as the timing chain guides are made of plastic. The dealer's answer is to simply remove it and leave the chain as it is. I have the 2wd version, and love it.