2004 Nissan Maxima Reviews - Page 11 of 30

2004 Nissan Maxima SE 6 from North America

Model year2004
Year of manufacture2003
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2009
Engine and transmission 6 Automatic
Distance when acquired23000 miles
Most recent distance127000 miles
Previous carLincoln LS

Faults:

I'm having the same problems as others.

My heater blows cold at idle and I've had the system purged twice to no avail.

My transmission has been slipping for years.

Hoping it will last until I trade the car in for something else. Recall anyone...

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 10th December, 2009

2004 Nissan Maxima from North America

Model year2004
Year of manufacture2004
First year of ownership2007
Engine and transmission Automatic
Distance when acquired65000 miles
Most recent distance108000 miles
Previous carHonda Accord

Summary:

Over priced for the dependability

Faults:

I purchased this car used in 2007 with 65000 miles on it. I now have 108000 miles..., but transmission problems? I would have never suspected that. I am still making payments on this vehicle, and not looking at the possibility of purchasing a transmission. If I do purchase another car... I'm going to give the American car makers a chance. I have spent big money on an import expecting long dependability, not so.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 8th December, 2009

2004 Nissan Maxima SE from North America

Model year2004
Year of manufacture2003
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2009
Engine and transmission Automatic
Distance when acquired50 miles
Most recent distance142000 miles
Previous carFord Escort

Summary:

I will not purchase another one!

Faults:

My transmission is giving me major problems. I took it to have it checked out. As most others have stated, I too, was told there was nothing wrong with it. However, it jerks, shifts hard and erratically, and gets stuck in 5th gear. The only way it will go back to first gear is if I shut the car off and restart it. When it gets stuck in gear, the "check engine" light comes on. I have been told that I will probably will be better off getting a new transmission. But with all of these complaints, there should be a recall on these cars. I don't think it's a mere coincidence that there are as many complaints about the transmission.

I think that if enough of us call the Nissan consumer affairs 800 number, something will be done. It is as follows: 800-647-7261. The web address is www.NHTSA.gov.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 17th November, 2009

2004 Nissan Maxima from North America

Year of manufacture2004
First year of ownership2008
Engine and transmission Automatic
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 4 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
4.0 / 10
Distance when acquired1000 miles
Most recent distance162000 miles

Summary:

Do not purchase it, it really sucks engine wise, but looks great body wise. Save yourself money!!!

Faults:

First off transmission replaced.

Timing changed.

Steering wheel pressure hose bust.

Left blinker stopped working.

CD player has mind of its own.

Needs motor for the windows to work.

Rim just magically happened to be bent.

Tire axle was bent.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 17th November, 2009

18th Nov 2009, 13:33

"Rim just magically happened to be bent.

Tire axle was bent."

Sounds like someone "magically" drove over a huge pot hole, or "magically" bashed a curb.

18th Nov 2009, 14:00

Or fictional parts like a tire axle...

18th Nov 2009, 21:42

Or high speed jumps over hill crests and hard landings. Car could have been in a bad accident and not repaired correctly as well.

2004 Nissan Maxima SE 3.5 from North America

Model year2004
Year of manufacture2003
First year of ownership2006
Most recent year of ownership2009
Engine and transmission 3.5 Automatic
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 2 / 10
Dealer Service marks 3 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
3.7 / 10
Distance when acquired29000 miles
Most recent distance90000 miles
Previous carNissan Maxima

Summary:

I will never buy another Nissan at all

Faults:

The transmission continues to jerk hard and slip when you stop and in slow traffic just like others I read. I can't understand why Nissan won't address this problem. Does someone have to get injured badly for this slipping of the transmission from first to second gear to be a recall?

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 16th November, 2009

2004 Nissan Maxima SL 3.5 from North America

Year of manufacture2004
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2009
Engine and transmission 3.5 Automatic
Distance when acquired29000 miles
Most recent distance63000 miles
Previous carToyota Avalon

Summary:

Hated it! Poor customer service! Don't buy!

Faults:

Hard shift and slipping transmission at 34K, 50k and dealership told me nothing wrong. At 62K, it was scary. Took it back to them and they said yep, there's a problem, $3,800 please. Nissan knows they have a problem with the 2004 tranny. I wrote to Consumer Affairs and provided my records of 3 trans fluid changes PLUS my receipts for when I complained about it well under warranty and they said "sorry, can't help". (Actually the person who wrote the letter from C.Affairs, had about 6 typos in her letter and even misspelled her own name.) They've got some idiots working for them or they are training them that way! NEVER buy another Nissan!

General Comments:

The car was by far one of my favorite cars before Nissan didn't back their product. You should get 62K miles out of a car before you have to change a tranny! You couldn't GIVE me another Nissan. And my car was molly coddled.. still looks new too.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 10th November, 2009

2004 Nissan Maxima SE 3.5 from North America

Model year2004
Year of manufacture2003
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2009
Engine and transmission 3.5 Automatic
Distance when acquired12000 miles
Most recent distance93000 miles
Previous carPontiac Grand Prix

Summary:

Stay away; buy Honda

Faults:

93,000 and the transmission is toast! $3,800 to rebuild the trans. Aamco and other well known transmission shops are telling me they replace this transmission ALL the time. Big time issues with this trans. Great car otherwise.

General Comments:

Great car, horrible transmission; will never buy Nissan again.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 5th November, 2009

Average review marks: 5.4 / 10, based on 116 reviews