2004 Nissan Maxima Reviews - Page 20 of 30

2004 Nissan Maxima SE from North America

Model year2004
Year of manufacture2003
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2008
Engine and transmission Manual
Performance marks 0 / 10
Reliability marks 0 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 4 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
3.6 / 10
Distance when acquired6 miles
Most recent distance105000 miles
Previous carHonda Prelude

Summary:

Horrible

Faults:

Transmission at 60000 miles.

Engine at 72000, and still broke.

General Comments:

If you have a 2004 Nissan Maxima, SELL IT AS SOON AS YOU CAN!!! I bought my Maxima in 2003. At 60000, the transmission was replaced. It gets worse from there.

I am a high mileage driver, so I am at 105000 miles, and I’m telling you it has been a nightmare. I had the extended warranty, so a lot of problems I didn’t have to pay full value for.

The car was burning oil very quickly, and had a grinding noise coming from the engine. I have my oil changes every 3000 miles at the dealership. It was burning oil and had a leak.

First, the dealership failed to correctly identify the problem. I was told it was an O ring. My engine has been torn down three times. From December 2006 until now, this car had major ENGINE problems. It has been in the shop. I’m not sure if they know how to repair the engine and have refused to replace it.

The car runs well for 1000-3000 miles, and then is back in the shop. PLEASE FILE A COMPLAINT WITH NISSAN AND NHTSA.GOV

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 1st July, 2008

1st Jul 2008, 21:11

Sorry you got taken, but Nissan never really did build very reliable cars, and the past decade they have built some of the world's worst. Their reliability is even lower than Toyotas, which is almost as bad as you can get.

25th Sep 2008, 11:47

I just got the same bad news from my dealer today about my 2003 Maxima. After replacing the oil pan and gaskets I drove for 3000 miles and had terrible noises coming from under the hood. At first they just told me I needed an oil change, I was low on oil. I had driven 3400 miles since the last, so OK an oil change, but that didn't explain the noise. Turns out the engine needs to be replaced at 78,000 miles.

23rd Feb 2010, 15:51

The 95-99 Maximas/Altimas are bullet proof, with the award-winning super reliable VQ30 engines. I should know, I have a 95 Maxima and the overall quality/reliability of the car is high. In fact in reliability terms they are better than the Camrys or Accords of the same period in my opinion. It is the mid 2000 Maximas that really start to slide in terms of build quality. It's too bad about that, but I wouldn't write off Nissan just because they built some real lemons - every car company has done that, just like every car company has built some real winners. Well, with maybe a notable exception or two.

26th May 2010, 07:36

"Their reliability is even lower than Toyotas, which is almost as bad as you can get."

First let me state that I am a GM guy.

Where did this person get this statement? I may not drive Toyota's, but am fully aware of their reliability and dependability. Your opinion is based on what?

26th May 2010, 16:52

Yeah, I agree with the GM guy. Except I do drive Toyota's, and I can tell you from experience just how reliable Toyota's are.

2004 Nissan Maxima from North America

Model year2004
Year of manufacture2003
First year of ownership2008
Most recent year of ownership2008
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10
Previous carChevrolet Malibu

Summary:

A pretty disappointment

Faults:

Transmission.

Transmission.

Transmission.

General Comments:

OK so I am apart of the "TRANSMISSION MALFUNCTION" club... I got my 04 Maxima for a birthday gift in Jan 08. Had no problems whatsoever. Then all of a sudden it cut off in the middle of traffic, and when I cut it back on, it wouldn't go in reverse...

I don't know what to do with it...

It's just sitting there til I figure out what to do next...

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 26th June, 2008

2004 Nissan Maxima SL 3.5 from North America

Model year2004
Year of manufacture2003
First year of ownership2008
Most recent year of ownership2008
Engine and transmission 3.5 Semi-Automatic
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 2 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.3 / 10
Distance when acquired89000 miles
Most recent distance93000 miles
Previous carMercedes-Benz SLK

Summary:

This car has many issues that should have been recalled by Nissan and I will not own another one

Faults:

Timing chain broke at or before 89000 miles = $1500.

Air conditioning hose leak/quit working = $250.

Car "jerks" hard when shifting down or slowing down.

Transmission shop could not determine the problem by computer.

All of this happened before I made the first payment!

I will never own another Nissan!

General Comments:

The car has a horrible turn radius.

Overall the car is comfortable, but for the mileage it should not have the problems it has.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 14th June, 2008

Average review marks: 5.4 / 10, based on 116 reviews