2004 Nissan Maxima Reviews - Page 17 of 30

2004 Nissan Maxima SE from North America

Model year2004
Year of manufacture2004
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2008
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 2 / 10
Reliability marks 6 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 2 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.0 / 10
Distance when acquired5 miles
Most recent distance48000 miles
Previous carToyota Camry

Faults:

Transmission is jerking when shifting from 1st to 2nd gear, and sometimes at downgrade.

Problems mostly noticeable when the car is warmed up.

Needs motor mounts at only 48k miles.

General Comments:

Yet another transmission victim. Took the car in for jerking and was told it needs motor mounts, and no codes were found when the diagnostic test was done. The car is only at 48k so still under warranty. I will take to EVERY Nissan dealer in town until someone diagnoses the transmission problem and fixes it while still under warranty, OTHERWISE I will take every service printout to my lawyer as proof of requested service when the transmission EVENTUALLY HAS to be fixed/replaced.

PLEASE Contact me with any suggestions: qr2qh@aol.com

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 31st October, 2008

2004 Nissan Maxima SE 1.7 from North America

Model year2004
Year of manufacture2003
First year of ownership2008
Most recent year of ownership2008
Engine and transmission 1.7 Automatic
Performance marks 0 / 10
Reliability marks 0 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Dealer Service marks 0 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 0 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
1.2 / 10
Distance when acquired61000 miles
Most recent distance70000 miles
Previous carNissan Maxima

Summary:

It's an expensive lemon

Faults:

This car is an expensive lemon! It makes clicking noises when it drives, and the tires lose pressure so fast, and I have no idea why.

The engine makes a thumping noise.

General Comments:

OMG! I can't believe what I'm reading. My Nissan has been a problem since I bought it. I would love to help file a complaint. I'm a single mother of three, and I don't have the money to repair the manufacturers mess ups.

Please contact me lori_turner@countrywide.com.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 23rd October, 2008

2004 Nissan Maxima from North America

Year of manufacture2004
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2008
Engine and transmission Automatic
Previous carHonda Accord

Summary:

For the amount of money you pay, it should be better quality!

Faults:

The vehicle has a horrible noise when it shifts from 1st to 2nd gear, and even at times as I go from 2nd to 1st. It kicks and it has a clunking noise along with it.

Nissan has a really hard time backing up their products. I am extremely disappointed. The job is going to cost me $3K according to them; it needs a new transmission and the car only has 56000 miles.

Any suggestions?

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 20th October, 2008

21st Oct 2008, 12:42

You should keep the car, Nissan Maximas are the most reliable cars ever built- I have a 2004 and it has 240,000 miles on it and it still runs like new.

24th Oct 2008, 03:28

Before 2003 Maximas were the best. Now they're made in the U.S. and it shows every bit of it.

2004 Nissan Maxima SE 3.5 from North America

Model year2004
Year of manufacture2004
First year of ownership2007
Most recent year of ownership2008
Engine and transmission 3.5 Automatic
Performance marks 0 / 10
Reliability marks 0 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 2 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 1 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
2.4 / 10
Distance when acquired37000 miles
Most recent distance63000 miles
Previous carMazda 626

Summary:

Waste of time and money!!!

Faults:

1) Check engine light with no warning signs @ 63k.

- Camshaft sensor needs to be replaced

- Transmission mounts needs to be replaced

2) Sidewall tire opening

3) Driver's side door does not open with fob

4) Sluggish shifting from low gears

5) Steering wheel shaking when braking

6) Passenger side headlight needed replacement bulb $300.

General Comments:

Do not waste your time!!! Take the money and buy anything else!!! Preferably new!!!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 20th October, 2008

2004 Nissan Maxima SE from North America

Model year2004
Year of manufacture2004
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2008
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 3 / 10
Reliability marks 1 / 10
Comfort marks 0 / 10
Dealer Service marks 0 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
1.0 / 10
Distance when acquired7 miles
Most recent distance100000 miles
Previous carNissan Altima

Summary:

Take it to the junk yard

Faults:

This car sucks! I am very disappointed with this Nissan.

My transmission started slipping and jerking so I took it to the dealer. The Nissan dealer recommended a flush of the tranny and some other costly flushes, which did nothing for the problem. From what I'm reading other owners are having similar problems. Nissan by this time must know about this flaw in this their flagship model.

General Comments:

I will never buy another Nissan again.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 19th October, 2008

19th Oct 2008, 23:21

Amen to that. I just finally dumped off my 04 Maxima. The car was plagued from day one with tons of issues, mostly with the transmission. I had it replaced THREE times!!! Nissan is absolutely NO HELP whatsoever. I was soo disappointed with this car. The thing that made me the most upset, is before the Maxima, I had a 99 Chrysler 300M. Great car, had no issues. When it came time to trade it in, I had heard rave reviews about this Maxima, and was assured it would last. Oh man, if I only knew. Sorry to hear that you have to deal with all these issues, I know how it goes!

2004 Nissan Maxima SE from North America

Model year2004
Year of manufacture2004
First year of ownership2008
Most recent year of ownership2008
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 3 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 3 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.4 / 10
Distance when acquired69000 miles
Most recent distance69700 miles
Previous carNissan Maxima

Faults:

I too have fallen in to the 04 Maxima Transmission problem category which Nissan says its not their problem. My 04 Maxima has 69700 miles and it too shifts hard and also slips. Going up the hill to my house, I let go of the gas for a second and when pressed the gas again, the engine just reved up as if in Neutral and then it kicked back into gear with a big thump. I took it to the Nissan Dealership and they stated that it was the Transmission and that it would cost $3700 to replace. I never expected that a car company such as Nissan would make such a bad product and just ignore its customers when they encounter issues. 69K miles is too early to experience transmission problems in any car, not just Nissan. And if it was only mine, I could understand, but form reading this forum I noticed that it is an on-going thing. I contacted Nissan corp, and again they stated that the warranty has expired and they cannot do anything for me. This attitude towards customers will eventually backfire as customers will seek a higher quality vehicle, which Nissan at one point used to be.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 7th October, 2008

10th Oct 2008, 01:27

The post-2003 Maxima is not a wise purchase. They are known for their transmission problems. It's just another raggedy, run-down American-made vehicle that should be pulled off the highway.

Average review marks: 5.4 / 10, based on 116 reviews