2004 Nissan Maxima Reviews - Page 15 of 30

2004 Nissan Maxima SL 3.5 from North America

Model year2004
Year of manufacture2004
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2009
Engine and transmission 3.5 Automatic
Distance when acquired500 miles
Most recent distance64000 miles
Previous carNissan Maxima

Summary:

Good car, bad transmission, not to mention too expensive to fix it. A poor product

Faults:

My transmission slips & jerks in 1st & 2nd gear, and also in 4th gear.

General Comments:

Good car otherwise. My second because the 1st one I put 195000 miles on without any problems, it was a 95 model.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 8th April, 2009

2004 Nissan Maxima SE 3.5 from North America

Model year2004
Year of manufacture2003
First year of ownership2006
Most recent year of ownership2009
Engine and transmission 3.5 Automatic
Performance marks 0 / 10
Reliability marks 0 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 0 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 4 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
2.6 / 10
Distance when acquired28000 miles
Most recent distance103000 miles
Previous carNissan Maxima

Summary:

It's usually a long lasting car, that's why I got a second one

Faults:

Transmission problems started at 96000 miles.

General Comments:

Nice car. I loved Nissan Maximas until now. My 2004 Maxima is no different.

It hesitates after you put the car in D or R, it jerks hard, and shifts hard from 1st to 2nd, and slips real bad in a turn. The RPM will rev way up, then slam in gear like the transmission is gone and fallen out literally

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 21st March, 2009

2004 Nissan Maxima SE from North America

Model year2004
Year of manufacture2004
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2009
Engine and transmission Automatic
Most recent distance98000 miles
Previous carFord Explorer

Summary:

The worst car Nissan has ever made

Faults:

My Nissan jerks and slips between 3rd and 4th gear. It also kicks or slips in reverse. It is a nightmare right now.

I have never had so much trouble with one car than with this Nissan. Nissan needs to step up and fix the transmissions on the 2004 Nissan Maxima. I have also replaced rotors, brakes, and struts.

General Comments:

This model Nissan Maxima is the worse. I can say I will not be a repeat buyer, especially after reading these reviews.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 18th March, 2009

2004 Nissan Maxima SE 6 from North America

Model year2004
Year of manufacture2004
First year of ownership2006
Most recent year of ownership2009
Engine and transmission 6 Automatic
Performance marks 5 / 10
Reliability marks 4 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 0 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 3 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
4.2 / 10
Distance when acquired18000 miles
Most recent distance79000 miles
Previous carHonda Accord

Summary:

It's a nightmare

Faults:

Driver's side electric seat went.

Transmissions needed to be rebuilt at only 40,000 miles.

Now at 79,000 miles I need to replace the ABS pump.

General Comments:

When I bought this car, it was only 2 years old with 18,000 miles. I felt like I was getting a brand new car.

The first two years were great. The car is beautiful and comfortable. Then the problems began.

First the power on the drivers seat went.

Then at less than 40,000 miles the transmission went.

Now, at 79,000 miles I am looking at replacing the ABS pump for over $1,000.

This car is a lemon, lemon, lemon and I would never ever recommend it to anyone. I wish a lawyer would contact all of us with this vehicle and put in a legal action against Nissan. I'm sure we would win!!

As much as I used to love this car, that's how much I hate it now. It's become a nightmare.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 9th March, 2009

2004 Nissan Maxima SE from North America

Model year2004
Year of manufacture2003
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2009
Engine and transmission Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 1 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.8 / 10
Distance when acquired10 miles
Most recent distance120000 miles
Previous carNissan Maxima

Summary:

Disappointing!!

Faults:

This car has been a nightmare. It was great for the first 60,000 miles. At 60,000 miles a new transmission was put in.

Then the car had a continuous oil problem. It was burning oil and finally a new engine was put in at 90,000 miles.

At 80,000 miles a new clutch was needed.

At 120,000 miles I’m told I need another transmission.

On a previous web site there were over 110 reviews, most listing problems with transmission, brakes and engine. I am a very dissatisfied customer. Honda here I come!

General Comments:

I have had the same issues with this car. It’s always a repeat of the previous problem.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 16th February, 2009

2004 Nissan Maxima SE 3.5 liter from North America

Model year2004
Year of manufacture2004
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2009
Engine and transmission 3.5 liter Automatic
Performance marks 4 / 10
Reliability marks 4 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 3 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
4.8 / 10
Distance when acquired24000 miles
Most recent distance57000 miles

Summary:

I will never purchase a Nissan ever again

Faults:

My transmission is jerking.

General Comments:

I just started having problems with the transmission. It jerks in almost every gear. I just flushed the transmission fluid and the problem is still present. Thinking of purchasing a new transmission. I don't know if that's going to fix the problem.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 29th January, 2009

2004 Nissan Maxima SE 3.5L from North America

Model year2004
Year of manufacture2003
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2009
Engine and transmission 3.5L Semi-Automatic
Performance marks 5 / 10
Reliability marks 5 / 10
Comfort marks 5 / 10
Dealer Service marks 1 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 1 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
3.4 / 10
Distance when acquired10000 miles
Most recent distance71000 miles
Previous carHonda Civic

Summary:

Never again

Faults:

Just about everything already mentioned.

I am going on my third transmission. I have figured out why the transmissions are failing. We have the Aisin Warner RE5F05A transmission, also known as AW55-50SN, and AF33. This transmission is in tons of cars including VOLVO, SATURN, and PONTIAC. Anyways, the transmission fails because of the valve bodies being warped due to excessive heat and wear. Our cars put 255ft lbs of torque to the flywheel. This transmission's maximum torque rating is 245ft lbs of torque. This is a complete Frankenstein disaster that was set to fail. This issue is very dangerous.

As most of you have all ready done, I have also put in a complaint to NHTSA, but their concern with the matter is about as good as Nissan's consumer affairs.

I took my car in for repairs and spent $1500 just in getting diagnostics done from Nissan on more than one occasion; transmission specialty shops, and electrical specialists. No one could find the exact problem except the transmission specialty shop who told me it's in the valve body design. Vague, but in a sense true. That's what actually sends the fluid where it's needed to shift the transmission.

I am currently working with IPT Transmissions to get a fix so we can have some piece of mind. NISSAN has put my life and my families life in danger, and once I confirm this transmission did not meet the specifications of the Stock Cars output, I will be getting a lawyer and be pursuing a lawsuit. My demands will include a recall for this defective transmission for everyone.

General Comments:

File a complaint if your transmission fails with the NHTSA.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 26th January, 2009

21st Sep 2010, 13:39

2004 Nissan Maxima.. My transmission is shifting very hard from reverse going into drive.. Any way have to have new valve body repair $1500.00? Thanks Nissan!

Billy Brown Nashville, TN.

22nd Sep 2010, 08:15

"Our cars put 255ft lbs of torque to the flywheel. This transmission's maximum torque rating is 245ft lbs of torque. This is a complete Frankenstein disaster that was set to fail. This issue is very dangerous."

The only way you'll exceed the specs on the transmission is to floor the car every time you take off from a stop. Your car puts out 255 lb. ft. of torque at its peak and not nearly that much in daily driving. You won't really get anywhere with a lawsuit when trying to convince anyone that you should be able to drive the car all out everyday. They will cite you with abuse and it'll be a done deal. There are so many cars built today with underdesigned transmissions. Everyday drivers are not meant to be run harder than necessary in order to drive within the limits of the law. You abuse the car, you take a big risk for hefty repairs. I'm not saying you are doing this with your car, I am just saying that will be their defense.... if you ever get to a hearing that is.

I had trouble with my 2002 Maxima. It was the first year of the 6-speed manual, and the clutch kept chattering. They gave me the runaround and "fixed" it three times and then refused to do any more for me. My solution? Sell it and NEVER buy another Nissan. I've never had an issue with a clutch before that car and since. I know the dealer was just trying to be cheap about it and not just replace the whole clutch. Funny, that dealer ceases to exist today! Your best route is to dump it and never go back. Tell everyone you know about the issues and the company's refusal to help you. Maybe they will get the hint someday when they really start losing buyers, and step up to do the right thing.

Average review marks: 5.4 / 10, based on 116 reviews