2004 Nissan Maxima Reviews - Page 9 of 30

2004 Nissan Maxima SE 3.5 from North America

Year of manufacture2004
First year of ownership2009
Engine and transmission 3.5 Automatic
Distance when acquired90000 miles
Most recent distance120000 miles
Previous carNissan Maxima

Summary:

It is a solid car with one major transmission fault

Faults:

I have read comments on transmission issues with the Maxima. I have the same hard shift, spike, problems that others have commented about. The common issue with these transmissions seems to be the valve body wearing, which causes fluid to leak by increasing pressure to open the valve, causing hard shift or delayed engagement in drive. A valve body costs about $700, and the labor is about $200 from a shop that is reasonable. Trans fluid cost is about $70, and a filter around $25. Do not waste money trying to change the fluid and filter if the hard shift is constant.

Otherwise, the Maxima is a good car.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 22nd February, 2010

2004 Nissan Maxima SE V6 from North America

Model year2004
Year of manufacture2003
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2010
Engine and transmission V6 Automatic
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance80000 miles

Summary:

Don't buy

Faults:

2004, 80K miles, Maxima SE 5-Speed automatic transmission problem.

The car's transmission gives severe bucking or jerking when shifting gears. This seems to intensify once the car has warmed-up, and especially when decelerating. It feels like the car jumps from 5th to 2nd gear. Nissan said it was the engine mounts, but after getting those replaced $$$ the problem was not resolved.

Lately the problem worsened, and we decided to replace the trans with a used one of a lot less mileage ($2K). This transmission has the same problem as well. We don't know what to do.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 19th February, 2010

2004 Nissan Maxima SE from North America

Model year2004
Year of manufacture2003
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2010
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 3 / 10
Reliability marks 2 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Dealer Service marks 2 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
4.6 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance68300 miles
Previous carNissan Maxima

Summary:

Nissan has known of this transmission defect for years

Faults:

Transmission is shot around 65,000 miles.

Motor mounts had to be replaced due to transmission defect. EVERYONE MUST COMPLAIN TO NISSAN!

General Comments:

The defective transmission is dangerous, making the Maxima a hazard to drive. Nissan will not issue a recall until someone is killed.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 5th February, 2010

15th Feb 2010, 13:51

I am one of the slew of 04 SE owners experiencing transmission problems... it has about 90k miles on it, and jerks from 1st to 2nd ,and 2nd to 1st and also slips from 2nd to 3rd occasionally. This has been happening since about 85K miles. I only drive it to work and back, because I'm so afraid of killing myself in it - can't afford to buy a new car just yet and... what am I supposed to do with this one? Sell it to someone the way it is? I couldn't live with myself if someone else got injured in it.

19th Mar 2010, 06:51

What is the problem or defect with the transmission? I have seen material on the vehicle.

17th Mar 2012, 17:21

The problem with my 2004 Maxima SE is identical. Transmission slipping at around 85,000 miles. Otherwise the car has been pretty solid. I know there's a lawsuit regarding the transmission, but I dislike lawyers and don't want to line their pockets. I figured it would be best to call Nissan Customer Service directly. Sadly, they didn't do a thing about it. No acknowledgment of the issue at all, either. I'm very disappointed, having been a long time Maxima driver. Nissan, WTF?!

2004 Nissan Maxima SE 3.5 from North America

Model year2004
Year of manufacture2004
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2010
Engine and transmission 3.5 Automatic
Performance marks 5 / 10
Reliability marks 5 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 4 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.0 / 10
Distance when acquired7 kilometres
Most recent distance118256 kilometres
Previous carNissan Altima

Summary:

Defective vehicle

Faults:

A few years ago I had trouble with the transmission, and it was replaced at the dealer's cost because I had the extended warranty at the time.

Once the transmission was replaced, the car ran OK for a while, and then started giving me problems again, but by now the warranty was expired and Nissan was not responsible.

My vehicle is still jerking and making a noise. I still have a car payment and it is illustrating that it is not even 10 years old and it sounds and drives like a bucket.

I have filed a complaint with Nissan, as well as the NHTSA, to see if they can help. Everyone that is involved in this situation needs help. Hopefully we can get this vehicle recalled.

General Comments:

The car is jerking and making a strange noise.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 4th February, 2010

5th Feb 2010, 13:33

Everyone must demand Nissan take responsibility for their defective transmission, and either issue a recall or extend the warranty to at least 100,000 miles.

6th Feb 2010, 09:07

We have a Nissan Maxima 2006 and it does the same thing. We are not under the warranty anymore and the car jerks and makes noises also. We took it to Nissan and they said it was the transmission.

Average review marks: 5.4 / 10, based on 116 reviews